Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as a fly past
This book is aimed at developers with existing Android experience, and with the goal to ‘push the limits’, i.e. tackle a number of advanced topics.

It does cover a wide range of topics, and has many interesting illustrative code fragments, plus an accompanying website where code can be downloaded (although the author suggests that you type the code...
Published 9 months ago by Martyn Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, BUT not for beginners
This book is definitely not for beginners, as it builds on coding and programming to help push your app to the next level. Only have basic knowledge, I have found this book hard going, which is reflection more on me than the book. Am making steady (but slow) progress!
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as a fly past, 4 April 2014
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is aimed at developers with existing Android experience, and with the goal to ‘push the limits’, i.e. tackle a number of advanced topics.

It does cover a wide range of topics, and has many interesting illustrative code fragments, plus an accompanying website where code can be downloaded (although the author suggests that you type the code in as an exercise in learning how it works). For example, some of the topics considered in the 20 chapters (400 pages):

• Low-level (JNI,NDK,USB,hardware unlocking,custom firmware)
• Networks (Bluetooth LE, HTTP, WiFi,websockets)
• Security
• Multimedia (UI, touch, OpenGL/ES)
• JSON and DB data representation
• Tools: ADB, test-driven development, deployment on Google Play

The span of topics is actually too wide to give any of the topics a fair go, and a subset of these (for example considering various communications and remote access facilities) could make a substantial book. The capabilities of mobile operating systems are broad enough now to allow for specialization, so it seems quite legitimate, for example, for UI and DB, or communications and deployment to be a focus in their own right.

However, the book gives an idea of what Android is capable of, so a read through might be useful for many to introduce topics that could be explored in more detail using online resources. I appreciated the up-to-date nature of the book; for example Bluetooth Low Energy is something really only becoming available now.
As a reference book for ideas, then, I think this book makes sense and is a worthy addition for an Android devs’ library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advanced. For advanced Android application developers only!, 6 April 2014
By 
Pallus (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Pushing The Limits' indeed; this book is for ALREADY experienced Android app developers who want to PUSH themselves.
One should already have mastered the Activity, Service, Broadcast Receiver and Content Provider classes, it says.

But I haven't.

-I was really after an 'Introduction to' type book and have clearly bitten-off more than I can chew here.
As such, I'm not fully qualified to review this book but I can see that it is seriously in-depth and thorough.

Amazon's 'Look Inside' feature will display the chapters list and index which show just how thorough this book is. -It teaches not only how to exploit Android's official features but also how to call Hidden APIs and Hack Android.

The writing style is explicit and informative. That is, instructions are given clearly and without humour or waffle.
Some screenshots are a bit hard to read as the text is small and grey-on-black but the code in the text is clearly written in standard sized text.

Erik offers a list of sites and books at the end of each chapter to help those who don't particularly specialise in that area. This is a nice touch to help those who need to swot up before tackling the subject matter.

This book looks like an extensive and thorough guide which is clearly written and I'd be tempted to award 5 stars. But as most of it is Greek to me I can't really say if there are any omissions or faults so am being prudent and awarding 4.

.
.
.
.
[My Ref: Android programming book seriously 'Pushing The Limits' April 14]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful aid for experienced Android programmers, but not for the faint hearted or beginners, 25 Mar. 2014
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Amazon blurb is accurate. This book is aimed at competent programmers who already know their way around designing Android apps, and need to catch up on the latest wrinkles. It is definitely not for beginners.

It offers an insight into a variety of useful techniques which have only recently become available, and among those that caught my eye were several for shortening testing and development times - always a problem with new and complex software rapidly approaching its delivery deadline.

If you are a beginner hoping to learn about Android, then look elsewhere, because this book this is already at the 'A' level stage. The author himself admits that the book will be soon out of date because of the rapid progress being made in this environment, even so I think it does provide a reasonable overview into how best to streamline modern Android programming.

The only real weakness is the way the screen-shots are presented; I think they should have been much clearer. But then the majority are only examples, and there are lots of links to find the most useful bits in a more accessible format.

There is a lot in here, but fortunately the table of contents and index are both excellent and the general layout is clear, helpful and intuitive with very readable text. It is ideal for someone seeking deeper knowledge to dive in and find a specific topic and the relevant support material. On the other hand I don't think anybody will be able to simply sit down and just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for serious Android Programmers, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
CMB (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is not for beginners. That's what "pushing the limits" means.

The screenshots and recommendations are for Android Studio - an excellent choice, though still in "early access preview" at the time of writing this review. Glad to see the migration away from clunky Eclipse and to the excellent JetBrains IDE (of which Android Studio is a free version). Makes life a lot easier.

Straight away, the author gets you into Monkey testing (stress testing), Automated tests and Gradle for builds - clearly not beginner material. The benefit of a book, and perhaps the only reason for buying it vs online material, is that the tools and principles have been brought together by an expert in the field so you don't have to research the options yourself and reduces risk. It's a good strategy for the time-deprived. The examples are concise and pertinent, and very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced Android Development - Not from beginners, 9 April 2014
By 
D. Clarke "Dragonthoughts" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book starts with the assumption that the reader is already competent at developing Android applications.

There is reasonably detailed coverage of a variety of edge case and relatively uncommon Android APIs, as well as consideration of application performance. optimisation and efficient use of memory (something which I was taught about as a student over 30 years ago, but seems to have vanished from modern software engineering syllabuses)

The downside of a physical book like this is that it will become outdated quickly, unlike the plentiful, if less clear web based documentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not overly advanced., 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a good book but advanced I am not so sure of.

Granted it is full of useful tips, but the actual technical content should be understandable by somebody even with limited (a few months) Android development experience, the level being about on par with the API documentation (but this is better written).

As for the enum hints, welcome but even now the Kernel team prefer Ints... simply far more gc efficient (not to say endemic throughout AOSP).

Definitely one of the good books out there and very readable.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Advanced Book, 15 April 2014
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've dabbled in Android for projects at work, and found Internet documentation somewhat tiresome - in short, it's nice to have a book nearby that'll go in depth into a subject I'm interested in, but also at a advanced level.

This book is perfect for that. It launched straight into configuring the environment and optimising your code, before moving onto a very detailed look at application navigation and interface design. I was pleasantly surprised colour blindness mentioned here (As I'm red/green colour blind and often have trouble with HMI that uses these colours.)

As I was creating a Service, I found the sections on this to be useful, along with the detailed look at IPC mechanisms, which has some very useful examples of using the Binder (And explains clearly some of the subtleties.).

In order to use this book you'll need a fairly good knowledge of Android and Java - it's not for beginners, and does launch straight into java code quite quickly. (Or C in the case of the chapter of how to write Android apps natively.)

If you're already working on applications and need to optimise and improve (Later chapters deal with OpenGL/ES) then this is a very good book. It's not a book for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent In Depth Guide, 27 Mar. 2014
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well-written, comprehensive guide to Android development. However, it is not for the novice. It assumes and even requires a decent grounding in the basics.

Very highly recommended for experienced Android developments, not recommended for beginners (even beginners with good experience in other environments).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly useful manual to take you to the next level, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. D. N. Sumption (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an incredibly useful, thorough book covering a great many topics which other Android manuals don't cover. Clearly written, with a lot of advanced but easy to apply information, it has improved my Android dev skills enormously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, BUT not for beginners, 11 Mar. 2014
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is definitely not for beginners, as it builds on coding and programming to help push your app to the next level. Only have basic knowledge, I have found this book hard going, which is reflection more on me than the book. Am making steady (but slow) progress!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Android Programming: Pushing the Limits
£17.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews