Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun with Numbers
What a fascinating review of Humankind's fascination with numbers over millennia. Given its structure it makes great bedside or loo reading.
Published 9 months ago by P. Mcloughlin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of little-known facts - but lacking detail
I recommend this as a good coffee-table or bathroom book; interesting to dip into, but not particularly entertaining for a longer period of time. I have a 45-minute commute, and ended up getting a little bit bored after 15 minutes! It's full of interesting facts, but is very superficial; i felt like the author could have gone into a little more detail on some of the...
Published 6 months ago by Caz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun with Numbers, 19 Nov 2013
By 
P. Mcloughlin "athertonian" (Banbury, Oxon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fascinating review of Humankind's fascination with numbers over millennia. Given its structure it makes great bedside or loo reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Sm Cresswell "writerpsych" (England Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating and unusual dip into what the numerals we take for granted actually mean. There are lots of stories connected to each one. A great little book to give as a present, but I might buy another and keep this one for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who thought numbers could be so interesting?, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book after I heard the author talking about it on the radio. It lived up to all my expectations - interesting, surprising and impossible to put down. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a Christmas present. So far various people have dipped into it, and found the contents fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of little-known facts - but lacking detail, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend this as a good coffee-table or bathroom book; interesting to dip into, but not particularly entertaining for a longer period of time. I have a 45-minute commute, and ended up getting a little bit bored after 15 minutes! It's full of interesting facts, but is very superficial; i felt like the author could have gone into a little more detail on some of the stories and facts - just as i was beginning to think "oh that's interesting!" the author moved onto the next section.

That said, it really is quite interesting, and the author has clearly researched and found some interesting gobbets of information to share. Whilst the detail was a little lacking for me, it appears to be designed to inspire rather than educate - and in that, it achieves 5/5. For me, i wanted to know more. It wasn't enough to leave an impression on me. It is worth a look-see though, and this may sound like a criticism (but it very honestly isn't!!) this would be the PERFECT toilet reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really poor (in many ways) publication. A few facts are interesting, the rest are, at best trivial, at worst just plain nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogerson's Book of Numbers: The culture of numbers from 1001 Nights to the Seven Wonders of the World (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the world through numbers, 3 Jan 2014
A truly wonderful, enchanting, stimulating read. Captivating and educating for both adults and children, it takes you on a journey through history, religions, psychology, philosophy, literature - and places that lie between. A treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NUMERICAL MAGIC, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can see the logic of his layout, reducing from large to small, but some of the text is a bit confused. OK, in fact interesting, to dip into as the mood takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dipping book, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks interesting but I've not read much as I didn't want a Christmas present to look second-hand, so can't comment in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews