Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
79
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2014
Great film, probably one of the best films I have seen so far this year. Great acting again by Saoirse Ronan as Daisy (loved all the films she’s been in, a real star of the future). But the rest of the cast were excellent. I fully recommend watching, it is gripping from the first moment to the last. My only gripe is the lack of detail about the war, but I guess the films not really about that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
An action film, essentially, without any of the humour and sensitivity of the novel, if a degree of softness (including Nick Drake). The relationship between Daisy and Piper is reduced to nothing much (big girl shouting), which goes for the sweet, pragmatic personality of the younger child (in the novel). But who cares about novels, hey! I realise that most people don't bother with them. Well, you should. I appreciate the film for drawing my attention to the book, but not the film itself. I would suggest Saorsie Ronan didn't read the book either, as she forges ahead with her career. Well, good luck to her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Hard and shocking war scenes mixed with beautiful relationships. Gorgeously filmed with a contrast between hand-held intimate scenes and wide panoramic, impersonal shots--best movie I've seen in a long time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
This was entertaining watch, but had a bit of a mixed vibe. A bit like a mash up of Threads and The Railway Children, although not quite as good as both. It probably ranks as the most genteel post apocalyptic film I've seen. An American girl is sent to stay with her cousins in the the UK, which is sliding into civil war. This set up isn't really explained and did seem a bit fanciful, but never mind.

It all starts with a bit of angst and some idyllic countryside and a bit of mind reading. When the proverbial hits the fan martial law is declared and the children are split up. Do not be fooled by the cover this is not an action film, although it has a few moments. It's a bit of a teen coming of age movie and it does a reasonable job at that. The performances from everyone are ok and the story does enough to keep you watching.

There's a few moments in the film that pack a punch, but they don't last long and the punches are pulled somewhat. And that sets the tone really, it's ok, not great but watchable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a really good, dark, coming of age drama set against the backdrop of an apparent worldwide war.

Saoirse Ronan plays Daisy, an American teen packed off to the English countryside to stay with her aunt and cousins. The film appears to be following the well worn path of the misfit attempting to fit into her new surroundings - friendship, romance, life lessons etc etc. These themes continue as unfortunately a nuclear war kicks off - the aunt (who appears to have some kind of high ranking job) is called away, a nuclear bomb is dropped on London and our band of youngsters are left to fend for themselves.

To say much more would ruin the way the plot twists but suffice to say it's gripping but dark stuff. The war itself is largely a macguffin, it's going on in the background as we follow the young troop attempting to stay safe/alive.

The acting is universally excellent. Ronan is the headline act but there are no missteps which is impressive from the young cast. The direction from Kevin Macdonald is at times elegant and dreamlike and others gritty and realistic, suiting the way story progresses. Overall, a top effort and certainly worthy of your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
As a fan of Saorse Ronan (The Lovely Bones, The Host) and Tom Holland (The Impossible), really wanted to see this film and I wasn't disappointed! Such a powerful story that feels so real and the actors portray their emotions really realistically.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
A young American girl Daisy is sent to England to stay with her relatives. When we first meet her, she is a very angry girl who clearly makes it obvious that she does not want to be with her relatives. Eddie takes a shine to her and before you know, it turns to a relationship between them. Daisy finally comes around and settles in with her new life. Until the war kicks in and separates them all. Daisy and her little cousin try and find their way back to reconnect with their loved ones. It's the love that Daisy feels for Eddie that keeps her going.

It's a nice movie that I would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This is essentially a film about a girl 'finding' herself after being 'dumped' with her British cousins by her American father (a strange move on his part, considering the UK is on the cusp of a WW3, created by terrorists, and her aunt appears to be a significate figure in the peace-keeping movement so should be fully aware of the impending situation). We, as the viewer, are left to image the history and reasoning behind the move. Antagonistic and sulky, Saoirse Ronan is good as a teen unwillingly sent where she didnt want to go.

As another reviewer says, the DVD blurb and the cover are misleading; this is not a thriller, but a film about young people trying to survive togerther should the worst happen. There is the enevitable, almost believable, romance and they do manage to create the feeling of eerie abandonment where the terrorists have left areas behind in ruin, but it often feels as though this 'war' is confined to their quaint little bit of green England, (and if they ventured a few miles, they would find normality) and goes not generate the feeling of total war.
I also felt he ending was hurried, as though the makers ran out of time, and everything seemed to come to a conclusion far too quickly to be real.

I havent read the book, so I wont make any comparisons, but as a film, this was fine, but lacking in many ways.
All in all, a watchable film, especially if you are a young girl, but if you're expecting a post-apocalyptic action movie, this is not one for you.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
The film was very good , enjoyable watch. Great storyline. However I did find it unsettling when you think that something like this could happen one day, terrorists detonating a nuclear weapon then invading Britain commiting atroctites along the way as they advance (referencing the scene with Daisy with the gun hiding in the bush). Great film nevertheless five stars but slightly nerving to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
My wife and I both enjoyed this film, which was well made and frighteningly believable. We felt however, that the lead rolls should have gone to a genuine American, as Saorise Ronan was not entirely convincing as theTrans-Atlantic cousin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)