Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not too dark thriller..
Suspense, mind teasing, definitely a superb thriller with an excellent cast, would certainly recommend this DVD. Excellent and the
little touches of humour at times lighten the whole.
Published 5 months ago by elaine collins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent
Having watched both seasons of Bron/Broen prior to viewing The Tunnel, I found it difficult to not compare the two series. That said, I think The Tunnel is a competent series that pales in comparison to the original. This is less a knock on the British/French production and more an endorsement of how superb the Swedish/Danish production is. In the end The Tunnel did...
Published 15 days ago by AJA


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two of a Kind, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
If you have seen 'The Bridge', you have seen 'The Tunnel'. Same story, different locations but with the same dreary atmosphere. How do they manage to make places look so grim and uninviting. My criticism of both films is the same: an eight hour series that could have been told as a single feature length film in about two hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
Great product, would use seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story line., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, what a superb and complex plot, lots of twists and turns. A definite must watch dvd. Very good acting from all the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but..., 28 Jun 2014
By 
K. S. Hutchence "Kelland" (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on the recommendations I saw here. I've lived near Folkestone and worked in the Coquelles area of France and know the areas where the story takes place quite well. It doesn't give a very favourable impression of Folkestone with prostitution on the streets that I've never been aware of, though I don't doubt the drug scene exists.

The story was quite well paced and intriguing although some parts were so predictable they were almost a cliché. The activities of a certain young man on the internet was a good example. The worst bit for me,almost producing a groan, was the over used (in almost every second rate thriller) scene of someone sloshing petrol everywhere and then waving a lighter around threatening to burn all those present. As this is as physically impossible as portraying characters walking on walls I have a suggestion as to how this ridiculous scene can be stopped; all writers who decide to include such a story should be required by the producer to demonstrate exactly how this can be achieved while using real petrol.

Clemence Posie was a scene stealer and I'd love to see more of her. Stephen Dillane came across as a tired and rather moth eaten character who I certainly didn't relate to, neither did I feel much sympathy for him. His wife was in the same mode. My greatest surprise was to see the delightful Caroline Proust (of Spiral - definitely not to be missed and well worth 5 stars!) appearing in a bit part that simply did not suit her, nor her qualities as an excellent actress.

Parts of the story were, it's true, gripping. I'm glad I saw it but I can't say it's in the top thirty of thrillers I've seen in recent years, although other clearly would seem to disagree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rewrite of the the Bridge, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Basically this is the Bridge (Nordic Noir) re written for a British audience using the Channel Tunnel in place of the bridge between Denmark and Sweden for the central crime scene. Whilst good, the Scandinavian Bridge, in my opinion, is superior (though of course the characters are speaking Danish and Swedish for those who maybe put off by subtitles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Series, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
Not as gripping as The Bridge, but still a very good watch. Excellent acting. Well worth buying the series if you haven't already seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Tunnel, 27 May 2014
By 
M. Chirathivat (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent police drama and the inter actions between the French Detective and the British one is wonderful to watch. The dry humour and comical behaviour of the Karl Roebuck is wonderfully acted by Stephen Dillane and how gradually Elise Wassermann acted by a French actress new to me Clemence Poesy comes to understand him and see what a brillant detective he really is. The story line is wonderful too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
but not as good as the bridge. but would love another series to be filmed. cant think of anything else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Tunnel, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series. I am a great fan of these continental series and this one did not disappoint. The mixture of English and French worked well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tunnel [Blu-ray]
The Tunnel [Blu-ray] by Dominik Moll (Blu-ray - 2014)
17.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews