Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Magnum Sounds
Right from the start this Album oozes classic Magnum with some some great keyboards from Mark Introducing the first track "live Till You Die". Then it just gets better and better as you listen to it with the great vocals from Bob and guitar riffs from Tony. With great solid rock tracks like "Too Many Clowns" and the moving Ballad's like "Don't Fall...
Published 13 months ago by Back Street Kid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good music - appalling sales mechanism from Amazon.
Music - This is Magnum and there are certainly echoes of past glories but I have so far yet to discover either the deep mystery of the "On a Storyteller's Night" eara or the memorable molodies of albums such as "Brand New Morning". Don't misunderstand me - it's a good album and I expect it will grow on me over time (as a long time Magnum fan!) but it lacks...
Published 6 months ago by R P Rochford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum firing on all chambers., 20 May 2014
By 
John Crooks (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
I fine the album that is a stepping stone back to classic era albums sounds of days gone past, with crisp mixing and evenly clear sounds. Touching Eleven Hour, Chase the Dragon, Vigilante, Wings of Heaven in quality of the music, vocals, and lyric writing. I find the band progressing upward again to there status as great musicians and the band pulled tightly together with glue again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An all time classic, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
Yet another great classic Magnum, even better in concert . Do yourself a favour a get to see this band live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album and return to top form, 14 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
I thought 'On the 13th Day' was a great album and wasn't sure if they could improve on it. Admittedly since they reformed each album has been a little better than the once before, but time would tell. It sounded good at the album launch at the Robin 2 at Bilston and has just got better with each hearing. Stand out tracks for me are;Falling For The Big Plan, Unwritten Sacrifice and Too Many Clowns but the other songs are close behind. I can't believe how Tony Clarkin can keep coming up with such good lyrics, great riffs and wonderful melodies. If you like Magnum, I strongly suggest you get this. Play it three times and you'll be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum back on track, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to attend a 'playback' of this album with the band in the recording studio with some other fans before it was released and I have to say it was great to hear track after track of excellent Tony Clarkin songs.

I've been a fan since Storyteller and seen them more times than I can remember but Bob is really back on form here and I don't think there's a weak track on the album.

So if you're a long standing fan this is a album worthy of the Magnum name and if you're a new fan this is a great album to give you a taste of where Magnum are at and hopefully confidence to dip into their back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars no escape from excellence, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
another strong and consistent offering from the boys from brum,displaying all their greatest qualities ethereal melodies,lyrical excellence and fine musicianship.tony clarkin's guitar playing has never been better and bob catley's voice matures like a fine wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum At their best, 7 May 2014
By 
J. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
I have been listening to Magnum for 28 years, at first was not sure about the album, but now i listen to songs everyday.
the real gems on the album are: Falling for the big plan, the art of compromise and the valley of tears, there is a some lovely subtle piano work and Bob Catley voice is in good form. Great song writing from Tony Clarkin.
The production on the album is excellent, in the past this as let the albums down.
This is a must have album, go see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top Tunes, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
Yet another fine album by britains most reliable band.My personal highlights from the album-Live till you die-Unwritten sacrifice-Too many clowns- The art of compromise-Dont fall asleep-Wisdoms had its day and The valley of tears.Overall a very good album.It falls somewhat short of the last album-On the 13th day which is fantastic and in my top two Magnum albums along with Storytellers night,but there are still plenty good songs on here to keep me happy.Worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tony Ckarkin at his best., 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
Brilliant! .......... Unmistakeable Tony Clarkin at his best! A definate grower, needed several hearings to get into but you will soon recognise this sits up there with the best. No track skipping here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic Magnum album, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) (Audio CD)
Magnum consistently produce good albums. This time they have excelled themselves. This will go down to be one of their classics alongside Storytellers Night and Wings of Heaven. All the tracks are strong~standouts are Falling for the big plan and Unwritten sacrifice, but it is all down to individual choice. When most bands in their late 50's / early 60's are touring greatest hits packages it's refreshing to see a band writing and producing new material and it's all credit to the record company for having the faith in the band to release new material. The album is well produced with the keyboards allowed to blend in with the guitars and not swamp them, Catley's vocals being so well suited to the songs, and songwriter Clarkin again delivering the goods. Arenas selling bands like Bon jovi can only dream of putting out an album of this class, and it's a shame Magnum don't get the recognition they deserve. However their legions of faithful fans will buy this album and support any tours they do. Long live magnum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can say, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what I am sure will become a classic Magnum album. The usual distinctive Magnum sound is there, to new tunes and words. The more I listen to this new CD the more I enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd)
Escape From The Shadow Garden (Cd+Dvd) by Magnum (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews