Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fell in Love with the Bradens (but not the cellphones)
Max Armstrong is probably my favorite character from Melissa Foster's LOVE IN BLOOM series of romance novels. She's a type-A organizing maniac whose frenetic self-sufficiency masks a true vulnerability. In LOVE AT HEART, Max comes face to face with her biggest nightmare--a man who makes her want to curl up in his arms and be taken care of.

Max met Treat Braden...
Published 9 months ago by clahain

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a gripping story
this book was readable more like a mills and boon it wouldn't have upset me to have been interrupted and took me quite a few nights to finish the book
Published 5 months ago by barbara clark


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fell in Love with the Bradens (but not the cellphones), 21 Oct 2013
By 
clahain (Las Vegas, Nevada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
Max Armstrong is probably my favorite character from Melissa Foster's LOVE IN BLOOM series of romance novels. She's a type-A organizing maniac whose frenetic self-sufficiency masks a true vulnerability. In LOVE AT HEART, Max comes face to face with her biggest nightmare--a man who makes her want to curl up in his arms and be taken care of.

Max met Treat Braden in SISTERS IN WHITE when she organized her boss' double wedding. Treat, a cousin to the other groom, owns the resort where the event took place. The instant attraction between Max and Treat short circuited due to a misunderstanding, and both of them have spent the past six months trying to forget the other. But Treat's family is from Colorado, not far from where Max lives and works, so the inevitable happens.

On one hand, I enjoyed the tension created as Max and Treat bounce between searching each other out and running away. Both characters have a rich back story, which makes their actions believable most of the time. The POV alternates between Treat and Max. Overall this works fine. Treat is a big (BIG) alpha-male. I love that Foster peels away layers of responsibility and grief suffocating him and gets to the human being inside. At times, though, he's gets a little too Mr. Sensitive. The words that come out of his mouth don't quite convince, rather it's the author speaking her vision of a sensitive man. Max, too, loses her edge at times, but then we learn about the truly horrific event underlying her fear and her over-the-top emotional swings snap right into place.

I did question the number of missed or ignored cell phone calls. I noticed this back in SISTERS IN BLOOM, and it irritated me then as well. It's not just the actual ignoring/missing of the calls. But all the agonizing (remember, we've got TWO points of view) over whether or not the calls should be/are being ignored or missed. Not that I would outlaw cellphones from romance novels. Near the end of the book, Max loses track of her cellphone and it creates an amazing amount of tension for the reader. Picture this: two in the morning and I'm sitting on the sofa yelling at my Kindle... "Where's her F----N phone!" The dogs start barking. It's bedlam. THAT is how an author makes use of modern technology!

Taken as a whole, LOVERS AT HEART is a great read. It's full of well-drawn characters, and Foster does an amazing job with the scenes at Cape Cod and the Braden ranch. I finished the book in love with the Braden brothers. There are five of them, by the way. Plus a sister. Each one is getting a book. That's going to make for plenty of late-night Kindle binges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a gripping story, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
this book was readable more like a mills and boon it wouldn't have upset me to have been interrupted and took me quite a few nights to finish the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovers at heart, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
Good story line enjoyable read I enjoyed the plot loved the character's looking forward to reading more of the bradens stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like what I like, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
Really good holiday read and I enjoyed it, look forward to the others why so long between books paffffff! lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
Good book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
smashing really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
Lovely story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok...., 26 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
I found it quite hard to get into and was about half way through before the story line grabbed me... not sure I'll read the series..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lovers at Heart, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovers at Heart (Love in Bloom: The Bradens, Book One) Contemporary Romance (Kindle Edition)
Got a bit bored with this one it was just not my cup of tea wouldn't rush to read another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews