Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid and compelling
Brilliant, The Last Queen of England is an intelligently written book . Fast paced ,it keeps the reader on the edge of their seat as though watching a movie .The characters come to life so vividly ,the story line intrigued me from the first to last page .The Last Queen of England is portrayed in a way that makes you think ! Enjoyed the plot ,exciting, a brilliant mix of...
Published 20 months ago by easyreader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It’s worth a read, but…
The first two Jefferson Tayte books were a real pleasure to read. The style of writing, the twists and turns, the desire and need to find out what happens next are all here, but the story seems less believable. The story almost feels as though it has been written for the big screen and misses some of the gentler and simpler aspects of its predecessors. It’s worth...
Published 4 months ago by Milan 1265


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid and compelling, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, The Last Queen of England is an intelligently written book . Fast paced ,it keeps the reader on the edge of their seat as though watching a movie .The characters come to life so vividly ,the story line intrigued me from the first to last page .The Last Queen of England is portrayed in a way that makes you think ! Enjoyed the plot ,exciting, a brilliant mix of fact and fiction. A book i could not put down as with the previous books by Steve Robinson ,he is up there with the best! He has the flair to make the reader feel and visualize the places the characters are in so well. I am now looking forward to his next book ,i need to know what happens next in Jefferson Tates life . Steve Robinson is such an engaging author . Encore!Encore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 July 2013
It's a good book however a bit too "action film" like in my opinion. I do like the author and most definitely the genealogical crime mystery genes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Queen of England (Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I have read the first two of this author's books and really enjoyed them but this one was clearly the best in my opinion. It was extremely well written and there were very interesting characters. The plot kept me guessing until the end and still wanting more. It was a fantastic subject and the amount of research on this must have been huge. Well done Steve - really looking forward to the next one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It’s worth a read, but…, 31 May 2014
By 
Milan 1265 (Leamington Spa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Queen of England (Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
The first two Jefferson Tayte books were a real pleasure to read. The style of writing, the twists and turns, the desire and need to find out what happens next are all here, but the story seems less believable. The story almost feels as though it has been written for the big screen and misses some of the gentler and simpler aspects of its predecessors. It’s worth a read, but you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these books., 9 Aug 2013
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite of the Jefferson Tayte books - so far. I liked the skilful way Steve Robinson has mixed fact and fiction, raising questions about the accepted facts of history. Did things happen the way we have always been taught that they did, and were other people at the time aware of a conspiracy which they didn't have the scientific knowledge to prove? What if they left clues for future generations to follow up when that science was available. In some ways it could be described as a bit far-fetched as, in the immortal words of an American Politician - we don't know what we don't know - but in other ways it could be a statement of faith in the future.
One of the things I liked about this book was the way in which the author presented people and events with just enough ambiguity to make us wonder if the people we think of as the good guys, really are the good guys or do they have an ulterior, and sinister, motive? As the book repeats several times - nullius in verba - take no-one's word for it.
I like the combination of genealogy and detective fiction, it works very well - after all what is genealogy but a different form of detective work? Please hurry up and write another one Mr Robinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the next book!, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The third in the Jefferson Tayte series. Well written and easy to read. Didn't want it to end, can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A DEVIOUS MAZE, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third of these Genealogical Crime mysteries I have read and have enjoyed them all but how the hero has survived through all the various dangerous situations in which he has found himself requires quite a stretch of belief. I found the plot of this one very interesting, especially with the slight romantic interest which may ,or may not continue in the next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book kept me going right to the end. Fairly easy reading with a twist, I did not guess the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tautly written with good characters and any twists. The thing that impressed is that this is number three in the series and it's getting stronger - often series can deplete.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book kept me hooked from beginning to end in the same way that Steve Robinson's previous two books did. I am looking forward to his next creation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews