Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars None
Although I needed all my concentration during the first few chapters to work out just how many characters were in fact the same person I found this another'can't wait til the next chapter'read.
As with Marc Horn's first novel,The Mortal Religion,a very well written,thought provoking book that keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more.
A bit too graphic...
Published 14 months ago by Frances LIng

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and extreme
This was well written with an interesting story, but it was extremely violent, disturbing and uses very bad language. Very graphic and too dark for me.
Published 11 months ago by Stacey D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars None, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Although I needed all my concentration during the first few chapters to work out just how many characters were in fact the same person I found this another'can't wait til the next chapter'read.
As with Marc Horn's first novel,The Mortal Religion,a very well written,thought provoking book that keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more.
A bit too graphic in places but makes you see just how complex and different we humans are,especially in our minds!
Well done Mr Horn,you didn't disappoint and looking forward to your next masterpiece!
(This would also make a great 'hide behind the sofa' film)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Persona - kindle book, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Again an excellent book which I enjoyed reading very much and found it hard to put down to do other things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent storyline keeps you interested all the way, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. The storyline keeps you guessing and interested all the way, especially towards the end!

If you like interesting thrillers then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It gave me Goosebumps, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic book! Once again Marc Horn keeps you entertained and guessing throughout the story. This book was so thrilling and exciting I even read it twice. He really makes you understand each character and just like all his other novels he makes you think about your own life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and extreme, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
This was well written with an interesting story, but it was extremely violent, disturbing and uses very bad language. Very graphic and too dark for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read., 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put this down, absolutely brilliant. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. I have downloaded another of Marc horns books let's hope it's as good as this was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't want to be intrigued but was!!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Zen has been born.

Zen is like a machine.. he has the body of the strongest athlete, he is intelligent, he is controlling, he is focussed. Zen does what he wants.
Something happened when they were just kids and now Zen is terrorising Jenny.
He doesn't want her dead that would be too easy on her, but the lives of anyone close to Jenny are in danger. Every life he takes will be because of Jen. She will have to live with their deaths on her conscious.
He won't stop until like him Jen is psychologically dead!

The events leading up to how Zen came to be is the basis of this book.
I'm struggling with how to describe it though.
It is dark, and there were parts that although graphic, were the parts that kept me intrigued. ( I think I like the shock factor! )

Marc Horn really has the knack of telling it like it is ( a real blokes narrative) but I am quite worried for him, for he has a very disturbed imagination. ( Scary man!!! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
This book took a lot of getting into. I would have given it five stars if it was more engaging from the start. I nearly gave up and only continued due to the positive reviews. A man is betrayed by a woman he loves and his psyche shatters into several personas. The book was disjointed to begin with and would have been impossible to follow without knowing this. I feel it could have been done better in this respect as I think books should be able to be read without a synopsis and this certainly couldn't. having said all that, this book was a really interesting read. Really gritty with dark humour and some quite hilarious images of distasteful sex. More a man's book or for women who enjoy a male perspective for a refreshing change. The middle of the book was a real page turner. Let down by a disjointed beginning and slightly unsatisfying ending. I give this four stars for its originally and lasting impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and definitely worth a read. Great twists and brilliantly written. Can't wait to read more by this author !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Edgy psychological thriller, 26 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Persona: A Very Disturbing Psychological Thriller (Kindle Edition)
"Persona" by Marc Horn is an indeed sometimes disturbing psychological thriller, edgy but certainly worthwhile reading. Stalking, revenge, threats, sadism, sexual experiments and multiple personalities are just some of the themes running through this bookas it pushed the boundaries and keeps you guessing the connections between the narratives. It is dark, twisted and not always comfortable but it is well written, cleverly plotted and quite unlike anything I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews