Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this in 3 sittings
I lost two entire evenings and most of my Saturday to this book. It's just what I look for and don't often find - believable characters; funny at times; complicated plot, but not so much that it gets crazy out of control; and I think I'm in love with Detective Inspector Swan. Now I wish I hadn't read it so fast.
Published 17 months ago by harrythecat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected
I was a little disappointed with this book as I purchased it following reviews on Amazon. I didn't feel it dealt with the trauma of unwanted pregnancy that women in Ireland must have felt. The nun's behaviour toward her sister did not convince me either.
Published 15 months ago by Laurel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
This isn't something I would normally buy, but it was a cheap buy and a friend said it was good.
I was gripped when I started reading,
Definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
Bit drawn out good story line bit obvious who the culprit was .well written .and draws one's,attention to the sad state in Ireland 're unmarried mums .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great holiday read!, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyable read. Read it over Christmas and it was the perfect holiday read. This is not to say it is 'light'. There is plenty to think about and the characterisation was particularly good given it is not a wordy book.It also captures small town Ireland very well.Probably most complimentary to the author was the fact I kept wondering how the characters got on after the book ended. It would make a great film or television drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
G. Worswick (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps a little far fetched in places but enjoyable. Some nice descriptions and reasonable characterisation. Not a literary feat but a 'sit down and curl up by the fire' good read over 2 sittings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an interesting read, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
The story of two dead babies unfolds against the backdrop of religious doctrine and loose morals! It kept me guessing to the end and the story is brought to a "neat and tidy dy end", however, still many questions go unanswered......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 14 Dec. 2013
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Paperback)
A great read. Well written and a real page turner, I couldn't put it down. Keeps you guessing right till the end with really believable characters. Loved it, look forward to the next book from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
this really gets to the heart of 1980's Ireland and has a lovely contrast between rural and urban philosophies. Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow and depressing, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
I found this book slow,boring and depressing with a disappointing end. I would not recommend it to anyone else. No
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Betwixt and between, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Ms. H. Fawcett (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
This seemed very promising and started well. Much of the the writing is good, but it didn't quite fulfill its promise. I wasn't convinced by some of the characters and the plot became somewhat predictable. It fell somewhere between a crime story and an Edna Obrien like tale of Irish repression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't really excite me, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Rosary Garden (Kindle Edition)
I found it a bit slow and didn't really relate to the characters. It was ok, but not the best I've read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Rosary Garden
In The Rosary Garden by Nicola White
£6.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews