Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 30 October 2013
Following up the excellent work on 2011's Unusual suspects, Leslie West brings his traditional blues rock bang up to date with a selection of tracks that I defy any fan of "traditional rock" not to instantly love. From the heavy opener Dyin' since the day i was born, via the slide guitar fest that is Busted, Disgusted or Dead to the ballady Fade into you the album gets off to a great start and never really lets up after that. Lyrically West shows an all too self aware take on mistakes he has made in the past, most notably apparent on Tales of woe, but the overall mood on the album is positive, with Feelin' good exemplifying this. Dee Snider guests on this one and the two of them are just blinkin' brilliant which shouldn't really be a surprise because West has shown that he picks a good guest and none of them on this album let the side down. His choice of cover version is also exemplary, so if one puts all this alongside his raw vocals and superb guitar playing backed up by a tight band, we have a proper, good old-fashioned record album. They don't make many like this nowadays more's the pity.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 November 2013
Over many years, I have listened to an awful lot of music of all genres and always come back to the work of Leslie West because of all the Blues, Blues/Rock, Rock musicians, this one was the one who always got closest to the sound that hit me in the nether regions the most.
Now, over 40 years on, he gives us yet another large helping of aural delights and, do you know what? It may very well be his best yet - only time will tell if this is the single album that I will keep coming back to, specifically.
We read with horror that the man went into hospital to have a leg amputated mid 2011 and that, you would have thought, would be that. But, oh no, not our Leslie - he goes into the studios records a blinder of an album which includes some great (and unusual!)covers and pairs up with a number of guests to underscore how well respected by his peers (young and old) he really is.
Kicking off with a loud and heavy "Dyin' Since The Day I Was Born" Leslie hits his stride in company with Mark Tremonti and this truly sets a standard from which there is absolutely no deviation. The sound is raunchy and the guitars blistering with nice trade off's between the two musicians and Leslie's vocals at their gravelly best. Before you know it, the guitars change to the most searing and dirty slides you'll hear this side of hell with Leslie and one, legendary and iconic, Johnny Winter, trading licks on "Busted, Disgusted Or Dead" with a set of lyrics to amuse - why this kind of music is no longer considered de-riguer for all I will never, ever know - it is truly emotive!
"Fade Into You" and "Not Over You At All" run nice and bluesy before we come onto "Tales Of Woe", an acoustic interlude where Leslie asks whether you could "walk a mile in my shoe"...showing that whilst life has thrown all sorts at him, his sense of humour remains undaunted...inspiring and funny!
As I say, this is an exceptional album of great music that is recorded as sharp as a pin and "should" draw in more listeners to this genre of music. Patently, it won't, but then that is very much at the loss of those who will never hear ANY of this material.
For those that do like this art form or indeed, like Leslie, I cannot recommend this album more highly to you!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
The last album, 'Unusual Suspects' contained some of West's finest work ever and I thought he had finally peaked after nearly 50 years in the business and then along comes Still Climbing, which is at the very least comparable. Ever since Mountain, West is a legend with guitar players and according to Joe Bonamassa, who is a person who should be listened to, "Leslie West is one of the greatest rock guitarists living today". He has never been about speed and there are many quicker players, but nobody can match him for tone - he makes the strings talk and scream. West's voice is better than ever, gruff and raucous, but with so much soul. Still Climbing is a mix of driving rock, blues, great riffs and performances from the heart - everything that Leslie West does best. He is one of the true greats and this is a superb album and up there with the best of its genre.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
I like Leslie West. But I found this CD hard to get into. His last album, "Unusual Suspects" had some of the best songs he's ever recorded. Well impressed. But it also had some pretty poor stuff. This album has some good stuff on it - Busted disgusted and Dyin since I was born, but they are not as good as the great songs on Unusual Suspects. Sadly, it also has some pretty awful stuff. Fade into you, Not over you at all and when a man loves a woman. Cringe. So poor that I find it hard to play the album. So ultimately a disappointing and patchy record, that I'm afraid will soon be gone from my CD collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first point I want to make is how nicely the album is packaged, with some good photos of the guest artists with Leslie and his personal anecdote about each song.

The title is a gentle nod to Leslie's band, Mountain and perhaps to the fact that he is still going, despite suffering some major health issues, not least the amputation of a leg.

The album itself is great - there are no major surprises other than he has gone for more of a rock feel this time around. The compositions include both originals and cover versions as well as a high octane re-visitation of 'Long Red'.

Despite his advancing years, Leslie's voice is still intact and of course, his guitar playing is second to none.

Great little album from a modern day legend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2013
Just listen to Busted, Disgusted or Dead and you will be a convert. I'd thought that Usual Suspects would be a one off but I'm pleased to say that Still Climbing is a very worthy sucessor. Cracking guitar work with gruff vocals - whats not to like ? And if you want to know how to do a power ballad then try Fade Into You - I've not heard it done that well in some time. But that is just to pick out a couple of tracks from a top quality album. As far a cry from the stuff you'll hear on X Factor as I think you could get - get your ears round this - you'll enjoy this if Blues Rock works for you
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
This is a great cd, but i feel the last track lets it down, saying that the rest of the cd kicks ass !! great guitar tones as always.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
At least he doesn't sound like he did years ago when he was obviously influenced by Clapton and Cream. I just can't come to terms with the rock shouting vocals, created originally by Johnny Winters and imitated to boring exhaustion by men who, stereotypically, wish to sound like they're trying for a hernia. It would be a good album but for that need for silly,macho,voice straining,theatrically naff, angst.

Eamonn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Always been a fan of Leslie from way back in the Mountain days, lost him for years then we became reacquainted with "Guitarded"
Simply this album is immense.
The quality of writing, the guests and the big man's voice which has a roughness and richness that is bang on the money.
If your thing is blues, blues/rock and occasionally screaming guitars you have just found your album of the year (and mine !)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
It takes some getting your head around, that this was the guy who provided one of the highlights of a certain Woodstock festival, about 200 years ago, I think! This is a superb album, and as good a blues rock outing as I've heard for a long long time. Nice packaging too, with a very nice booklet, to make it a very satisfying purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.