Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �You ungodly warlock�
This is one only for the serious Horror fan not your average 'Scream' fan, but of course if one is a serious Horror fan then you already owns this. Yes? .... No? Why the hell not! Are you crazy, this is the crowning glory of Italian zombie/gore/horror cinema?
Lucio Fulci began his career in film at the Experimental Film Studios where he was accepted by Luchino...
Published on 13 Mar 2005 by Nobody

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Flesh Eaters'
I'm starting to not trust high-brow horror film reviews. Having seen Zombie Flesh Eaters (aka Zombi 2) years ago and enjoyed it, The Beyond was recommended as a better Fulci film. Whilst it may be slightly more technically accomplished (it's still pretty ropey, mind), it isn't as nearly as entertaining as ZFE.

I feel a bit guilty reviewing the whole movie as I...
Published on 18 Dec 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �You ungodly warlock�, 13 Mar 2005
By 
Nobody (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
This is one only for the serious Horror fan not your average 'Scream' fan, but of course if one is a serious Horror fan then you already owns this. Yes? .... No? Why the hell not! Are you crazy, this is the crowning glory of Italian zombie/gore/horror cinema?
Lucio Fulci began his career in film at the Experimental Film Studios where he was accepted by Luchino Visconti himself, and spent many years as an assistant director. During this period he made comedies, musicals and westerns, but it was in the late seventies/early eighties when he made the films that would secure his reputation as the King of Gore/Zombie flicks. Between 1979-1981 he made 'Zombie Flesh Eaters' (1979); 'City Of The Living Dead' (1980); 'House By The Cemetery' (1981) and 'The Beyond' (1981). All four are essential viewing for any Fulci fan. Did anyone see these at the cinema?I can't think of anything cooler than being able to say you saw these on the big screen. I'm sure the majority of people saw these for the first time on video and it's in this format that these films gathered their cult following, that is of course before they got banned and label as video nasties. Yeah sure ban them it'll only add to the legend. Fulci was the natural successor to George A. Romero (Night of the Living Dead, 1968) when he took the zombie film further by adding the blood and guts splatter of the 'godfather of gore', Herschell Gordon Lewis (Blood Feast, 1963).
'The Beyond' opens in 1927 where the film has monochromatic brown texture and within a couple minute we get our first taste of things to come followed then by the title sequence with it's foreboding music. Sergio Salvati and Fabio Frizzi who work on all four of the above-mentioned films delivered the cinematography and music respectively. Special make effects were by Giannetto De Rossi and Germano Natali, Rossi would eventually go on to work with Bernardo Bertolucci on 'The Last Emperor' (1987). The dubbing can be a bit distracting but that's just the nature of Italian cinema production techniques and no reason to slate the film. The great thing about 'The Beyond' is it's wonderful gothic atmosphere, slow pacing along with its surrealist plot. The key to any horror film is atmosphere and I can't believe the rubbish that Hollywood dishes up as horror nowadays. How many more times am I going to have to hear Blue Oyster Cults 'Don't Fear the Reaper' playing on a soundtrack or watch the beautiful people running away from hyper energetic wire-fu zombies. Oh please, this is the way zombies should behave.... they hardly move.
It would be silly of me to say that this is great cinema when it's not anywhere near the genius of many, many world cinema giants. What is important though is that it is viewed within the context of gore/zombie cinema, a much-maligned subdivision of horror, not art house or even mainstream cinema. If gore/zombie films are what you like then this is for you, if not then that's ok, but within context this is a five star zombie film. Fulci didn't care what the critics thought of his films but rather what the fans wanted. Check out the other three of this zombie quartet all of which are must haves for serious horror collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prologue now fixed., 20 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought my copy of "The Beyond" from Amazon.co.uk and can now confirm that they are supplying the sepia prologue version.
Originally Arrow made a mistake and used a transfer that had the prologue in black and white and you had to send your disc back for it to be exchanged for the correct version. Thankfully this is no longer the case.
The picture and sound quality of this film is superb on this disc. I have seen this film many times in many different formats and can honestly say this is the best I have seen or heard.
Of course it comes with the usual Arrow package of informative booklet, double sided post, a choice of four covers and a slip case.

The extras on the disc are huge and are spread over 2 discs.

On disc one we get an introduction to the film by Cinzia Monreale, 2 audio commentary tracks, 1 from Antonella Fulci and Calum Waddell, and a second track from David Warbeck and Catriona MacColl. Also included on disc one is Cinzia Monreale remembers 'The Beyond', Catriona MacColl Q&A from Glasgow film theatre and open your eyes easter egg.

On the second disc we get One step Beyond: Catriona MacCall remembers a spaghetti classic
Beyond Italy -Louis Fuller and the Seven Doors of Death
Butcher, Baker, Zombie Maker the legacy of effects wizard Gianetto Di Rossi
Trailers, alternative colour prologue sequence and more.

Highly recommended discs for this cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 9 Dec 2008
I think we all know the story by now of this Fulci classic, but here it's briefly explained anyway: Catherine MacColl inherits a rundown louisiana hotel that was built on one of the seven gateways to hell (explained in the great intro).When a plumber digs through one of the basement walls he unwittingly opens the gateway..
"The Beyond" features great cinematography from Sergio Salvati(a Fulci regular during his best period) and of course stylish, excellent direction. There is a very gothic look and feel and it's also eerie and highly atmospheric. The great music from Fabio Frizzi is creepy and effective and there's plenty of suspense too and i haven't even mentioned the gore yet. The deaths are some of the best you're ever going to see. These grisly set pieces with FX by Giannetto De Rossi are sublime, very bloody and still look excellent today. Sometimes audiences have been divided on the ending of the film, but personally i consider it a brillaint finale and the films a winner from start to finish.
Now just sit back and enjoy this Fulci classic again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye-popping violence!, 24 Nov 2005
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
I've waited since the last ice age to view this uncut gore-fest of a movie and I can safely say it was well worth the wait. I did manage to aquire the edited version some time ago and there's hardly any gore in it at all. Although I don't find this film as enjoyable as "Flesheaters" it's still a must see for all horror fans - it would be a crime not to have this among your collection. It's typical of Fulci (especially the over the top gore) but as with a lot of Italian video nasties of this era, it's not without flaws...plastic spiders eating the obvious false flesh for instance. A painter falls about 30 feet from scaffolding and lands on his head so a lone doctor turns up, looks at his broken body and says he needs to go to hospital???? Also notice how many rounds the same doctor manages to fire off from a mere revolver and as usual the dubbing is pretty dire too, but shoddiness aside and you have a great horror classic which has been long overdue for an unedited release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucio's best movie, 13 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Its the goriest and most disturbing movie i have ever seen.Zombies(especially joe and one that grabs main female character's head in hospital),possessed dog,tarantula scene,musics,atmosphere are so disturbing.End of movie will leave you with thoughts (but you'll figure it out somehow).
Buy it if you are a horror fan and especially if you want to see gore and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now been fixed, a very worthy purchase!, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was concerned for awhile that my order of The Beyond [Blu-ray] [1981][Region Free] still had the black and white prologue. I emailed Arrow just in case it was, they were very good and prompt at replying to my emails and told me to forward the receipt from amazon for a replacement, but implied that it should be ok as the old version with the black and white prologue is now officially discontinued. Chances are, if people own this version, it may fetch quite a bit on ebay in the future!

Turns out it's just fine, the transfer is easily the best available to date, with heaps of extras and a booklet and poster, this is pretty much THE definitive version of Fulci's gore masterpiece that you're likely to get, and especially for the price, only £9, I'm now tempted to buy a few for some friends who are big fans of very gory movies. And trust me, this one is VERY gory indeed, and one of Fulci's best gore masterpieces (his PROPER masterpieces being Don't Torture A Duckling - Fan Edition [DVD] and Lizard in a Woman's Skin [DVD], which are amongst the greatest Giallo's ever made and really deserve a Hi-Def treatment by Blue Underground or Arrow).

If you've been put off in the past about buying this, don't worry, it's now corrected, and if you're happy enough with it (which you should be, with the huge wealth of extras on a seperate disc), give it a good rating to bump it up so others now feel confident to buy what is easily the best version around of this timeless gore classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fulci classic., 14 Aug 2009
Fantastic atmosphere, stunning cinematography and set design, bizarre plot (but one that works), excellent music and some choice gore and set pieces. It's classic era Fulci!

Sure, some FX look dodgy (those spiders!) but overall this has some of the best Euro splatter ever seen.
From the nasty as hell chain whipping (that whole opening just drips classy atmospheric horror) to the truly outstanding, whoop for joy, head explosion...this sucker delivers.
Delightfully messy zombies and some superb visuals (the blind girl on the bridge, the dead taking over the hotel as the lights in each room come on) cap off this tasty slice of Fulci.

This R1 tin release is superb too, with great menus, great extras and a fine transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if anyone wants to get started on Lucio Fulci's movies, I su, 18 Nov 2002
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
The Beyond
Beneath a run-down New Orleans hotel lies a dark, evil secret. The entrance to the underworld is waiting to be opened, and when the new residents of the hotel move in...the evil is awakened. Demonic forces of all shapes and sizes are rising up and violently attacking the living one by one. Can the text of an ancient book save the tenants from a horrible death? Will mankind prevail over the demonic forces, or will it perish in a bleak wasteland conquered by legions of the undead?
I found this movie to be a fun watch. It starts out kind of slow but picks up once the zombies start to arrive. On the cover of the DVD it said "WARNING: The SHOCKING and VIOLENT nature of this film may be too intense for some viewers." Well I didn't find this movie to be as violent as I was expecting from reading that. Instead I found that it was an interesting zombie tale from the 80's that was very stylish. Lucio Fulci loves the doing something to the eyes when someone gets killed. I really liked the part in the beginning of the film when a zombie reaches its hand through a hole and pokes the guys eyes out. Another memorable scene is when a zombie grabs a lady and shoves the back of her head onto a nail which makes her eye poke out. Plus the ending was a big surprise to me. The only reason this gets an 8 star rating is because of how slow the movie moves in the beginning and because I didn't think the music in the film fit the scenes. You get this music that reminds me of the kind of music you would find on the show "Love Boat." It does have a good bit of gore, and if anyone wants to get started on Lucio Fulci's movies, I suggest starting on this masterpiece.
This is a great DVD. The picture and sound quality are great. I would have liked it better though if you could have put the German Color Pre-Credit Sequence into the movie instead of just watching it in the special features. It really adds to the film to see it that way. Seeing it in its widescreen format really is a great way to watch it too, and best of all the DVD is the Uncut version of the film. There are two hidden features on this DVD. One is a very graphic trailer for the Lucio Fulci film called "Cat in the Brain" and the other is for the opening scene from "Seven Doors of Death" which is another title for The Beyond. To access the "Cat in the Brain" trailer, go to Images from The Beyond, highlight the menu button on the screen and then press the left arrow key on your remote control and you will highlight the Eibon symbol. Press Enter and you will get to see the "Cat in the Brain" Trailer. For the other hidden feature go to the Audio Setup area and highlight "Resume." Press the left arrow and you'll highlight the Eibon symbol. Click that and you can view the other title sequence from "Seven Doors of Death." For all the collectors I recommend you getting the Limited Edition version, that is if you can still find it. Though it has nothing more then the regular version Anchor Bay released except it has a few more posters. If you can't find that one then you should get the regular one, they are pretty much the same. I recommend this DVD to any DVD collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Flesh Eaters', 18 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
I'm starting to not trust high-brow horror film reviews. Having seen Zombie Flesh Eaters (aka Zombi 2) years ago and enjoyed it, The Beyond was recommended as a better Fulci film. Whilst it may be slightly more technically accomplished (it's still pretty ropey, mind), it isn't as nearly as entertaining as ZFE.

I feel a bit guilty reviewing the whole movie as I fell asleep half way through, but I think that stands as a good indication of how dull this movie really is. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for atmosphere, suspense and 'slow burn' movies as much as rip-roaring breakneck-paced ones, but this isn't either one of those things! It's just DULL.

I saw no 'zombies' (though admittedly they might have appeared at the end of the film - who knows?), just an old 'possessed by evil spirits' storyline and some crap gore moments. Frustratingly, I think Fulci genuinely has some visionary talent - perhaps if he was better served with a good cinematographer, for example, I don't think there'd be any doubting that. But for me, Zombie Flesh Eaters remains his crowning gory (ahem) and is a movie I would watch again - after all, that's the point isn't it? The Beyond I would not watch again nor recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE LUCIO FULCI 'BIG FOUR'..., 7 Sep 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of Fulci's better movies! Excellent photography, taut direction and some very decent make up FX!
The film is all about atmosphere, rather than the all out action approach of Zombie Flesheaters or Romero's epics. The zombies are part of the plot as opposed to being the plot, and there is an unsettling feel to the film as it delves into the occult/haunted hotel genre at times. The zombies dont seem to bite or eat people and aren't as decayed as in Flesheaters, but rest assured, they shuffle menacingly along, and gore hounds will enjoy the numerous gunshot to the head shots. The score is excellent, as in all Fulci's Zombie films, delving into Omen style chants and gothic tones.
The movies final images are eerie and unforgettable, and when you add a suitably evil warlock/Gates of Hell element to the living dead, you have a winner! Face eating spiders, a face melted by acid, trademark eye violence, an exploding head, a graphic crucifixion cum lynching (with hot wax too!), throats torn out....
Along with Zombie Flesheaters, House By The Cemetery and City Of The Living Dead,a classic for ALL horror fans and not just lovers of the Italian zombi genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beyond Steelbook [Blu-ray]
The Beyond Steelbook [Blu-ray] by Lucio Fulci (Blu-ray - 2013)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews