Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid and compelling
Brilliant, The Last Queen of England is an intelligently written book . Fast paced ,it keeps the reader on the edge of their seat as though watching a movie .The characters come to life so vividly ,the story line intrigued me from the first to last page .The Last Queen of England is portrayed in a way that makes you think ! Enjoyed the plot ,exciting, a brilliant mix of...
Published 22 months ago by easyreader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another bandwagon book.
Another book which attempts to dig up a highly unconvincing link to the distant past, peopled with equally unconvincing characters. This is even less credible than the Dan Brown books.
Published 15 months ago by Lily


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid and compelling, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, The Last Queen of England is an intelligently written book . Fast paced ,it keeps the reader on the edge of their seat as though watching a movie .The characters come to life so vividly ,the story line intrigued me from the first to last page .The Last Queen of England is portrayed in a way that makes you think ! Enjoyed the plot ,exciting, a brilliant mix of fact and fiction. A book i could not put down as with the previous books by Steve Robinson ,he is up there with the best! He has the flair to make the reader feel and visualize the places the characters are in so well. I am now looking forward to his next book ,i need to know what happens next in Jefferson Tates life . Steve Robinson is such an engaging author . Encore!Encore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Queen of England (Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I have read the first two of this author's books and really enjoyed them but this one was clearly the best in my opinion. It was extremely well written and there were very interesting characters. The plot kept me guessing until the end and still wanting more. It was a fantastic subject and the amount of research on this must have been huge. Well done Steve - really looking forward to the next one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another bandwagon book., 19 Sep 2013
Another book which attempts to dig up a highly unconvincing link to the distant past, peopled with equally unconvincing characters. This is even less credible than the Dan Brown books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these books., 9 Aug 2013
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite of the Jefferson Tayte books - so far. I liked the skilful way Steve Robinson has mixed fact and fiction, raising questions about the accepted facts of history. Did things happen the way we have always been taught that they did, and were other people at the time aware of a conspiracy which they didn't have the scientific knowledge to prove? What if they left clues for future generations to follow up when that science was available. In some ways it could be described as a bit far-fetched as, in the immortal words of an American Politician - we don't know what we don't know - but in other ways it could be a statement of faith in the future.
One of the things I liked about this book was the way in which the author presented people and events with just enough ambiguity to make us wonder if the people we think of as the good guys, really are the good guys or do they have an ulterior, and sinister, motive? As the book repeats several times - nullius in verba - take no-one's word for it.
I like the combination of genealogy and detective fiction, it works very well - after all what is genealogy but a different form of detective work? Please hurry up and write another one Mr Robinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tautly written with good characters and any twists. The thing that impressed is that this is number three in the series and it's getting stronger - often series can deplete.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book kept me hooked from beginning to end in the same way that Steve Robinson's previous two books did. I am looking forward to his next creation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family history, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another every good story from this author. I would recommend this book and the previous two to all who like a good mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all three genealogy books and can't wait for the next one . I hope is coming soon they all three books make murder nor interesting well done. To Steve Robinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot believe a pro publisher hasn't picked Mr Robinson up...his books are worthy of film makers too - their loss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping story!, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a book which was difficult to put down. I hope we have not heard the last of Jefferson Tayte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews