Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cola Cowboys
An excellent book describing the hazards and problems encountered by our long-distance driver who drive from the UK - Saudia Arabia and other often iaccessible parts of the Middle East. The author has gone to great trouble in writing this book that depicts the life of the drivers with no stint on either description or encounters. It is also describes accurately some of...
Published on 15 July 2010 by Mr. J. G. A. Dainty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Load of nonsense
How it is permitted to publish such a load of lies is beyind my comprehension. This book is a mixture of fantasy and downright lies hung together as an account of a trip to Doha with a truck in 1982. I was a driver in the Middle East run from 1972 till 1984 and you can take it from me that this is absolute rubbish that dishonours the men who actually did the job. Don't...
Published 15 months ago by David Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cola Cowboys, 15 July 2010
By 
Mr. J. G. A. Dainty (Clevedon, Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Paperback)
An excellent book describing the hazards and problems encountered by our long-distance driver who drive from the UK - Saudia Arabia and other often iaccessible parts of the Middle East. The author has gone to great trouble in writing this book that depicts the life of the drivers with no stint on either description or encounters. It is also describes accurately some of the bureaucracy and the officialdom that the drivers encounter during their travels. It was certainly a book that I couldn't stop reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the old boys, 22 Mar 2008
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Hardcover)
read this book a few years ago, and know some of the people in it. great read. Made me want to do the trip. And i did, with the help of one of the people in the book, though many years afterwards.just wish I was old enough to do it when they did.It's the best of the few books about this journey out there. read it, live it and laugh out loud about it. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best read, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Hardcover)
i had heard of this book from a friend of mine, but i had been told that it was no longer available. i looked up amazon and hey presto there it was so i ordered it. the price was very reasonable and it arrived in the post about three days later. the story of hardship and sheer guts is a real eye opener,not to mention the ammount of bribery and corruption by the customs and border guards. a brilliant read and i found it hard to put the book down and finished reading it in three days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cola Cowboys, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Paperback)
Bought as gift for someone who first read this book in the 1980s. He read it again in one sitting. Will interest those who are interested in challenging road travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle East Travelogue, 9 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Paperback)
This is the classic travelogue of a trip from the UK overland to the Middle East by truck, in the 1980s.

If you want to know what a trip like this was like back then, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 21 Mar 2011
By 
J. Sutherland "jsutherland" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Paperback)
The trip to the middle east described in this book is one that will not be repeated. In the years since it was written the roads, borders and cultures have changed. This was the era of real pioneers. Well worth reading. The description of the journey all the way to Kuwait and Saudi Arabia was truly amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Load of nonsense, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Paperback)
How it is permitted to publish such a load of lies is beyind my comprehension. This book is a mixture of fantasy and downright lies hung together as an account of a trip to Doha with a truck in 1982. I was a driver in the Middle East run from 1972 till 1984 and you can take it from me that this is absolute rubbish that dishonours the men who actually did the job. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Paperback)
Book arrivived very quickly and as described, it's a great read and a must for anyone with an interest in travelling or trucks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of the better trucking books around, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Paperback)
he tells it like it is,very good read this is the way it was,no dreaming here. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cola Cowboys (Kindle Edition)
A fine account of the hassles encountered by the guys who truly pioneered the way east,and further if they could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cola Cowboys
Cola Cowboys by Franklyn Wood
5.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews