Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film !
Wonderful Film from beginning to end ! I have finally found a few movies that my wife totally enjoys, and this was one of the selections. It was a romantic presentation of a woman who has endured the hardships of seperation caused by war and the return of her husband. Both had changed significantly and the adjustments that were necessary for the continuation of a...
Published 5 months ago by Bruce Miller

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Very slow to start, but interesting once the story progressed
Published 3 months ago by MCull


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film !, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Bruce Miller "hyper2u" (Louisville, Kentucky and San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful Film from beginning to end ! I have finally found a few movies that my wife totally enjoys, and this was one of the selections. It was a romantic presentation of a woman who has endured the hardships of seperation caused by war and the return of her husband. Both had changed significantly and the adjustments that were necessary for the continuation of a successful marriage became obvious. They were cleverly portrayed in the film with a series of flashback stories of earlier generations of family members who had endured similar trials caused by extended separations due to war. This was timely as millions of couples have had to experience similiar circumstances throughout history in all countries. The film had great relevance even though it was a different era and different circumstances. I totally enjoyed the story and presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, darling!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
Good old stiff upper lip stuff, starring Anna Neagle and produced by her husband, Herbert Wilcox. Lovely colour too. Not to everyone's taste, but I love this old stuff, which has historical value, with its clipped, upper class accents and rituals spanning several generations. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
This is a real treasure. The acting, setting and story are delightful and bring back lots of memories of the shining time in British Film Making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like it used to be., 5 Jun. 2014
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
Although there are plenty of inferior British films, at its best, British film making is unbeatable, a fact helped by there being so many outstanding British actors. This now quite ancient film is a case in point. I can recall, when I was a small boy, how the adults would talk about someone called Annan Eagle and how disappointed I was when I discovered that this great actress (as we called female actors in those days) was actually called Anna Neagle.

Having seen Elizabeth of Ladymead many years ago now, it was a pleasure to be able to watch it again on the DVD and hear the clipped upper class accents just as I can recall them from yesteryear. For me the strongest female character portrayed is the post Boer War wife and the weakest one the post First World War Nineteen Twenties Flapper type character the weakest. It's a tribute to Anna Neagle's acting abilities that she was able to portray each of the four wives to effectively and realistically with each of them giving the viewer a real feel of the period in question. 'I know/knew a woman just like that,' we can say as we watch.

All the other top quality actors were always going to have to play second fiddle to Anna Neagle, but they all seem happy to do so and play their parts convincingly well. I'm old enough to remember the tale end of Victorian brought up ladies and Edwardian ladies. I lived through World War 2 and also remember lots of stories told to me about the Great War 1914-15. I once also met an old man who had fought in the Boer War. Were people really like they are portrayed in this film? Yes they were. And the makers of this film with Anna Neagle and the support cast have got it all spot on. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful acting and a strong storyline, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
An absolutely lovely film and extremely clever focusing on 3 couples/different eras with the same problems.
Wonderful acting and a strong storyline
eileen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a beautiful classic. Remember those stars as they no longer ..., 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
What a beautiful classic . Remember those stars as they no longer exist and are becoming a dying breed .What a shame ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have an elderly relative who was delighted., 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
Dated but enjoyable. Have an elderly relative who was delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. Delighted and arrived very, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it. Delighted and arrived very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
Anna Neagle a joy to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] (DVD)
Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD]
Elizabeth Of Ladymead [DVD] by Herbert Wilcox (DVD - 2014)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews