Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars77
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2014
Well acted and the storyline was good. It was very watchable. it is an understated film with none of the obligatory swearing, blood and gore or mindless violence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
...but became more compelling as it ran along. Poor explanation of the background storyline as to why there's world war 3 or whatever...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
As a fan of Saorse Ronan (The Lovely Bones, The Host) and Tom Holland (The Impossible), really wanted to see this film and I wasn't disappointed! Such a powerful story that feels so real and the actors portray their emotions really realistically.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I liked this - low key, low budget film but great acting and the plot was not what I was expecting. Definitely worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Amazing film. My twin sister met the author if the book years ago. Sairose Ronan is amazing. Loved this adaptation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
An enjoyable thought apocalyptic teen movie. Bit wobbly in parts. Shots styling and treatment interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This is essentially a film about a girl 'finding' herself after being 'dumped' with her British cousins by her American father (a strange move on his part, considering the UK is on the cusp of a WW3, created by terrorists, and her aunt appears to be a significate figure in the peace-keeping movement so should be fully aware of the impending situation). We, as the viewer, are left to image the history and reasoning behind the move. Antagonistic and sulky, Saoirse Ronan is good as a teen unwillingly sent where she didnt want to go.

As another reviewer says, the DVD blurb and the cover are misleading; this is not a thriller, but a film about young people trying to survive togerther should the worst happen. There is the enevitable, almost believable, romance and they do manage to create the feeling of eerie abandonment where the terrorists have left areas behind in ruin, but it often feels as though this 'war' is confined to their quaint little bit of green England, (and if they ventured a few miles, they would find normality) and goes not generate the feeling of total war.
I also felt he ending was hurried, as though the makers ran out of time, and everything seemed to come to a conclusion far too quickly to be real.

I havent read the book, so I wont make any comparisons, but as a film, this was fine, but lacking in many ways.
All in all, a watchable film, especially if you are a young girl, but if you're expecting a post-apocalyptic action movie, this is not one for you.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
My 17 yr old daughter asked me to buy this. It has one of her favourite actresses in it. She loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
A simple believable story,well acted and produced. No gimmicks and no over sentimentality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Very deep and kept you thinking what will happen next not for the faint hearted, will pass it on to be viewed
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)