Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Engaging and Beautifully Written Collection of Stories
Tove Jansson was born in Helsinki in 1914 into an artistic, rather bohemian family: her father, Viktor Jansson, was a Finnish sculptor and her Swedish mother, Signe Hammarsten-Jansson, was an illustrator and graphic designer - therefore art and artistic endeavours feature strongly in 'Sculptor's Daughter', a magical series of short stories inspired the author's early...
Published 8 months ago by Susie B

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor
I bought this for myself for christmas, and I avoided reading it at all until we went away for New Year, I was very disappointed to find that I had read a few of the tales before, and I must admit I haven't picked it up since. If you have other books by Tove, then make sure you haven't read half of this book already.
Published 5 months ago by Angharad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Engaging and Beautifully Written Collection of Stories, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sculptor's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Tove Jansson was born in Helsinki in 1914 into an artistic, rather bohemian family: her father, Viktor Jansson, was a Finnish sculptor and her Swedish mother, Signe Hammarsten-Jansson, was an illustrator and graphic designer - therefore art and artistic endeavours feature strongly in 'Sculptor's Daughter', a magical series of short stories inspired the author's early childhood. Although, in her introduction, Ali Smith comments that Jansson would never herself have called this book a memoir, and it is acknowledged that the author may have stretched the truth in some places and embellished it in others, it is certainly the most autobiographical of Tove Jansson's books and contains a lovely selection of family photographs. Interestingly these stories are told, not from an adult's retrospective perspective, but through the eyes of a child, and a wonderfully imaginative, unusual and intriguing child at that who, with an engaging mix of fantasy and reality is able to make even the most ordinary events seem enchanting. Beautifully written in a cool and simple prose style, yet rich with imagination, this book is one to read, to share and to then keep on the bookshelf to experience and enjoy again.

4 Stars.

Please note: some of these stories have appeared in:A Winter Book: Selected Stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for myself for christmas, and I avoided reading it at all until we went away for New Year, I was very disappointed to find that I had read a few of the tales before, and I must admit I haven't picked it up since. If you have other books by Tove, then make sure you haven't read half of this book already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately before purchasing this book I did not notice the warning in Susie B's review that a number of the stories had already appeared in A Winter Book which I also have a copy of so the duplication was annoying. I was thankful that Amazon had heavily discounted this title so I only paid a paperback price for this hardback and had not wasted too much money. The other irritation about this book is the poor standard of design or proof reading concerning the page which lists all the photographs that appear in the book. Of the 20 photos listed with page references not a single one is correct. Very sloppy Sort Of Books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
most lovely, dream-like, magical book about childhood
read it twice - some favourite stories meat be more often
makes one feel warm inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tove Jansson, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Finnish writer portrays her artistic life in Scandinavia quite beautifully. I ave enjoyed all her books that have been translated into English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars adult's incisive language with child's wonder and perspecacity, 18 Jan 2014
Difficult to impart the essence in a review as you have to read them (have a look inside). Beautifully written. No wonder she is so popular in Scandinavia. The tales from the childhood of a girl who often had to make her own entertainment are beautifully crafted (as you might expect from the sculptor's daughter) so get it if you like idiosyncrasy mixed with good story telling - and be transported!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read. it is a treasure of a book., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautifully written book. Enchanting, fascinating and very visual. The writer has a great understanding of art and this comes across throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Jan 2014
By 
This is a bit disappointing - I have the Winter Book and there are only 6 stories in this volume which weren't in the Winter Book.. And I was also surprised at the page numbers for the photos being wrong - strange also that the same picture appears twice... makes it all feel rather clumsily put together. I am hoping that it hangs together better than the Winter Book though, which did feel like a bit of a hodge-podge cash-in on the Summer Book, whereas this - I hope - has a conceptual framework, I'll read it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrosing, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because I wand to see how other writers set out to write their biography. This is very sympathetically written, as it would be written from an adults perspective, but her memories are as vidid now as when she experienced them. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a charming book, very easy to read, perfect reading for in front of a fire. The photographs help to give the book context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sculptor's Daughter
Sculptor's Daughter by Tove Jansson
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews