Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally get to play this after a 9/10 year wait!!!
Ive literally been waiting years for the chance to play this game again, since selling my ps2 to afford my ps3..... and WOW it was worth the wait!

The HD in this game looks absolutely amazing, even after all these years I can see the difference, when Wakka hands Tidus his brothers sword the effects on the sword are amazing.

Admittedly Ive only just...
Published 4 months ago by Marc

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Delayed/Skipped speech drives me crazy!
The HD remaster does have better quality images however this doesn't mean anything if characters disappear from the cutscenes...
Speech is often skipped or missed out completely (so far, in Kilika at the moment).

The game is amazing, as it was the first time around, but the blips do ruin it for me.

Great delivery speed, etc..
Published 4 months ago by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally get to play this after a 9/10 year wait!!!, 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
Ive literally been waiting years for the chance to play this game again, since selling my ps2 to afford my ps3..... and WOW it was worth the wait!

The HD in this game looks absolutely amazing, even after all these years I can see the difference, when Wakka hands Tidus his brothers sword the effects on the sword are amazing.

Admittedly Ive only just reached Kilika after the sin attack but im massively enjoying the game so far, you have no idea the relief when I heard Besaids music after battling my way through Zanarkand and the ruins, this for me is the most tedious part of the game due to the amount of cut scenes and tutorials, once you leave Besaid though the adventure truly begins! Meeting the likes of Kimahri, Lulu, Rikku and numerous other characters! For me Lulu was my favourite character as she was insanely powerful from the beginning.

Lets not lie, the game is very linear for the first 15-20 hours but it does open up massively with loads of additional side quests. However, the story driven throughout the game is very compelling. Tidus, son of Jecht is thrust into a world unknown to him by an entity only known as Sin, he quickly realises that this is no dream and makes allies with Yuna, a Summoner who has been selected to travel the lands to defeat Sin, they are accompanied by her 'guardians' who each have their own ability and perks. Tidus/Wakka are warriors, Yuna is a summoner/white mage, Lulu is a Black mage, Rikku is a Thief, Auron is a Guard/Warrior and Kimahri is a Blue mage.

The Character development in this game is amazing, you see Tidus turn from a stroppy loud boy in a strong wise man, along the course of the game as well you notice that he changes his stance in battle when he matures. We learn alot about Kimahri who doesnt speak at all!

AND YOU CAN EARN TROPHIES ON THIS GAME NOW!!!

Im still loving every minute of this game, I cant believe its 14 years old!!! WOW.

Totally recommend this remake for anyone who wants to experience this game again or anyone wanting to try it for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Squaresoft Ruled the World, 17 April 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
Final Fantasy X was the last game to be developed by Squaresoft before they got swallowed up by Enix (forming Square Enix (or if you prefer; Squeenix)), and as such has earned the title of `The Last Great RPG' by some.

The comforting thing when you first start to play this re-mastered edition is that you immediately remember why. The mechanics feel like home straight away - although Tidus is far `clunkier' than the original, and the now-almost-defunct ATB battle system instantly clicks. Without sounding daft, it `feels' like a game; rather than the fetch-template-insert-Hollywood-style-scenario mechanic that governs a lot of today's offerings.

Final Fantasy X-2: the game's direct sequel (and the first Final Fantasy sequel ever), is also a great game, but it marked the transition to the new company and as such was not as well received as its predecessor.

This time around we're given the option of selecting either of the games from the main menu and separately, the option to select both titles' additional content (previously unavailable outside Japan). They are Final Fantasy X: Eternal Calm and Final Fantasy X-2: Last Mission. Presumably these are epilogue add-ons for each game, but I haven't played them yet.

Everything is there out of the box then, and in terms of the content and presentation etc, this re-master has succeeded. The in-game graphics as you'd expect have been updated significantly, and are befitting of the current generation - although not to a fully uniformed standard - some models are far better than others. In fact on first glance I thought that some of the backgrounds and peripheral details had in fact remained untouched; but after loading up my PS2 original I realised that everything has received a significant overhaul. The re-master is incredibly bright though and some of the colours look like neon signs; whereas the original is far muddier and palatable (I actually prefer this older look, but that's just me). I also can't help but think that FFX-2 looks noticeably better than FFX; but my mind may be playing tricks. Either way the graphics do look much better and crisper as a whole. It's just a matter of taste as to what `sheen' you prefer.

Some of the musical scores have also been re-recorded. Some are better; some are not, to be honest, but it's only a minor note. `To Zanarkand' in particular sounds almost piercing in its clarity and is almost jarring compared to the solemn original. But that's nitpicking to an extreme level.

Unfortunately there is also very noticeable flaw, which are the glaring sound synching problems. Several of the in-game-engine cutscenes and even some of the FMV cut-scenes in FFX are hideously out of sync - to the point where some sequences actually finish before the audio gets blurted out in a compressed muddle. It's not game breaking, but it definitely detracts from the experience. Although from what I've seen so far the problem seems to be completely random, and affects FFX more than FFX-2.

That aside though both games appear to be exactly as you remember them, and are of course a joy to play without exception. The gameplay feels spot on and my minor point's aside, these are still classic games that sit proudly in the upper echelons of the genre. Whether FFX is the last great RPG or not, this is a great collection for anybody that remembers the traditional RPG; or indeed anyone who wants to find out what they used to be like.

It's fitting then, that the PS3's generation should come to a close with the game that bridges the gap between the two generations that precede it.

8.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is as good as you remember, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
I love it, it's great, it took 5 minutes for me to be cracking a smile at Tidus, The characters are just spot on. Once again it's one of the few games where you actually care about what happens to these people.

Oh and my 8 year old loves it (we were late for school this morning because we needed to get to the end of that bloody long road!

FF10-2 I know less well as I never got into it first time round so this is more a review for FF10.

Anyway, great game, great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars as expected, 25 April 2014
By 
Christopher A. Kisby (Lincs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
The HD remaster was exactly what I expected and wanted it to be, more of the same. Squeenix haven't messed about with it, they've merely tarted it up. A game that many of us remember fondly has been brought back to the fore with a lick of paint. I'm almost through

FFX right now and thus far my only gripe is

Why o why haven't you taken out the Tidus/Yuna laughing scene
It was cringe worthy when I was fourteen now at twenty six it's just plain sad

That said
A wonderful game, FFX is like that old Mini Cooper you have had for years that will start up first time no matter how badly you treat it,
except now it has go faster stripes!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back great memories., 25 July 2014
By 
Alex G. Wong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
I had final fantasy X on my PS2 back in the day and i loved it then. Now in the HD remaster, it looks more beautiful than ever. The cut scenes look stunning and the actual gameplay graphics is miles better than the original. Gameplay wise however has not really changed (not that i can see).

I am yet to play X-2 but I bought this just for FFX. FFX-2 seems like just a little bonus extra in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece remastered - and slightly tweaked, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. S. McNeill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
One of the best games in the series. The gameplay is as good as ever but the graphics haven't really improved much as the PS2 version looked great for it's time and still does. The music has also been rearranged and fans of the PS2 version may find the HD version doesn't sound as good as before, or they may enjoy the new arrangement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
Very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
great game but should of brought this out before Final Fantasy 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It looks fantastic, and plays pretty well, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
My girl friend is a massive fan of the series and live these games in particular. Personally, I got a bit fed up of the length and sheer amount of in play videos that you have to sit through. It looks fantastic, and plays pretty well, although the lock camera is a bit frustrating at times. Well worth playing though. A decent 4 star game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) (Video Game)
Great product in good packaging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3)
Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3) by Square Enix (PlayStation 3)
28.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews