Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prologue now fixed.
I bought my copy of "The Beyond" from Amazon.co.uk and can now confirm that they are supplying the sepia prologue version.
Originally Arrow made a mistake and used a transfer that had the prologue in black and white and you had to send your disc back for it to be exchanged for the correct version. Thankfully this is no longer the case.
The picture and sound...
Published 21 months ago by M. Crossman

versus
37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Fulci Film Unforgivably Poorly Handled by Arrow
Greetings from accross the pond. I pre-ordered this title as soon as it became available on Amazon.uk. "The Beyond" is my favorite Fulci film for many reasons. The film does lack a coherent plot, but that is part of the charm. You never quite know what to expect aorund the next corner. There is a palpable sense of unease and dread that permeates this film from start...
Published on 18 May 2011 by Know What I Mean? Nudge Nudge


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prologue now fixed., 20 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought my copy of "The Beyond" from Amazon.co.uk and can now confirm that they are supplying the sepia prologue version.
Originally Arrow made a mistake and used a transfer that had the prologue in black and white and you had to send your disc back for it to be exchanged for the correct version. Thankfully this is no longer the case.
The picture and sound quality of this film is superb on this disc. I have seen this film many times in many different formats and can honestly say this is the best I have seen or heard.
Of course it comes with the usual Arrow package of informative booklet, double sided post, a choice of four covers and a slip case.

The extras on the disc are huge and are spread over 2 discs.

On disc one we get an introduction to the film by Cinzia Monreale, 2 audio commentary tracks, 1 from Antonella Fulci and Calum Waddell, and a second track from David Warbeck and Catriona MacColl. Also included on disc one is Cinzia Monreale remembers 'The Beyond', Catriona MacColl Q&A from Glasgow film theatre and open your eyes easter egg.

On the second disc we get One step Beyond: Catriona MacCall remembers a spaghetti classic
Beyond Italy -Louis Fuller and the Seven Doors of Death
Butcher, Baker, Zombie Maker the legacy of effects wizard Gianetto Di Rossi
Trailers, alternative colour prologue sequence and more.

Highly recommended discs for this cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �You ungodly warlock�, 13 Mar 2005
By 
Nobody (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
This is one only for the serious Horror fan not your average 'Scream' fan, but of course if one is a serious Horror fan then you already owns this. Yes? .... No? Why the hell not! Are you crazy, this is the crowning glory of Italian zombie/gore/horror cinema?
Lucio Fulci began his career in film at the Experimental Film Studios where he was accepted by Luchino Visconti himself, and spent many years as an assistant director. During this period he made comedies, musicals and westerns, but it was in the late seventies/early eighties when he made the films that would secure his reputation as the King of Gore/Zombie flicks. Between 1979-1981 he made 'Zombie Flesh Eaters' (1979); 'City Of The Living Dead' (1980); 'House By The Cemetery' (1981) and 'The Beyond' (1981). All four are essential viewing for any Fulci fan. Did anyone see these at the cinema?I can't think of anything cooler than being able to say you saw these on the big screen. I'm sure the majority of people saw these for the first time on video and it's in this format that these films gathered their cult following, that is of course before they got banned and label as video nasties. Yeah sure ban them it'll only add to the legend. Fulci was the natural successor to George A. Romero (Night of the Living Dead, 1968) when he took the zombie film further by adding the blood and guts splatter of the 'godfather of gore', Herschell Gordon Lewis (Blood Feast, 1963).
'The Beyond' opens in 1927 where the film has monochromatic brown texture and within a couple minute we get our first taste of things to come followed then by the title sequence with it's foreboding music. Sergio Salvati and Fabio Frizzi who work on all four of the above-mentioned films delivered the cinematography and music respectively. Special make effects were by Giannetto De Rossi and Germano Natali, Rossi would eventually go on to work with Bernardo Bertolucci on 'The Last Emperor' (1987). The dubbing can be a bit distracting but that's just the nature of Italian cinema production techniques and no reason to slate the film. The great thing about 'The Beyond' is it's wonderful gothic atmosphere, slow pacing along with its surrealist plot. The key to any horror film is atmosphere and I can't believe the rubbish that Hollywood dishes up as horror nowadays. How many more times am I going to have to hear Blue Oyster Cults 'Don't Fear the Reaper' playing on a soundtrack or watch the beautiful people running away from hyper energetic wire-fu zombies. Oh please, this is the way zombies should behave.... they hardly move.
It would be silly of me to say that this is great cinema when it's not anywhere near the genius of many, many world cinema giants. What is important though is that it is viewed within the context of gore/zombie cinema, a much-maligned subdivision of horror, not art house or even mainstream cinema. If gore/zombie films are what you like then this is for you, if not then that's ok, but within context this is a five star zombie film. Fulci didn't care what the critics thought of his films but rather what the fans wanted. Check out the other three of this zombie quartet all of which are must haves for serious horror collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now been fixed, a very worthy purchase!, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was concerned for awhile that my order of The Beyond [Blu-ray] [1981][Region Free] still had the black and white prologue. I emailed Arrow just in case it was, they were very good and prompt at replying to my emails and told me to forward the receipt from amazon for a replacement, but implied that it should be ok as the old version with the black and white prologue is now officially discontinued. Chances are, if people own this version, it may fetch quite a bit on ebay in the future!

Turns out it's just fine, the transfer is easily the best available to date, with heaps of extras and a booklet and poster, this is pretty much THE definitive version of Fulci's gore masterpiece that you're likely to get, and especially for the price, only 9, I'm now tempted to buy a few for some friends who are big fans of very gory movies. And trust me, this one is VERY gory indeed, and one of Fulci's best gore masterpieces (his PROPER masterpieces being Don't Torture A Duckling - Fan Edition [DVD] and Lizard in a Woman's Skin [DVD], which are amongst the greatest Giallo's ever made and really deserve a Hi-Def treatment by Blue Underground or Arrow).

If you've been put off in the past about buying this, don't worry, it's now corrected, and if you're happy enough with it (which you should be, with the huge wealth of extras on a seperate disc), give it a good rating to bump it up so others now feel confident to buy what is easily the best version around of this timeless gore classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucio's best movie, 13 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Its the goriest and most disturbing movie i have ever seen.Zombies(especially joe and one that grabs main female character's head in hospital),possessed dog,tarantula scene,musics,atmosphere are so disturbing.End of movie will leave you with thoughts (but you'll figure it out somehow).
Buy it if you are a horror fan and especially if you want to see gore and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if anyone wants to get started on Lucio Fulci's movies, I su, 18 Nov 2002
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
The Beyond
Beneath a run-down New Orleans hotel lies a dark, evil secret. The entrance to the underworld is waiting to be opened, and when the new residents of the hotel move in...the evil is awakened. Demonic forces of all shapes and sizes are rising up and violently attacking the living one by one. Can the text of an ancient book save the tenants from a horrible death? Will mankind prevail over the demonic forces, or will it perish in a bleak wasteland conquered by legions of the undead?
I found this movie to be a fun watch. It starts out kind of slow but picks up once the zombies start to arrive. On the cover of the DVD it said "WARNING: The SHOCKING and VIOLENT nature of this film may be too intense for some viewers." Well I didn't find this movie to be as violent as I was expecting from reading that. Instead I found that it was an interesting zombie tale from the 80's that was very stylish. Lucio Fulci loves the doing something to the eyes when someone gets killed. I really liked the part in the beginning of the film when a zombie reaches its hand through a hole and pokes the guys eyes out. Another memorable scene is when a zombie grabs a lady and shoves the back of her head onto a nail which makes her eye poke out. Plus the ending was a big surprise to me. The only reason this gets an 8 star rating is because of how slow the movie moves in the beginning and because I didn't think the music in the film fit the scenes. You get this music that reminds me of the kind of music you would find on the show "Love Boat." It does have a good bit of gore, and if anyone wants to get started on Lucio Fulci's movies, I suggest starting on this masterpiece.
This is a great DVD. The picture and sound quality are great. I would have liked it better though if you could have put the German Color Pre-Credit Sequence into the movie instead of just watching it in the special features. It really adds to the film to see it that way. Seeing it in its widescreen format really is a great way to watch it too, and best of all the DVD is the Uncut version of the film. There are two hidden features on this DVD. One is a very graphic trailer for the Lucio Fulci film called "Cat in the Brain" and the other is for the opening scene from "Seven Doors of Death" which is another title for The Beyond. To access the "Cat in the Brain" trailer, go to Images from The Beyond, highlight the menu button on the screen and then press the left arrow key on your remote control and you will highlight the Eibon symbol. Press Enter and you will get to see the "Cat in the Brain" Trailer. For the other hidden feature go to the Audio Setup area and highlight "Resume." Press the left arrow and you'll highlight the Eibon symbol. Click that and you can view the other title sequence from "Seven Doors of Death." For all the collectors I recommend you getting the Limited Edition version, that is if you can still find it. Though it has nothing more then the regular version Anchor Bay released except it has a few more posters. If you can't find that one then you should get the regular one, they are pretty much the same. I recommend this DVD to any DVD collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars favours atmosphere over gore( but doesn't skimp on either!), 6 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beyond [1981] [VHS] (VHS Tape)
At last, the B.B.F.C is seeing the light and this early eighties horror classic is the best of the spate of films which caused the censor problems during the 'video nasties' scare of 1984. It has gotten through uncut which is amazing! This film has a great creepy and disturbing atmosphere plus horrific special effects which made it very memorable. The tarantula scene or the little girl getting shot are tooo cool. David Warbeck and Katherine MacColl are terrific also fairing as well as the similar Ian McCullough and Tisa Farrow teamup in Fulci's other masterpiece-Zombie Flesh Eaters Hopefully more of these classics of gore cinema will be rereleased in their original form.
p.s. I don't have much hope for Cannibal Holocaust getting through unscathed though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fulci flick gets the treatment it deserves, 19 April 2014
By 
Mr. N. M. Hornby "nhornby" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here's my honest review of the 2011 release of The Beyond

Packaging; One of the best packages Arrow has put together to date. Reversible sleeve with great artwork, a meaty 32 page booklet(featuring several pictures of the original cinema lobby cards), and a reversible poster. This is definitely one of my favourite packages 9/10

Video; I can't really talk about video quality without mentioning the issue with the intro. So Arrow originally released this and the intro of the film was wrongly adjusted to black and white from sepia so Arrow then offered a replacement scheme with the fixed intro, and that's it. So looking at the picture quality I thought the transfer was pretty decent with good clarity and detail although I did notice some fuzziness and some white specs but it didn't really bother me. 6.5/10

Audio; Available in English(2.0 & 5.1) and Italian(2.0). Pretty much your bog standard Arrow audio quality, clear with no dropouts but again a little flat. 7/10

Special Features; spread across two discs with loads to chomp through such as various audio commentary's, several interviews with cast, crew and even Dario Argento, Q&A session with star Catriona MacColl and an international trailer for the movie. 9/10

The film; Okay, I'm not a big fan of the film although I do enjoy it when I watch it every year or two. The acting is pretty decent with an interesting plot and as usual with Fulci, the gore does not disappoint. 6/10

If your a fan of Arrow/Fulci or just a general gorehound I recommend this release. Whilst the film is decent the packaging and extra's really make this edition shine plus the disc replacement scheme shows Arrow cares about its customers which is great. Overall I give this release 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucio's Finest., 6 Feb 2014
By 
Peter T. Dalziel (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beyond [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Out of "The Big Four" horror movies that Lucio Fulci directed I would say the choice is tough, "Zombie Flesh Eaters", "City Of The Living Dead" and "House By The Cemetery" are the others in the running and each one a classic in its own right, but for me "The Beyond" is the the most interesting and best made of the selection.
At times I found the plot rather confusing and sometimes not making much sense at all but the style and the atmosphere of this haunted hotel / zombie movie come together to make this Lucio Fulci's finest moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the Anchor Bay limited tin box releases., 17 Aug 2013
By 
S. Kellaway - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The tin box limited editions Anchor Bay are fantastic, The Beyond is no exception.
Very eye pleasing package with great contents and extras.

I have a few of these releases and they look great in the collection up on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Blu-ray transfer,, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review for the Blu-ray, not the film itself.

The transfer is wonderful and one of the better ones I've seen done with Italian prints of this age. I gained so much more appreciation for the production values and it really made me realize how great the cinematography is in Lucio Fulci's films. Despite the content, this is a very high-quality-looking film and this Blu-ray is a wonderful means of viewing it. Even if you end up hating the film, you'll at least appreciate the transfer. Colors are natural-looking, black levels are nice, and everything looks so lush that one could almost believe the film was shot a few years ago, not in 1981.

I've read the disputes about the prologue's color being altered in the first pressings (is that what they call it when they make Blu-rays?) of this film. All I can say to that is that my copy, ordered in December 2012, has the proper sepia-colored prologue.

As for the sound, it was perfect for me, but then I don't have external speakers anyway. One of the problems I often find with Blu-rays of old Italian horror films is that the background music will be extremely loud while the dialogue will be hard to hear. This often leaves one scrambling to adjust the volume throughout the movie, which is a nuisance when watching any film, to say the least. Here, I was glad to be able to leave the volume set at one level and not have to constantly adjust it.

The packaging, as is typical with all Arrow releases, is a treat in itself. There is also a booklet inside the case that I have yet to read and (I think) a poster, though don't quote me on that.

All in all, this is a stunning transfer that breathes new life into the film. I thank Arrow and all those involved for making these lesser-known Italian horror movies available in such pristine condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beyond Steelbook [Blu-ray]
The Beyond Steelbook [Blu-ray] by Lucio Fulci (Blu-ray - 2013)
18.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews