Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho!
What a nice little movie this is. Arthur Christmas is very predictable but also a very enjoyable animated comedy that the whole family can enjoy. Aardman animation have now become the British version of Pixar, with Chicken Run, Wallace and Grommitt in The Curse Of The Wererabbit, the underrated Flushed Away and now Arthur Christmas, a charming tale about Santa's youngest...
Published on 15 Nov. 2011 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to teach women to read....
I wasn't really looking forward to this movie.

I mean, I saw the first trailer over a year ago, and it didn't do anything for me, and the fact that a Christmas movie is released in November, makes me think that the studio don't have big hopes for this nearer the titular period.

I'm happy to say that this is a wonderful movie for kids, and it has a...
Published 14 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho!, 15 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
What a nice little movie this is. Arthur Christmas is very predictable but also a very enjoyable animated comedy that the whole family can enjoy. Aardman animation have now become the British version of Pixar, with Chicken Run, Wallace and Grommitt in The Curse Of The Wererabbit, the underrated Flushed Away and now Arthur Christmas, a charming tale about Santa's youngest son, Arthur, who is determined to make sure a little girl gets her christmas present after it accidentally gets left behind at the north pole. A very good voice cast, James Mcavoy is Arhur, Jim Broadbent is Santa, Hugh Laurie is Arthur's oldest brother and next in line to take over the family business, Steve and Bill Nighy is Grandpa Santa, nearly stealing the entire movie. Animation is very good and there are lots of neat and very funny touches like Santa's elf helpers acting like a marine commando squad when delivering presents, the huge sleigh that looks like a huge spaceship which explains how Santa delivers all the presents in one night and some great and very memorable characters. This will leave you with a big silly grin despite the very predictable plot and only the hardest of hearts or a real grinch could possibly hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Christmas movies!, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
To be honest, I thought this was going to be a pretty bad movie - the tacky 'Arthur Christmas' themed lights in Oxford Street really put me off. However, I was surprised to find that Arthur Christmas was given a rating of 92% on Rotten Tomatoes and some really praising reviews.

Arthur Christmas is a brilliant and unique take on the build up to Christmas and exactly how Santa delivers all those gifts. The story starts on Christmas Eve with Steve Santa - Santa's first son, and heir to the title of 'Santa', carrying out a mission-impossible styled operation to get billions of presents delivered on time. Of course, this is done with the help of the 'S1' - a massive space ship, and thousands of trained elves. The night is a great success and they manage to deliver every single present to every good child around the globe without being spotted. However, soon after their celebrations, an elf, Bryony, discovers an undelivered present! She immediately alerts Steve and his personal assistant of this; however, Steve, who takes a rather militant attitude towards Christmas giving, argues that one undelivered present is a minimal error and there is absolutely no way they can deliver the present with only two hours until sunrise. Arthur Christmas, Santa's younger son, overhears this and is distraught to hear that one little girl won't be getting a present from Santa this year. Arthur's grandfather proposes that Arthur and himself fly The Evie - the old Christmas sleigh - all the way to England to make sure the last present gets delivered and after a bit of nudging, nervous Arthur agrees to it. So, Grand-Santa and Athur embark on an adventure to England but things aren't plain sailing - they even have a run in with some African lions!

Every single voice in this movie is recognisable as they have used a star-studded voice-over cast including: James McAvoy as Arthur, Hugh Laurie as Steve, Jim Broadbent as Santa, Bill Nighy as Grand-Santa, Imelda Staunton as Mrs Santa, Ashley Jensen (Ugly Betty's Christina) and even glimpses of Robbie Coltrane and Eva Longoria! Each and every voice perfectly matches the personality and appearance of each character. This absolutely fantastic cast along with the heart-warming plot and brilliant animation led to Arthur Christmas being nominated for a long list of awards including Best Animated Feature Film at the Golden Globe Awards.

This is an absolutely brilliant, feel-good, Christmas movie that all families need to see! This film had me smiling fondly from beginning to end and even laughing out loud at some points because for once- the humour is actually funny. You can't help but love Arthur Christmas for his true Christmas spirit and his warm heart and the ending should leave everyone with a satisfied grin on their faces. So Christmas this year may be over, but if you want to hang on to the festivities for a couple more days then I highly recommend watching Arthur Christmas for all the family! If you're already packing away your Christmas things for this year, then buy this on DVD for next year - it's definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not be dissapointed!, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are few movies these days that are enjoyed by myself, my partner and our 4 year old in equal measures - but Arthur Christmas is one of them!
We watched this at our local independent cinema in Dartington last year and loved it - we have waited for it to come out on DVD ever since (alwasy annnoying with Christmas movies - you have to wait until the following Christmas for the DVD release).
We have watched this twice again already and I'm sure we will again. Very modern and relevant for today's demanding audience. I wouldn't just rate this as one of the best Christmas movies, I would rate this as one of the best animated movies out there.
You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film for the family, 11 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I promised to take our grand children aged 7 and10 - my husband wasn't going to bother until he realised it was created by the Wallace and Gromit team! What a great family film. Humour for all ages topical,mixed with tradition: a moral to the story and lots of cracking one liners, we can't wait for the DVD to be released so that elderly relatives can view at home, and we can watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see this in the cinema last year and absolutely loved it! It's just a really good family Christmas film, right up my street! I can't wait to get it and stick it on in a few weeks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Christmas film. In fact, fantastic film. Full Stop, 22 Dec. 2012
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arthur Christmas is one of those rare computer generated films which is lucky enough to have things in common with such greats as Toy Story and Shrek, i.e. it can be watched on many levels and therefore enjoyed by both adults and children.

It tells the (very British) story of Father Christmas' operation and how he, and his family, plus an army of highly-trained elves, delivers presents to all the boys and girls on one night. However, his family-run business hits a rocky patch when one little girl is accidentally missed out, threatening to ruin Father Christmas' good name in the process. Step up Arthur (youngest son of Father) Christmas, who with the help of an elf with an obsession of wrapping things in pretty paper and bows, plus his aging (and slightly senile) Grandfather (aka `Grand Santa') set about making the one last drop on Christmas Eve in which to get the present to the girl before she wakes up and thinks Father Christmas has forgotten about her.

It's not a particularly complicated story and, on hearing about it, I first wondered how much mileage could be made out of it. The trailer looks impressive, but sometimes they squeeze all the best gags into the ninety second trailer and there's nothing left for the film itself. Luckily, this is not the case. The story is truly charming. It highlights the best of British (vocal) acting talent and weaves it into a heartfelt story about family at Christmas with jokes that will make children chuckle, while others will go straight over their heads for `parents only' to enjoy.

I'm no fan of Christmas. I think it's overhyped, expensive and too commercial. Many a Christmas ever I've locked out the three well-meaning ghosts, but Arthur Christmas even managed to make me feel almost festive - an emotion that Dudley Moore couldn't even manage in his Father Christmas movie. That's how good Arthur Christmas really is (unless I'm experiencing a mid life crisis a few years early).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love it!, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Roberto Nike (Germany, Munchen) - See all my reviews
We cant really say anythting as we would spoil it, only thing I will tell you is that apart from the obvious idea that is promoted here, what touched me pesonaly is the union of a large team to make children happy, uncoditionaly and by all means.

This goes to my top along with Megamind and Coraline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND, 12 May 2013
This is a great Christmas story for the techno-weenie kid who asks all kind of questions about Christmas. In this updated tale, British accent Santa delivers all of his toys via a futuristic spaceship looking vehicle piloted by his son Steve. His other son, Arthur diligently answers the mail. After a successful Christmas, it was discovered that one toy was overlooked.

While Santa and Steve don't fret over the situation, Arthur and Grandsanta take on the quest the traditional way with a host of reindeer, whose names Grandsanta can't quite remember.

This is a funny and heart warming story kids and adults can both enjoy. I was pleasantly surprised in spite of the fact it ignored time zones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas With the Aardmans, 29 Feb. 2012
By 
Today you get an impression of the amount of lag there sometimes is between me seeing a film and getting the time to actually write down my impressions of it. Tis the start of spring, yet I am now getting around to reviewing 2011's big Christmas hit `Arthur Christmas'. Brought to you by the Claymation talents of Aardman, but like with their earlier (and criminally under looked) `Flushed Away' this is a CGI affair, rather than their more famed plasticine creations. `Arthur' tells the story of Father Christmas' son Arthur and his refusal to allow even one child to go without at Christmas. So far so sickly sweet, but there is an added bit of spice to the film that lifts it from empty child fantasy into something all the family can enjoy - humour.

`Arthur Christmas' is a funny film, especially when Bill Nighy's Grandpa Christmas is on screen. The great Claymation may not be in evidence, but the Aardman funny bone is. Directors Sarah Smith and Barry Cook manage to balance the films comedy whilst still being able to make it a `true meaning of Christmas' style film. Children will enjoy the experience of being in Santa's Grotto, whilst the adults can enjoy some of the sly digs. I am not always a fan of moments being in kids films for the grownups, but in this case it works.

After watching `Arthur Christmas' I was filled with the joys of the season and this is what this type of film should do. The voice cast was filled with great British actors inc. McAvoy, Laurie and Nighy and they are all excellent. However, there is no denying that this film is not up to the standards of `Wallace and Gromit and the Curse of the Were-Rabbit'. I believe this is due to time. A CGI film is relatively quick to make, whilst Claymation takes years. With manual animation you spend countless hours studying the sets and keep adding to them as you think up new visual gags - Wallace is full of them, whilst `Arthur' is strangely devoid of them. Perhaps they did not have time to add that extra Aardman magic to the film.

Being worse than `Wallace and Gromit' is no shame in itself, most things are. `Arthur' remains one of the best recent Christmas films and will be a standard of the season for decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great kids film, format options limited. UV Why?, 18 Nov. 2012
Great Christmas film for the kids. Animation and plot will keep the kids hooked throughout. Possibly even some of the big kids. Perfect film to keep to start the festivities.

I will however question the limited format options that appear to be available.

Where have all the 'Triple Plays' gone? UV Copy is of no use. Could this end 'Blu-rays'? I purchased 'Triple Plays' as they were portable and could be used on a variety of players. While film companies continue to release a UV copy, i will not buy any blu-rays and will opt for DVD (Cheaper versions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arthur Christmas [DVD] [2011]
Arthur Christmas [DVD] [2011] by James McAvoy (DVD - 2012)
£3.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews