Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars155
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2013
I read previous reviews and thought I would order the CD to make up my own mind. I am a great supporter of Russell and have all his CD's and have been to see him in person a few times. My first impression upon playing the CD right through was that it did not show off his superbly powerful voice - it was pleasant enough to listen to, but so are many other artists, and I didn't think it made him stand out from the crowd. Russell has a beautiful voice and as yet I don't think this CD does it justice. If I play it often enough I may change my mind once I get used to it but on the whole a bit disappointing
11 comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
It is unusual to get a new CD from Russell Watson on which the majority of the songs are unfamiliar to most listeners. However, all of the tracks grew on me really quickly and soon became embedded in my mind. From the oh so poignant 'Seventeen' and 'Too Much For One Heart' to the stirring title track 'I Am Only One Man' it's all here - the power, passion, emotion and tenderness which Russell always gives - only much, much more so. He has put so much heart into this record, his voice is even more amazing than usual and it is exciting and fresh and very touching.
Great songs from Messrs Schonberg and Boublil and good orchestrations and production combine to give a very full, rounded sound to the whole CD.
.
I love it all, in my opinion (as a long time fan) it is his best work to date.

The only thing missing is a 'Warning - Highly Addictive' label!

Bravo Russell
0Comment30 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Like many others have been a great supporter of Russell Watson but this new album did nothing for me. His voice did not sound like him at all and none of the songs brought out the tenor in him, I still maintain that his best album was his first The Voice where he brought to life every track. Sorry Russell not going to keep this one.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
As it says its ok but not as good as his normal cds as I love him dearly but not as good
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
As a great fan of Russell Watson this c.d. his is best. It makes a change to hear Russell singing new songs instead of the normal songs we are so use to and sometimes boring hearing the same thing over again. Hope Russell keeps going down this new avenue and we will get a few more c.d's like this. A GREAT BUY
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
I've been disappointed often with some of Russell's work but not this time. A really interesting choice of songs on this cd and a beautiful blend from start to finish. I would love to see a DVD of this material. This is a big improvement, happy I had it shipped over ! I will spread the word !
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
not his usual fab songs...do like "only one man"....and still a remarkable voice...much looking forward to seeing Russell in concert
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Only One ManAbsolutely fantastic album from the one and only 'voice' the songs are beautiful I can't stop playing it....5 stars for this album
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I have collected all of Russell Watsons CD over the years, and have duplicates of them all. the history of the pubs, health issues,
and so much more, l just felt once his health improved, and he changed labels, a more commerical album would be released, but
perhaps a "ballads lp" of memorable songs from the past, or a duets lp and then maybe attempts on classic broadway... memory,
what l did for love, where do l begin....... crooner type music. The crooners are getting up there in years and could use
new blood.
Anyways, this CD is "okay" and l gave it 4 stars because of his voice, future potential, and for a changed looks relaxed on the
cover, instead of "posing". The tenors and classical is getting a little crowded, so lets expand.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
A WONDERFUL GIFT ON THIS DAY. CONGRATULATIONS RUSSELL. This Cd is 'A Book'. The whole CD is about part of ones Life Journey. You must read the words of these new songs Russell sings. An avid fan I found this totally absorbing. Russell sings with such emotion, full of passion or sadness, which ever is needed to match the songs words. You can read his current life situation in all the songs. Not the norm so do not compare with Russell's previous CDs or DVDs which include every music lover's favourites. People listening to this particular CD must have experienced life in some way like you read in Russell's biography. His CD breaks the boundaries of most popular artists' repertoires. WELL DONE YOUR VOICE IS AWESOME. God Bless you to use His Gift to the full.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.