Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!
This is a fantastic book. A true classic page turner you cannot go wrong purchasing this book. I am a very happy customer
Published 15 months ago by Chris

versus
46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointing.
I was looking forward to reading 'Imagined Communities' as it is often seen as something of a standard text on nationalism. I ended up disappointed. The key lies with the subtitle of the book - 'Reflections on the Origin and Spread of Nationalism'. I'll try to pinpoint why but first I'll deal with what I think is valuable about the work.

It's beautifully...
Published on 21 May 2009 by Germinal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointing., 21 May 2009
By 
Germinal (St. Ives) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to reading 'Imagined Communities' as it is often seen as something of a standard text on nationalism. I ended up disappointed. The key lies with the subtitle of the book - 'Reflections on the Origin and Spread of Nationalism'. I'll try to pinpoint why but first I'll deal with what I think is valuable about the work.

It's beautifully written with witty asides and is easily read. There are plenty of insights into the way that nationalism works and how nations are imagined - that concept is a great one - how history, maps, museums, censuses, literature all contribute to the collective imagining of something called a nation and how this imagining is relatively modern. This is illustrated with some fascinating examples. Anderson is also fairly good at explaining how nationalism spread and how it has now become universal.

So, 'Imagined Communities' strength is explaining how nationalism works and, to a lesser extent, how it spreads. The weakness is in explaining the origins of nationalism. Anderson locates this in the coincidence of the rise of capitalism, the technology of print and language. Anderson also locates the first nationalisms as being creole nationalisms in the Americas thereby ignoring the rise of the nation states in the Netherlands and England prior to this. One is left with a nagging feeling that the explanation being offered here is inadequate.

Anderson is right to point out the rise of state bureaucracy in the relation to the rise of nationalism but neglects the idea that the needs of business and the protection of markets could play a similar function. In short, Anderson fails to account for the fact that the rise of nationalism mirrors the rise and spread of capitalism per se and not just print capitalism.

Anderson also states that the French model was as important as the creole in creating the template for nationalism to be copied throughout the world but then says virtually nothing about the role of the French Revolution in the creation of this template or, indeed, about the rise of nationalism in France. The reader is left to guess about how and why an idea which Anderson insists arose in places like Peru made it's way to Europe.

About two thirds of the way through, I had got the gist of the thesis and found the latter chapters unenlightening apart from illustrative examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but Biased, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
S. Smith (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In an age of academic specialization, there is a need for works of synthesis, proposing theories of general application. This need is shown by way that "Imagined Communities" and, for example, Edward Said's "Orientalism" are widely read and discussed. However, to be valid, generalisations should be based on a comprehensive and objective reading of all the evidence, not just a presentation of only what suits the author's particular view. Although Anderson's book is well written and presented, it fails to be either objective or comprehensive.

In his book, Anderson traces the origins of national consciousness back to 18th century Age of Enlightenment in Western Europe. He argues that the traditional and hierarchical social organisation associated with Christendom declined through economic factors and with the spread of national territory and citizenship. He particularly identifies a link between the rise of capitalism and the development of printing, which fostered national languages and identity. Anderson considered that nations were formed through invented traditions and symbols, not fixed racial differences. This approach is clearly a Marxist one, and is open to several objections.

Firstly, assuming "Christendom" declined in the 16th century, Anderson does not explain what happened between then and the Age of Enlightenment. Secondly, Anderson relies heavily on other Marxist writers like Eric Hobsbawm and Tom Nairn, largely ignoring other schools of thought. Thirdly, at the outset, Anderson defines several concepts in a way which limits discussion on them to his own agenda. He seems to follow Hobsbawm in arguing that nationalism didn't exist before the late 18th century, so that anything earlier is not nationalism, a circular argument. Next, he provides examples which appear to prove his point, but which are not universal. For example, he may be right to point out that the boundaries of many Spanish Latin American states are based on artificial colonial-era administrative boundaries. However, this does not explain why entities such as Syria or Iran/Persia have many centuries of distinct existence or even why Spanish Latin America split up but Brazil did not. Similarly, he chooses Hungary to make a point on ethnic identity: choosing Poland would tell a different story. Finally, if this is a scholarly work, its reference to sources and explanation for some of its more contentious statements is rather poor in places.

This book can be accepted as an interesting personal view that can stimulate debate, but it was written by someone going well outside their area of expertise. It is worth reading, with some caution and reasonable scepticism. However, it is not unbiased or impartial and its status as a much quoted and approved work in several fields of social sciences probably says something about the credibility of those disciplines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic book. A true classic page turner you cannot go wrong purchasing this book. I am a very happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's excellent!, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just the book i needed. This new edition has 2 more chapters. It's excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. Very pleased with this purchase. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic service will use again and recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great and provocative writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars never sure about this book, 4 April 2011
I read it as part of my self-education about nationalism since it was a topic that I've always wondered about on the personal level. This book proved what I believed about nationalism but never strongly enough. I was a bit disappointed right after finishing reading it although the last chapter was very interesting and as a matter of fact, a creative way to finish a book about nationalism.
The book is something between a serious history reference book and an easy-to-read-for-everyone book and that was probably the thing that made me not enjoy it much. I felt it as a book with an identity crisis.
My review might sound confusing but that's exactly how I felt after reading it; confused!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmark, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
Andrew (Weston-Super-Mare, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Imagined communities is a landmark book which has yet to be superseded. It may well be the most significant book you will ever read on the phenomenon of modern nationalism. As a student of Middle East politics I found this book and its concepts invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Benedict Anderson wrote, "Nation, nationality, nationalism - all have proved notoriously difficult to define, let alone to analyse. In contrast to the immense influence that nationalism has exerted on the modern world, plausible theory about it is conspicuously meagre. Hugh Seton-Watson, author of far the best and most comprehensive English language text on nationalism, and heir to a vast tradition of liberal historiography and social science, sadly observes: "Thus I am driven to the conclusion that no `scientific definition' of the nation can be devised; yet the phenomenon has existed and exists." Tom Nairn, author of the path-breaking The break-up of Britain, and heir to the scarcely less vast tradition of Marxist historiography and social science, candidly remarks: "The theory of nationalism represents Marxism's great historic failure."

Anderson and Nairn both falsified the history of Marxist writing on the nation by the simple, if dishonest, expedient of ignoring the standard Marxist work on nationalism, Stalin's Marxism and the national question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews