Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best blues and rock&roll live albums ever
Ten Years After has not been treated properly by recent polls and lists of best rock&roll bands. It is truly sad and unfair, given the band is one of the greatest bands of the late 60s and early 70s. They are back on the road, although the lead figure of the band, Alvin Lee, is not with them and that sustracts a lot to the band. Alvin Lee is the lead guitar, vocalist and...
Published 20 months ago by O. Guedez

versus
11 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Listless
Here was a band stuck playing a certain groove, with every audience expecting "I'm going home" a la Woodstock. By the time this late golden era TYA album came out, the cracks were beginning to show. The band sound curiously listless throughout, distanced from the audience, and simply going thru the motions.
For live TYA at its height check out Woodstock, of...
Published on 1 Jun 2001 by nick g black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best blues and rock&roll live albums ever, 6 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
Ten Years After has not been treated properly by recent polls and lists of best rock&roll bands. It is truly sad and unfair, given the band is one of the greatest bands of the late 60s and early 70s. They are back on the road, although the lead figure of the band, Alvin Lee, is not with them and that sustracts a lot to the band. Alvin Lee is the lead guitar, vocalist and composer of the original Ten Years After. Lyrics were not his strenght, but this is not about poetry but about music. His guitar technique shines: He was considered even faster than Hendrix. Definitely he has capability for a lot of pyrotechnics, but you will find him always commited to musicianship and expression. This release was originally made in 1973 and it incorporates the best period of Ten Years After, which started with their album "Ssshh" and lasted to "A Space in Time". Here you have their classic live performances: I'm going home (a seminal piece in Woodstock), I can't keep from crying (a long set which was a highlight in the Wight Festival) and Chuck Berry's Good Morning Litte Schoolgirl, which includes a great guitar and bass jam. In addition to these numbers, you get two towering blues and rock renditions, a great drum solo in "Hobbit" and a great opening, One of these days, taken from "A Space in Time" . The sound is great and it was recorded as an official bootleg. As a matter of fact, only until recently with the issue of a great show at the Fillmore, this was the only live album of TYA in their best period. Certainly we can consider UNDEAD, a previous album in TYA's career, but it was recorded before their jump to fame. Althoung Undead showcases I'm going home and I can't keep from crying, and has a lot of jazzy touch, I definitely opt for Recorded Live. You find the band at its best in this recording. lvin Lee dominates on guitar and the keyboard is a little bit hidden, but Mr Churchill on keyboards adds nice melodical lines and well, I guess we love TYA by its guitar more than other instruments. This does not dismiss the other players, of whom Mr Lyons on bass is magnificent. Recorded Live includes shows in Netherlands and does not allow for self-indulgence by TYAs. The album was definitely prepared to be a top chart and it deserves recognition and celebration. The set climax is reached with I can't keep from crying and its extension, which showcases all the talents within the band. Those who prefer the more jazzy sound of TYA should go for Undead. Those of us who consider TYA essentially a blues&rock act would have to decide for this album and the Fillmore show in 1970. The Fillmore set is recorded in anticipation to Cicklewood Green, a seminal album and one of the most celebrated by TYA. In Recorded Live their sound is more polished and they add more blues and some tracks are common with the Fillmore show - again I'm going home, I can't keep from crying and Good Morning Little Schoolgirl -. I guess TYA fans will go for both sets, given each one has its advantages. Recorded Live shows them already as a brandname in rock and roll and it is carefully mastered. It was a swansong somehow, given the band will loose ground in their following albums and will disband until the late '80s comeback. This set clearly shows TYA can be considered within the great names of blues&rock, together with such sacred names as Cream and Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac. The disadvantage of TYA was that they got famous a little bit late, when Cream and Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac have already broken-up. This band does not exhibit the excesses of Led Zeppelin, though Lee could compete with Jimmy Page in performance quality and skills. The quartet format of TYA shows affinity to pop and jazz and it does allow a god palette of sounds with skilled musicians and a good rhythm section. I guess this is a great show to be added in any good british rock and roll collection. For newcomers to TYA I strongly recommend this album and the Fillmore one as starters. Their best studio effort shall be A Space in Time. Of course, Ssshh, Cricklewood Green and Watt are great stuff. No doubt, this album will please you if you like the aforementioned Cream and Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac and even if you want to find some sucessor to Hendrix in rock and roll guitar. It is clear no one, even Clapton, reaches the creativity, expression and poetry of Hendrix, but in the seventies only two guitar players, Alvin Lee and Robin Trower came close in technique and ability. Hope someone helps to put back Alvin Lee and TYA into the Olympus of rock they deserve to be - well, at least they are in the Rock&Roll Hall of Fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! This is how you do a remastered work!!, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
There are a relatively few reissues that deliver any substantial improvements that warrant your purchase, again, again, and, again! This is the exception! Not only is the sound improved (a big deal to me), but, the additional material is nothing short of phenomenal. "Standing At The Station" is simply brilliant and highlights wonderful keyboard work from Chick Churchill. The Paris rendition of "Help Me" only shows how a band can approach a tune and give it a whole different feel on a different night. The Paris version smokes with a torrid intensity - one can only guess at the origin of "that" intensity! "I Woke Up This Morning" and "Sweet Little Sixteen" are wonderful additions; "Time is Flying" showcases a band still creating and willing to perform a new tune not fully developed; enlightening, nonetheless. The two Jams, however, are downright revealing of a tight-knit band taking us on a wonderful journey through their musical influences and creative processes. All four members of this great band shine through on the Jams, which, of themselves, showcase this band to be just that, a band! This was a great record before this reissue - now, it rivals anything out there! A must have! Thank you Alvin, Leo, Ric & Chick, Ten Years After.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for TYA fans, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
If you are a Ten Years After fan I would say that this 2013 release is well worth it as it features 7 new tracks from the same set of live concerts as the original recording. Recording quality is spot on and the band was at its peak when these concerts were captured on tape. The inclusion of a previously unknown song " Time Is Flying" is a real bonus and the 2 Jam sessions are highly enjoyable. The only down side for me is the inclusion of " Help Me" twice, particularly as the second version is not vastly different to the first version - why have 2 on the same record? It's a shame that the compiler could not find something else from the vaults to fill the gap and make the release a real treasure. Despite that I would still recommend it on the basis of the new material and give it 4 stars, 1 down from 5 stars because of the duplicated track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being there yourself!, 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
Having been to a concert with Ten Years After in the 1970's in Odense in Denmark it is wonderfull to re-listen to this great band LIVE again! Alvin Lee is one of the gratest guitarists of rock - his fast moving fingers make the small hairs in your neck rise when listening to Good Morning Little Schoolgirl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone but Not Forgotten?, 19 Jun 2010
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
Wow! I can't believe there's no other review for this album. This was one of my first Live 'Guitar' Albums and I wore the vinyl copy to death. This is Alvin Lee at his peak and there are some great long blues and guitar indulgences :well worth listening to. I'm off to find it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Buy, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recorded Live (MP3 Download)
Always been a fan of Ten Years After and this recording of there live concerts is most enjoyable .A great disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old TYA, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
My very first vinyl was this double album, and after hearing about the passing of A Lee, I thought I need to pick this up again. Not totally convinced about the bonus tracks as they spoil the sequencing "feel" of the original release in terms of how the songs follow on from one another, and having picked up the Undead recording earlier I now feel Recorded Live was pretty well just a rehash (albeit more mature) of that album. Nevertheless for the memories of my mis-spent youth the Recorded Live album evokes its money well spent. RIP Alvin Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At Their Peak, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
This has been one of my favourite live albums from a band who alwys sounded better live tha in the studio - their best studio album being SHHH.I would not compare it to Undead which is a more jazzy live affair and great in its own right. Despite what others will tell you this is a much better live offering than the Fillmore concert which tends to become repetitive in the soloing department. This set finds the band very tight and very exciting. The extra tracks on this release are a welcome addition. My only gripe is that the CD version does not have the attack that the Vinyl provided, particularly on the opening of Help Me and One of These Days. But it is still a great play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic TYA Album, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recorded Live (MP3 Download)
I have had this as a vinyl album since it came out. Remastered with extra tracks that are a nice addition to what has always been a great album. Has classic tracks (I can't Keep from Crying, God Morning Little Schoolgirl and, of course, I'm Going Home). Overall great live album featuring the classic lineup. Missing Alvin Lee who sadly passed earlier this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The only option now, 9 May 2013
By 
Wheel man "Steve" (West Wellow Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recorded Live (Audio CD)
I have just heard of the death of Alvin Lee, which makes me very sad and brings my own mortality into sharp focus. I remember seeing the band live in Bath on new years eve sometime in the mid/late 60s. I was astounded at Alvin Lees ability to play. Some peoples view was more was less and did not take to his superfast rifts but his ability to stir an audience to rapture is legendary and captured in full on the Woodstock video. This album has been in my collection since shortly after its release and I still think its a great live album (I like live albums as you may pick up from one or two other reviews I have written, none quite up to Nobel or Pulizer standards you understand). Most of the TYA greats are here (not Love like a man.....too early). Alvin produced some other live albums but I think this is the best, if you want to hear the great man live - this is the only option now. I'm only too sorry I didn't see Alvin again before he died. Another rock great is no longer with us, for which we are poorer but thanks to albums and CDs we can continue to appreciate a unique talent. To buy this album or not to buy, that is the question. If you are even only slightly interested for the money being asked its a no brainer. Enjoy! Oh thats a terrible ending... the type of thing you would hear from a condecending waiter in a pretentious restaurant. Let me try again. I think you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6f909c0)

This product

Recorded Live
Recorded Live by Ten Years After
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews