Customer Reviews


331 Reviews
5 star:
 (249)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho!
What a nice little movie this is. Arthur Christmas is very predictable but also a very enjoyable animated comedy that the whole family can enjoy. Aardman animation have now become the British version of Pixar, with Chicken Run, Wallace and Grommitt in The Curse Of The Wererabbit, the underrated Flushed Away and now Arthur Christmas, a charming tale about Santa's youngest...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But disappointed really
My little boy wasn't interested in this film at all, I was quite disappointed - he watched lots of films but couldn't get into this one at all, the story was too slow.
Published 9 months ago by R. Wood


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho!, 15 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
What a nice little movie this is. Arthur Christmas is very predictable but also a very enjoyable animated comedy that the whole family can enjoy. Aardman animation have now become the British version of Pixar, with Chicken Run, Wallace and Grommitt in The Curse Of The Wererabbit, the underrated Flushed Away and now Arthur Christmas, a charming tale about Santa's youngest son, Arthur, who is determined to make sure a little girl gets her christmas present after it accidentally gets left behind at the north pole. A very good voice cast, James Mcavoy is Arhur, Jim Broadbent is Santa, Hugh Laurie is Arthur's oldest brother and next in line to take over the family business, Steve and Bill Nighy is Grandpa Santa, nearly stealing the entire movie. Animation is very good and there are lots of neat and very funny touches like Santa's elf helpers acting like a marine commando squad when delivering presents, the huge sleigh that looks like a huge spaceship which explains how Santa delivers all the presents in one night and some great and very memorable characters. This will leave you with a big silly grin despite the very predictable plot and only the hardest of hearts or a real grinch could possibly hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see this in the cinema last year and absolutely loved it! It's just a really good family Christmas film, right up my street! I can't wait to get it and stick it on in a few weeks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells Arthur Leads the Way..., 9 Dec 2012
If anything or anyone is to be blamed for the slow response of Arthur Christmas being a great hit in DVD, blame it on Sony. The trailers, covers, and the publicity seriously lack the élan of this great animation. Many of my friends seeing the trailers thought it will be a boring slow movie.

Arthur Christmas is a Christmas classic, one of the best animations ever, even seriously challenging Disney.
The plot is innovative, with a modern twist while keeping the tradition at heart, and the animation is super brilliant. An uplifting Christmas story with lot of heart and a lot of trust in Santa, even if you are naughty (they'll make you nice)

Vital Stats
Cast: James McAvoy, Bill Nighy, Hugh Laurie, Jim Broadbent, Imelda Staunton
Director: Sarah Smith
Region: 2, PAL
Subtitles: English, Englsih SDH, Hindi, Italian, Spanish
Audio: Catalan, Hindi, Italian, Spanish
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Feature Run Time: Approx 97 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Christmas movies!, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
To be honest, I thought this was going to be a pretty bad movie - the tacky 'Arthur Christmas' themed lights in Oxford Street really put me off. However, I was surprised to find that Arthur Christmas was given a rating of 92% on Rotten Tomatoes and some really praising reviews.

Arthur Christmas is a brilliant and unique take on the build up to Christmas and exactly how Santa delivers all those gifts. The story starts on Christmas Eve with Steve Santa - Santa's first son, and heir to the title of 'Santa', carrying out a mission-impossible styled operation to get billions of presents delivered on time. Of course, this is done with the help of the 'S1' - a massive space ship, and thousands of trained elves. The night is a great success and they manage to deliver every single present to every good child around the globe without being spotted. However, soon after their celebrations, an elf, Bryony, discovers an undelivered present! She immediately alerts Steve and his personal assistant of this; however, Steve, who takes a rather militant attitude towards Christmas giving, argues that one undelivered present is a minimal error and there is absolutely no way they can deliver the present with only two hours until sunrise. Arthur Christmas, Santa's younger son, overhears this and is distraught to hear that one little girl won't be getting a present from Santa this year. Arthur's grandfather proposes that Arthur and himself fly The Evie - the old Christmas sleigh - all the way to England to make sure the last present gets delivered and after a bit of nudging, nervous Arthur agrees to it. So, Grand-Santa and Athur embark on an adventure to England but things aren't plain sailing - they even have a run in with some African lions!

Every single voice in this movie is recognisable as they have used a star-studded voice-over cast including: James McAvoy as Arthur, Hugh Laurie as Steve, Jim Broadbent as Santa, Bill Nighy as Grand-Santa, Imelda Staunton as Mrs Santa, Ashley Jensen (Ugly Betty's Christina) and even glimpses of Robbie Coltrane and Eva Longoria! Each and every voice perfectly matches the personality and appearance of each character. This absolutely fantastic cast along with the heart-warming plot and brilliant animation led to Arthur Christmas being nominated for a long list of awards including Best Animated Feature Film at the Golden Globe Awards.

This is an absolutely brilliant, feel-good, Christmas movie that all families need to see! This film had me smiling fondly from beginning to end and even laughing out loud at some points because for once- the humour is actually funny. You can't help but love Arthur Christmas for his true Christmas spirit and his warm heart and the ending should leave everyone with a satisfied grin on their faces. So Christmas this year may be over, but if you want to hang on to the festivities for a couple more days then I highly recommend watching Arthur Christmas for all the family! If you're already packing away your Christmas things for this year, then buy this on DVD for next year - it's definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film for the family, 11 Dec 2011
I promised to take our grand children aged 7 and10 - my husband wasn't going to bother until he realised it was created by the Wallace and Gromit team! What a great family film. Humour for all ages topical,mixed with tradition: a moral to the story and lots of cracking one liners, we can't wait for the DVD to be released so that elderly relatives can view at home, and we can watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not be dissapointed!, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are few movies these days that are enjoyed by myself, my partner and our 4 year old in equal measures - but Arthur Christmas is one of them!
We watched this at our local independent cinema in Dartington last year and loved it - we have waited for it to come out on DVD ever since (alwasy annnoying with Christmas movies - you have to wait until the following Christmas for the DVD release).
We have watched this twice again already and I'm sure we will again. Very modern and relevant for today's demanding audience. I wouldn't just rate this as one of the best Christmas movies, I would rate this as one of the best animated movies out there.
You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love it!, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Roberto Nike (Germany, Munchen) - See all my reviews
We cant really say anythting as we would spoil it, only thing I will tell you is that apart from the obvious idea that is promoted here, what touched me pesonaly is the union of a large team to make children happy, uncoditionaly and by all means.

This goes to my top along with Megamind and Coraline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Classic, 12 Sep 2014
Arthur Christmas has already joined the list of classic 'must have' Christmas films. The humour is uplifting and very enjoyable. Arthur's brother is a bit of a Scrooge Father Christmas in waiting and an accident waiting to happen. When it does happen the hilarity for the viewer does not disappoint. Bill Nighy's voicing of Grandpa Santa is incredible, and watch/listen for Michael Palin voicing the aged elf; it's hilariously brilliant. As with all brilliant children's films, much of the humour is aimed at adults and hits the mark perfectly. I keep this one by all year round; as a granny who suffers from the occasional low mood, I wouldn't be without Arthur Christmas; if only all Christmas films were this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND, 12 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a great Christmas story for the techno-weenie kid who asks all kind of questions about Christmas. In this updated tale, British accent Santa delivers all of his toys via a futuristic spaceship looking vehicle piloted by his son Steve. His other son, Arthur diligently answers the mail. After a successful Christmas, it was discovered that one toy was overlooked.

While Santa and Steve don't fret over the situation, Arthur and Grandsanta take on the quest the traditional way with a host of reindeer, whose names Grandsanta can't quite remember.

This is a funny and heart warming story kids and adults can both enjoy. I was pleasantly surprised in spite of the fact it ignored time zones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive Fun!, 23 Sep 2012
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Arthur Christmas is a special guy - he's the son of the one and only Santa Clause. However, Arthur is a bit clumsy and therefore he's been relegated to the mail room, left to reply to the wishes of children all over the world through their letters. Arthur's brother Steve has all but taken over the Christmas Eve operation, creating mega ship S1 which helps travel the world at humungous speed, and has many specialist elves to help deliver the billions of presents that Santa has to deliver every year. However, there's a glitch and Arthur discovers that one little girl's present has been forgotten. She's been missed. Arthur is determined that no child's Christmas will be ruined, and sets about recruiting the help of Grand-Santa, a long ago retired sleigh and a little Christmas hope and magic to make a little's girl Christmas wish come true. Will Arthur be able to make it happen against the odds?

The main character of the film, Arthur Christmas, who happens to be the son of Santa, is voiced by James McAvoy. I haven't ever really seen James in anything, he doesn't star in the sort of films I like to watch, but I felt he did a really good voice of voicing hopeless but loveable Arthur. He puts a lot of enthusiasm into his vocal performance, and I really enjoyed listening to him on screen, the voice seemed to suit the visual character too which is fantastic. Jim Broadbent is the voice of Santa, and a voice I'm sure that a lot of the adults watching will certainly recognise, and again, his voice perfectly suited his character. For me, the best vocal performance came from Bill Nighy, the voice of Grand-Santa, Arthur's grandad and the previous Santa. He was hilarious to listen to, and has a great voice for this character, delivering great one-liners and making the adult audience giggle alongside the children as well!

There are quite a few more star voices in the film, including Imelda Staunton as Mrs Santa, a good but unmemorable performance, Ashley Jensen as the fantastic wrapping paper expert elf Bryony, who ends up helping out Arthur, and the wonderful Hugh Laurie as my second favourite character in the film, Steve. Steve is Santa's other son, someone who wants to modernise Santa's job and of course creates the magnificent S1 ship which helps Santa and the elves on Christmas Eve. Laurie is the perfect voice for Steve, an enthusiastic but un-child friendly man who is determined to be the next Santa at whatever cost! He provided quite a bit of the comedy too, and was a great character to contrast with his Christmas-lover brother Arthur.

The animation on the film was outstanding, and it really was beautiful to watch on-screen. The scenes throughout were flawless, be they in the North Pole at Santa HQ, or Arthur's adventures around the world in trying to reunite the little girl with her forgotten gift, and the characters in particular were well animated. The facial expressions were well created, matching the voice actors performances easily, and I loved the festive-ness throughout, from Arthur's amazing Christmas jumper to the Christmassy decorations in his little letter room. The opening sequence involving the Christmas Eve delivery was brilliant, combining great animation with a fantastic soundtrack and some funny humour along the way too. I have to say there is quite a bit of humour in there for the adults that will go right over the children's heads, but I could hear the grown ups around the cinema laughing along, and it's always appreciated when film makers put something in there for the adults!

This isn't a traditional Christmas film - after all, children expect to see Santa on a sleigh with reindeer, but this Santa is aboard something that looks like the Starship Enterprise and isn't really responsible for deliverying many of the gifts at all, leaving that job to the highly trained elves (so cute!). However, it does capture that spirit of Christmas, a time when it's magical for children to wake up to Santa's gift, and the importance of a child's belief in Santa too. Arthur is the perfect character for kids watching to relate to - he loves Christmas, he loves Santa and he wants it to be magical for everyone, and I defy any grown-up watching not to love Arthur as well! I found myself loving every minute of this film, and Harry said it was fantastic and wants to watch it again next Christmas! With a funny storyline that has you laughing alongside Arthur and his amazing adventures in order to get this 1 present back to its rightful recipient, and plenty of twists and turns along the way, Arthur Christmas is a joy to watch, and will surely be one of the films you and your children will want to watch each year as the festive season comes around once more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arthur Christmas [DVD] [2011]
Arthur Christmas [DVD] [2011] by James McAvoy (DVD - 2012)
£4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews