Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dark, moody and ultimately deeply disturbing film
While not audacious and brave in it's style as Barnard's smashing debut "The Arbor", it explores much of the same territory – poverty in northern England. But this time Barnard uses a more neo-realist bent that recalls the films of Ken Loach, among others. And after two viewings, while I missed the wild rule-breaking she did in her first film, I felt she had...
Published 10 months ago by K. Gordon

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Considering it was Bafta nominated she was very disappointed with the whole film
Bought this for my wife who was expecting it to be on a par with Kes.Considering it was Bafta nominated she was very disappointed with the whole film.Found very little content endearing or amusing.
Published 11 months ago by Dominic Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Giant [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant northern drama . Similar to KES and others a like . Would recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great film about two boys, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This turned out to be a much better film than I exspected I really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well acted and gritty, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Giant [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film, if that is the correct word, it is gritty and well acted, living near Bradford the settings are familiar, and the accent easier to understand than it appears for some viewers. I think many people do not want to accept that some children have lives like this and it is very sad. Would not want to watch it again as I found the ending very upsetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY EMOTIONAL AND TRUE TO LIFE, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Giant [DVD] (DVD)
I LIVE IN BRADFORD AND MY SON IS 12 AND HAS ADHD BUT HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS FILM UNTILL SOMEONE ON TV WAS TALKING ABOUT IT .WATCHED IT WITH MY 12YE=R OLD SON AND 15YR OLD DAUGHTER WE FOUND IT IMOTIONAL TO WATCH BUT WE UDERSTOOD IN SOME WAYS AS IT WAS VERY TRUE TO LIFE WOULD RECORMEND IT BUT THERE IS A OF SWEARING IN IT .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the fairy tale, 15 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Selfish Giant (DVD)
I fail to see how any of this is anything like the beautiful fairy tale of the selfish giant
especially the end of the film...
I thought it a very harsh tale of poverty in the north and more real.life drama than anything like the fairy tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Capitalism in the raw., 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Giant [DVD] (DVD)
It would be false to say that I liked this film. In fact, it was hard to watch, in its depiction of life at the bottom of the social ladder.
Here we have two young boys from families struggling to survive, in a world in which education and background are hugely influential. More than this, it depicts graphically the hopelessness and helplessness of children from families where shouting, swearing and using their fists, is the only form of communication and a hugely ineffective form of discipline; and school serves no purpose for them when survival is the prime objective.
Yet, in stealing precious metals (copper, etc.) from wiring sites, in an attempt to earn money and acceptance with scrap dealers (surrogate fathers), the protagonists show interest in the horses. One boy, in particular, has a 'feel' for the horse when riding the carriage, and therefore potential for racing, This is the first time he has received credit for anything, thereby incurring envy in his friend, who draws him into the very dangerous game of stealing metal from live wiring sites. The friend wears protective clothing, he does not. The consequences and the promise of the boy with a feel for horses, is predictable.
It left me with a number of thoughts and feelings: in any setting, to show promise and to have it recognized, incurs envy in others. Money is the driving force in every strata of society and where there is absolute poverty, childhood and education, are easily sacrificed in the quest for survival. Yet, what is survival at this level?
This is a grim, Dickensian, yet hugely evocative film, the rawness and the poverty of the characters authentically drawn, the acting superb, particularly from the two protagonists, whose quest takes them to dangerous and ultimately deadly places.
Yet, as in Dickens, the potential of characters, for whom childhood has little meaning, shows itself in subtle ways. The harshness of the environment, of language and of appearances, almost obscures the desire and longing of the protagonists to be accepted for their achievements, and to be given the opportunity to shine and to make some money out of it, in order to achieve more than simple survival.
Not a film I would watch over and over, but none-the-less, a brilliant depiction of childhood poverty in the raw and a measure of what children will do to improve their lot, in the only way they knew how - by emulating the men (also outcasts in society) yet strangely emulating the way of all trade: the survival of the fittest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Giant [DVD] (DVD)
A very moving film. Delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
A. L. Harding "DM's" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Giant [DVD] (DVD)
rubbish film good service from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing and quite depressing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Giant [DVD] (DVD)
enjoyed this film worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Selfish Giant [Blu-ray]
The Selfish Giant [Blu-ray] by Clio Barnard (Blu-ray - 2014)
£15.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews