Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great live solo album by Neil Young
This is a great reminder (if we needed one) of just what a fine songwriter Neil Young is. The album is a recording of some solo sets he did in 1970 and they are very good indeed. I had the great good fortune to receive an advance copy of this album, I have played it a lot and the more I play it, the better it gets.

This is the young (sorry) Neil Young with...
Published 4 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good old Neil as a young un
Enough said... worth buying just for the first half and the second half grows on you. He has a great sense of humour on stage too.
Published 18 days ago by JHL ... Fermanagh Man


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great live solo album by Neil Young, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
This is a great reminder (if we needed one) of just what a fine songwriter Neil Young is. The album is a recording of some solo sets he did in 1970 and they are very good indeed. I had the great good fortune to receive an advance copy of this album, I have played it a lot and the more I play it, the better it gets.

This is the young (sorry) Neil Young with just his guitar and a piano performing some great material like After The Goldrush, Only Love Can Break Your Heart, Old Man and others. They are really good, heartfelt performances which in these stripped-down versions often have tremendous emotional power. Don't Let It Bring You Down, for example, really packs an emotional punch for me - perhaps even more than the studio version does. The wonderful chord structures combined with Young's distinctive, Štherial, almost falsetto vocal give it a fabulous, spare beauty and the same is true of many of the other songs here.

The sound quality is excellent and the choice of material is very well balanced, I think. It's hard to get the balance right on a live album between failing to capture enough of the live atmosphere and having so much chat that it becomes tedious on repeated listening, but the producers here have judged it impeccably. There is very little of Neil Young speaking throughout most of the album - generally just a brief introduction to each song, which is exactly enough to give a feel of the live performance without interfering with the music. (And as an aside, although I know this is from 1970, it still brought me up short to hear Only Love Can Break Your Heart introduced as "a song from my new album".) The one exception is a longish, good humoured chat before the last track, Flying On The Ground Is Wrong, and here it is good to get a flavour of the man himself. It is excellently done.

I'm delighted to be able to give this album a rave review. It deserves it, which - let's face it - cannot be said of all Neil Young's work. This, though is among his best which means that it is very good indeed. Don't look for the Crazy-Horse-driven power which made Psychedelic Pill so brilliant last year, for example; this is no less powerful but in that more quietly thoughtful, contemplative Neil Young way. It's an excellent album of great songs, beautifully performed and recorded. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EARLY NEIL-MAGNIFICENT, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Trevor J. Foster "winterlong" (Nottingham , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
I have all Neil's albums on vinyl and this is superb because it's raw basic and there's an almost nervousness to the man that really shows on the solo show he did for the BBC. But this LP is worth it for "Expecting To Fly" alone, really powerful piano playing. I was fortunate to witness Neil perform this classic Springfield tune at Manchester in 2003 and it remains a beautiful song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Massey Hall, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
This got delivered to me about 2 hours ago and it has stayed on the turntable since and will do for quite some time!!
Awesome is the word that comes to mind
Don't just sit there wandering whether to buy it or not
Just do it
You will not be disappointed
Oh and if you can get it on vinyl......Makes for a much better listening experience

Live At The Cellar Door [VINYL]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring it all back, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Neil Young back in the early days just before Harvest. Crisp recording and a voice to match.Clearly Neil at his best.Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good old Neil as a young un, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Enough said... worth buying just for the first half and the second half grows on you. He has a great sense of humour on stage too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars youngneil, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Great early concert from the master of song.Fantastic quality,lots of rap between songs,feels like your there.Great to hear Cinnamon girl on piano too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Neil Young album, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
A beautiful,delicate,moving concert.You could hear a pin drop and Neil Young had his audience eating out of the palm of his hand.
If you've ever enjoyed any of his material you'll love this.A wonderful release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Fantastic live version of neil youngs classics. Why do I have to add more words when I have said what I wanted to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 27 Feb 2014
This is Neil at his best. His performance is intimate and full of soul. The songs are uniformly brilliant. Best of all is the quality of the recording. It's hard to believe this was recorded in 1970. The sound is wonderful with no evidence of tape hiss - it's such a quiet recording that in the quieter moments on the piano you can hear the foot pedals being depressed.
Personal highlights for me are Expecting To Fly, See The Sky About To Rain and Don't Let It Bring You Down. These are songs I've always loved and it's a joy to hear them performed by Neil on his own with just a guitar or piano.
Unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Live At The Cellar Door, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great song selection and recording, perhaps not as polished as Massey Hall but hey still brilliant (the inter chat vocal before flying on the ground breaks up the record a bit for me)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak]
Live At The Cellar Door [Digipak] by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews