Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost there.
Remarkable representation of an all out firefight between a small contingent of US Navy Seals & a fairly large group of Taliban forces in Afghanistan.

The Seals are sent in, covertly, to capture, or kill, Taliban leader Ahmad Shahd. They succeed in finding Shahd and his group of Taliban fighters but something goes very wrong and they are left to fend for...
Published 3 months ago by Monk

versus
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And the lone survivor is?
There are a lot of very positive reviews about this, many I suspect from the other side of the pond where they are justifiably and openly proud of their armed forces, a spirit that appears to have faded somewhat in the UK. That doesn't take away from the fact however that this is a pretty average war movie about a SEAL team sent behind the lines to kill a Taliban chief...
Published 1 month ago by PJ Rankine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost there., 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
Remarkable representation of an all out firefight between a small contingent of US Navy Seals & a fairly large group of Taliban forces in Afghanistan.

The Seals are sent in, covertly, to capture, or kill, Taliban leader Ahmad Shahd. They succeed in finding Shahd and his group of Taliban fighters but something goes very wrong and they are left to fend for themselves against insurmountable odds.

Outgunned and with communications down they come under heavy fire from their opponents and the film tells the gripping, and true, story of the battle that ensues.

This film is extremely well put together and the photography is excellent, with all the actors playing their parts very believably. The director uses some 'poetic license' towards the end of the film but throughout the viewer is engaged in an almost 'Apocalypse Now' experience.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performances, true story., 22 Feb 2014
By 
J. Russell (Grimsby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
Incredibly powerful film. Shows the combined strength of those who defend our counties, and without getting all overly patriotic about it, this film does make you think a lot about those who protect us.

As a side note, i watched an extended feature of this on Youtube. Mark Wahlberg met the parents of the real life character he was playing and he promised them that he would play the part as true to real life as he could. Needless to say the acting was incredibly good, everything felt so real. Not only Mark Wahlberg but the other actors were excellent too.

The storyline itself is based on true events, we all know what this means. It was sometimes hard to believe the scenes depicted could ring true to real life but I suppose we will never know the extend of what really happened. It had exceptional cinematography, and it is a film at the end of the day. I loved it.

There was a dedicated ending to the fallen soldiers complete with their real life pictures. I really liked this, very respectful.

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true story of brothers in arms. Theatrical release review, 14 Jan 2014
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
Peter Berg may be a somewhat underrated director. I recall that a previous movie Very Bad Things got mixed reviews, yet that movie about some friends who go to a bachelor party in Vegas and a stripper dies, and what happens after that now be seen as a precursor for The Hangover movies which have grossed a zillion dollars off essentially the same premise.

I confess this movie about as the title suggests a lone survivor is not the type of movie that particularly grabs my attention, and comments from some movie goers that it was somewhat propagandistic did nothing to pique my curiosity.

I went in with movie hopping options rolling through my mind as I sat down. What I take away from the movie is respect for the military, particularly the navy seals, and what they endure, and their tremendous willpower, although I did wonder how Navy Seals end up on the side of a mountain.

All missions carry the risk of failure, and this one seemed pretty routine, an intelligence gathering mission about a Taliban leadership enclave in some non descript village in the mountains of Afghanistan, surely not much risk that things could go spectacularly wrong. I mean they have world class technology at their disposal, radios, satellite phones, great weapons and a rare camarederie as brothers in arms, who have each others back.

What do you do though when the technology does not work, and one cannot keep in contact with the people back at the base? May I say the movie is brutally honest about the shortcomings of the mission, when they are surprised by a herd of goats being led by humans.

The Seals do not get into lengthy philosophical discussions about what to do with the prisoners, but a discussion ensues as to their fate. I was not there and could not do what they physically do, but in the comfort of my seat the obvious answer came to me, which would not break any conventions, would preserve the security of the mission for a longer time, and did not involve either of the the only two options discussed:

1. Let them go, and we head for higher ground and hope to make radio contact for extraction. (Successful attempts at contact had yet to be made.)
2. Kill them, or tie them up and leave, and hope they would eventually be found before they freeze to death. (Breach of rules of engagement.

Perhaps you can think of a third option.

Another mistake was when they did contact base, one person runs off to get the commander, without actually getting a status update, and these guys are missing, so I found myself wondering why the other guy at base did not pick up the phone and simply ask them, and take a request for evacuation.

However, one cannot fault the Seals for making their decisions, after all they do not have a crystal ball, and when they are put to the test by a force superior in numbers if not in capability, what they do and how they respond under fire is the most impressive part of what this movie is about, and we have a highly impressive cast at work here, not only Wahlberg, but also, Emile Hirsch, Taylor Kiitsch, Eric Bana, and Ben Foster.

What I respected the most was the unbelievable strength and willpower of these individuals which was highly realistic and believable, carrying on despite serious injuries. This movie has struck a chord with people going into general release this past weekend from only being available in two theaters nationwide previously, and grossing a staggering $37 million dollars.

The movie budget was $40 million, but we know that often such figures are exaggerated, and it's hard to see how this could have cost that much as most of the most takes place on the side of a mountain. I found myself to my surprise clapping when the villains got clipped, and there was a little sniffling in the theater at the end. At least one person in the row behind was being given a hard time by his friends for being a softie.

A few months ago I tuned into a conversation in a bar between a customer whose brother was in the Special Forces, who raved about a movie called Stop Loss, which the soldier respected as being true to the life of a soldier starring Ryan Philippe and Tatum Channing, and the bartender who had seen the movie several times. I found it quite interesting.

I think most people will know in advance if this movie appeals. I much preferred Wahlberg's American Sniper movie, although I think most people will gain an enhanced appreciation for the realism, the service, and the sacrifice of the military in watching this movie.

I think most people will love it and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous film with depth (if you look for it)., 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Lone Survivor [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I'll begin by saying I rate this film as right up with with the very best of grim, realistic modern war movies like Black Hawk Down or The Hurt Locker.

Pretty much every other positive review talks about the really exciting action sequences, great performances and fab cinematography. All this is true. If like me, you are a fan of Friday Night Lights, you'll find a lot of similarities, as the music is by Explosions In The Sky (as FNL) and Taylor Kitsch and Peter Berg are re-teaming from FNL. The reason I bring a series about a High School Football team into it is that it was a series that felt real - as does this and had much greater depth than you might have expected - as does this.

I think Berg as a writer does a very good job honouring the SEALs but also really does a good job or portraying ordinary Afghans positively - or certainly even handedly. At the end there is some on screen text explaining Afghan guest customs, but I think too, you can read between the lines of the film and see that fundamentally the ordinary Afghan villagers are no friends of the Taliban and are as sick of them and sickened by them as we might be.

It IS a bit gung ho at times, and you do wonder about some of the tactical decisions that were made, but that doesn't and shouldn't detract from what is an exciting and very unusual story, that is tremendously well acted, directed and shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A War Movie up there with the Greats, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Shuggy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the book and watched the movie yes the Producer has taken some "Poetic Licence" in his portrayal of the first hand account of Marcus Luttrell. As Marcus was on set to give his direction in the film making process and played a cameo part in the film also this film is truly outstanding. Whatever you think of the politics of war etcetera, just put those behind you and be ready to be amazed by the cinematography and sound effects of what battle must be like for those who choose to defend a way of life. The soundtrack of this film is well chosen and adds to the ambience of the movie.

So sit back, turn up the surround sound and watch what I would consider One of the best War Movies on Modern Warfare since Blackhawk Down came to our screens 13 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most amazing films i have ever seen in my life. The cinematography is amazing, it gives you the impression that you are there with the team. I highly recommend this film and i suggest that you'll see it in the cinema. blows you away on every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! That was very, very good!!!, 15 Mar 2014
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
I have just watched this and I have to say that this is one of the most moving films I have watched for a long time. Because of it being based on a true story, it made it even more moving. I have a special forces family background and have seen action and this is the best I have seen so far for realism. If you want to see what our forces face in Afghanistan on a daily basis, get this video.

It is heart wrenching, especially at the end. Even I felt a lump in my throat.

If you want fiction, go get Rambo III. You want reality, get this DVD. You wont regret it. Well worth the money. Just a pity that the UK does not make some of their Afghan missions into films. The acting was spot on and the costumes were brilliant. Miss this and miss out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor DVD, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
Just been to see this at the cinema brilliant film Mark Wahlberg at his best. Cant wait for the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story of how a SF operator survives against outstanding odds even after suffering the deaths of his other team members, 1 Feb 2014
By 
waynefitz (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
Lone Survivor
Director/Writer: Peter Berg
Starring: Mark Wahlberg, Taylor Kitsch, Ben Foster, Emile Hirsch, Alexander Ludwig and Eric Bana
Runtime: 2hrs Certificate: 16
Cinema Release: 31st January 2014

Based on US Navy SEAL Markus Luttrell’s book Lone Survivor, starring Mark Wahlberg in the lead role as Petty Officer 1st Class Markus Luttrell during the faithful mission on the Afghanistan/Pakistan border called ‘Operation Redwing’ in 2005. Their mission was to capture or kill a notorious Taliban leader.

After confirming his identity and setting up an OP they were disturbed by local shepherds who they had to set free. This led to the SEALs trying to out-run an enemy force of 150+ who were in close pursuit through the mountains of Afghanistan resulting in the deaths of three members of SEAL Team 10.

Lone Survivor is a true story of how a Special Forces operator survives against outstanding odds even after suffering the deaths of his other team members, Axe (Foster), Dietz (Hirsch) and team leader and best friend Lt Mike Murphy (Kitsch).

Although the film doesn’t stand up to how PO 1st Class Luttrell survived behind enemy lines injured and dehydrated for four days and the action and realties of war portrayed in the book. I do understand that film production was aimed at producing a two hour action movie, and as a standalone movie it is action packed and truly enjoyable and I’m pleased that Markus’s story receives a wider audience as a true warrior should.

As reviewed in the February 2014 issue of An Cosantóir (The Defender) The Irish Defence Forces Magazine by Sgt Wayne Fitzgerald - dfmagazine.ie - military.ie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Fordy Finn "Agent Finn" (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lone Survivor [DVD] (DVD)
Gripping outstanding film. Top class cast and performances. I was that engrossed I found myself shouting & oohing and arghhing at the screen!! In fact Im going to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae2fdde0)

This product

Lone Survivor [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013]
Lone Survivor [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] by Peter Berg (Blu-ray - 2014)
15.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews