Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Poirot, hello Father Brown!
Many of us are still in mourning after David Suchet twirled his moustache one final time and Poirot's last case came to an end.

But don't despair: there is life after he of the little grey cells - this series is simply wonderful! The BBC, endlessly mysterious in its workings, put this out on weekday lunchtimes when it would surely have got much bigger audiences...
Published 7 months ago by Dr. George L. Sik

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All notes written in Dutch
Did not realise the cover notes and DVD subtitles were all written in Dutch? Next will avoid euro imports!
Tracks play OK so have kept set.
Published 1 month ago by james11


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Poirot, hello Father Brown!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
Many of us are still in mourning after David Suchet twirled his moustache one final time and Poirot's last case came to an end.

But don't despair: there is life after he of the little grey cells - this series is simply wonderful! The BBC, endlessly mysterious in its workings, put this out on weekday lunchtimes when it would surely have got much bigger audiences in the evening. If you haven't seen it, I can't recommend it highly enough, though it departs from G K Chesteron's Father Brown in a number of ways: it's set in the fifties in the Cotswolds, for one thing. There are several regular characters Chesterton never created and several of the stories are totally new, though some are based on the Father Brown originals to a greater or lesser extent.

These departures don't matter. What is captured here is the character of Father Brown and it's perfect. As the blurb points out: 'A good man. A good detective.' He is a warm, gentle soul but no soft touch - and the steel frequently shines though. His Catholicism is more to do with his gifts of empathy than Vatican dogma - I'm sure the bishops and cardinals would think of him as a rebel...and an unpredictable one too. Needless to say, Inspector Valentine (a nod to the Valentin of the original stories) thinks that! It's not unlike Poirot and Japp, but also deliciously different (Poirot was a tortured Catholic, especially when his morals were compromised like in Suchet's versions of Murder on the Orient Express and Curtain; Father Brown is a professional one, but you suspect he sleeps more easily. It's worth remembering that Chesterton actually BECAME a Catholic because he liked the character he had created so much!)

Everything about this production is glorious: the writing, the acting, the locations...the lot! Mark Williams is utterly compelling, leaving his portrayal of Mr Weasley behind...but not completely - he shares the honest wizard's warmth and sly humour.

Don't be put off by the Dutch packaging. It's all the original series in English (you can turn on Dutch subtitles if you feel so inclined). God knows why the BBC hasn't released this DVD in this country - but then the workings of the Beeb would probably baffle the Almighty Himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another hit from region 2!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
Father Brown has been done before, but when I saw that Mark Williams was cast in the role, I thought he would be perfect and he is. Even in regular DVD the scenery is beautiful (on a large screen no less) and the characters are intriguing, especially the basic cast. Having lived as a Catholic in the fifties (though across the pond) I don't see any errors in accuracy. I also love the pace and the lack of blood and gore. But I especially like Father Brown's concern for the soul of the murderer as well as the good guys. When this set came I sat down to watch it immediately because it was a blind buy. I watched six in a row. I hope they are doing more. It is items like this that make my purchase of a region free dvd player well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Today, I are bin mostly reviewing Father Brown., 15 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
Well, it has Mark Williams in it.

That is pretty much all the recommendation anyone needs.

But for the purposes of padding this review out, I'll go on.

This is very watchable, even if I'm not too keen on Mrs "say 'award-winning scones' once more and there really will be murder done" McCarthy. Imagine if Mrs Doyle wasn't funny (or utterly mad).

The scenery and sets are astounding. Pure chocolate-box Cotswoldery that you'd think was well overdone until you Streetview it and see the locations, Upper Slaughter, Blockley and Winchconb in Gloucestershire (thrown in to freak out our our American readers - I was that tempted to sneak in an extra syllable...) really do look like that.

The plots are not bad, and the scripts are well written, which is a rarity these days.

All the Dutchness of the packaging was a bit bemusing, especially as it launches right into it without the language choice menu. (Ends up being in English, thank God). Just keep the subtitles switched "Uit".

The sound recording and balance is really not very good at all. Recorded with two plastic cups and some string, then mixed by that bloke from the BBC who does Dr Who. The one who used to sound engineer for Metal bands until his hearing went.

Everything sounds compressed, bad mp3 wheezy and pretty horrible. Very grating and in your face, yet with the dialogue only just discernable through the background music and background noises, which are all pitched at the same volume.

(Please don't tell me to adjust the sound on my telly (I can almost see people reaching for the keyboard). My point is that it sounds rubbish on the same settings that work fine with anything else.)

Maybe the second series will be better. I hope so, as I've already bought the thing...

Doei-doei
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful series., 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
A delightful series, brilliant acting and casting. Mark Williams is perfect in the role of Father Brown.
In the Morse or Marple league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Williams is the Father Brown., 10 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
I have been watching this series on television on this side of the Pond (North America). Williams has the perfect balance of wit, humor, facial expression, gate, and speech for this role. Productions are well acted by all and most enjoyable. They are also taped in appropriate locations giving the episodes further definition and color. I look forward to seeing other episodes and hope they continue for years to come.3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All notes written in Dutch, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
Did not realise the cover notes and DVD subtitles were all written in Dutch? Next will avoid euro imports!
Tracks play OK so have kept set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GENTLE DETECTION & SAVING OF SOULS, 19 May 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
A cosy series picturesquely set in the 1950s. Amiable Father Brown with his faith, umbrella and bicycle solves various village mysteries - well ahead of Inspector Valentine who spends most of each episode being wrong.

Others more knowledgeable may comment (if they so wish) on how the show compares with G.K. Chesterton's original stories and earlier screen adaptations. Judged on its own merits, this version is agreeable enough. It owes much to Mark Williams as Father Brown, he usually so mild and tolerant but once or twice exhibiting awesome wrath. However heinous the crime, his prime aim is for the perpetrator to make peace with God, not to suffer the eternal damnation otherwise assured. Hugo Speer has his moments as the exasperated inspector. ("What is it with that priest! I don't turn up on Sunday to give his sermon.") Sorcha Cusack as busybody Parish Secretary Mrs. McCarthy is around for comic relief. (Some viewers may find her smallminded and tiresome.) More appealing is Alex Price as slightly dodgy young Sid, ever rising to the occasion when called upon to do so.

Ten episodes of around forty minutes. No extras.

The crimes will not exactly tax brains of the genre's fans, but it is good to be proved right when the culprit is revealed.

In short, pleasant enough without exactly exerting itself. This will suit many as, indeed, it does me - here a welcome alternative to ubiquitous crime shows so dour, fast-paced and hardhitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
Came across this series by accident. If you love Marple, Poirot, Midsomer Murders etc you'll love this. Brilliant acting, great story lines and characters. Highly recommended, can't wait for series 2 out in the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intellectual puzzles gently brought to life, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
My goodness is this an excellent series. Superlative acting from Mark Williams and gentle, intellectual puzzles. None of that hateful violence that so many detective series are ruined with. Quite the best and I include the German version starring Ottfried Fischer which is again an intellectual puzzle of the gentle nature with humour thrown in.

Strongly reccommended. Bring on series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars father brown, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 DVD Box Father Brown Complete Series 1 - BBC - Mark Williams - Region 2 - English Audio - European Import (DVD)
loved the storyline, and very good actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews