Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightmarish Horror - Slash Delievers The Goods!
As a fan of Guns N Roses as well as Slash's recent solo work, I was intrigued to see how he would do in the world of movies. His new song, Nothing Left To Fear is wonderfully atmospheric, depressing and dark and that's exactly what's captured so brilliantly in the film.

Following a family as they move to a new, 'quiet' town, things aren't quite right. Something...
Published 7 months ago by K. Daniels

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars God awful
I dont normally bother writing negative reviews, but felt compelled to do so as I wasted 10.00 of my own money on this utter rubbish! I try not to pay attention to reviews too much when purchasing, and the general consensus for this wasn't too bad.
I am really into the darker side of horror but this was so bad from the acting, to the plot, to the tension (or lack of...
Published 6 months ago by Matt James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars God awful, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Nothing Left To Fear [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I dont normally bother writing negative reviews, but felt compelled to do so as I wasted 10.00 of my own money on this utter rubbish! I try not to pay attention to reviews too much when purchasing, and the general consensus for this wasn't too bad.
I am really into the darker side of horror but this was so bad from the acting, to the plot, to the tension (or lack of it) to the effects and complete unoriginality. Nothing happens for the first hour and when it does its not even in the slightest bit creepy...please avoid this at all costs, I was extremely disappointed! if you want to watch a decent slow burn/atmospheric horror then go for the fantastic Lords of Salem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT IS THE WAY IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN, 11 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Pastor Dan (James Tupper) and his family move to the small town of Stahl(?). It is a quaint town but seems slightly odd. Rebecca (Rebekah Brandes) the token eye candy daughter has nightmares and develops a liking for Noah (Ethan Peck) the son of the out going preacher (Clancy Brown). You know the town has a secret and at some point it has a nice eerie Thomas Tryon feel to it.

The ending was fairly decent, put the film didn't come together. The events in the film didn't tie into anything, it just happened because that was the way things should happen. The acting was decent. The film took time to develop character, perhaps a bit too much at the expense of a decent horror scene. There are ways to build character quickly and effectively. The scenes were good, but collectively the story fell.

Will make for an acceptable rental. I believe this will be part of a multi-pack in a year or so.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightmarish Horror - Slash Delievers The Goods!, 29 Jan 2014
By 
K. Daniels "Kyle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing Left To Fear [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of Guns N Roses as well as Slash's recent solo work, I was intrigued to see how he would do in the world of movies. His new song, Nothing Left To Fear is wonderfully atmospheric, depressing and dark and that's exactly what's captured so brilliantly in the film.

Following a family as they move to a new, 'quiet' town, things aren't quite right. Something is very, very wrong. Similar to the original Wicker Man film, there's an inescapable sense of dread and of doom, that something terrifying is coming and that there's nothing that the family can do about it - you're always on the edge of your seat! The townsfolk are you typical horror movie religious nuts who are all keeping a sinister secret between them. Building up to an intense climax, Nothing Left To Fear keeps the momentum going and bursts with a fantastically scary finale!

Top stuff! I can't wait to see more from Slash now - bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid film, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Nothing Left To Fear [DVD] (DVD)
Really well made creepy horror film with a good ensemble cast, top notch SFX and some genuinely spine-chilling moments.
A little more esoteric than your standard goreno horror, this has intelligence and more is in your own mind than on the screen.
I'll be buying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cliche overload, 14 Dec 2013
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing Left To Fear [DVD] (DVD)
Well there's not much new here. "Nothing Left To Fear" tells a fairly silly story of a small town with a deadly secret, and when a new pastor and his family arrive they get tangled up in a web of kidnapping, blood sacrifice and possession.

There are spoilers in this review.

The first 15 minutes or so will give you a hint of what's to come...one of the characters has a nightmare in which a woman appears and in a "surprise shock" effect, the woman's eyes turn to sunken black and her mouth gapes open, also black. Oh, really, give me a break... This effect has been recycled and recycled in horror movies now for almost a decade, and it's really time some new ideas surfaced. Anyway, the family start to realise something is wrong, but they take their sweet time about it, and it's unsurprising to see that they are soon at the mercy of the entire town and their terrible secret rite that has been planned all along. The secret rite itself really doesn't make a lot of sense, and what made me laugh at first is that the rite is done twice, once to unleash a horrible evil, and then repeated at some arbitrary point later in the film, this time to seal the evil back up again. Umm...wouldn't it have saved time just not to do the secret rite at all? Like, ever? Ok, I assume that without the secret rites being done at all, something far worse would go on, but there's no sense of what this might be, the script just makes the townsfolk in to cheerless bystanders and the main "bad guys" into characterless goons.

The lame script doesn't really help. Dozens of horror movie standard scenes are poured into the mix. Chase scenes where characters don't do anything logical that would actually result in them getting away, like driving out of town. Lots and LOTS of shots of blackened eyes and gaping black mouths. Waaay too many of these. And the dialogue doesn't help either. Girl: "Something's going on here, what is it? " Boy: "Not now. I have to go". Great stuff. Boy: "There's something I have to tell you." Girl: " What is it?" Girls kid brother, barging in: "Hey sis, come quick, something's up!" Damned kid brothers and their bad timing!

The acting is only passable, but what I did like is the fact that the possession takes a hold of what seemed to be an almost throwaway supporting character at the start of the movie. There are some good sceens when this character is just starting to become ill, and these are more creepy than the full scale goof-out that happens in the last 30 minutes of the film, which is all CGI and really shows that this is not the medium of choice for quick horror effects, and you can spot every bit of CGI every time.

Although it's competently filmed and looks n ice and professional, it doesn't show any originality at all, it just screams "Bandwagon". There are loads of 'small town secret" horror films out there, like "The Shrine", which this movie shares many elements with, but "The Shrine" is far superior, better made and with a better plot. Sorry folks, I guess you could have fun renting this out but I don't think it is going to hang around in the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric supernatural horror, 23 Aug 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing Left to Fear (Blu-ray)
This is a fun supernatural horror. Unlike most films of the genre these days it doesn't rely on shaky cam or gore for its horror. It's a slow burner and builds a sinister atmosphere as the new pastor moves into their new church and home. It also doesn't reveal the monster too early, although you get some decent hints along the way. Clancy Brown does a fine job as the old pastor, although not quite as mental as Carnivale. All in all a decent and atmospheric horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not at all what I expected, but it was ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Left To Fear [DVD] (DVD)
Not at all what I expected, but it was an old school type of horror and had the hairs on the back of neck standing up. Would definatly buy more directed by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Nothing Left To Fear [DVD] (DVD)
good horror
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, classy horror, 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. F. P. Moon (Hull, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing Left to Fear (DVD)
After being one of the many purchasers of the soundtrack on Pledge and being a long time Slash fan I was looking forward to this. The trailers looked good and it didn't disappoint as it built slowly with a few things which I've not seen before and as it built towards it's finale it kept ramping up the shocks, a great supernatural horror
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I had read it was going to be good old scary horror ., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Left To Fear [DVD] (DVD)
It was very slow getting into the horror part of story , if you like horror it's worth a watch .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nothing Left To Fear [Blu-ray]
Nothing Left To Fear [Blu-ray] by Anthony Leonardi III (Blu-ray - 2014)
£11.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews