Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man Three out of Five Ain't Bad Alfred?
You really cannot go wrong with this 5 Cd set for the Price of 1 Cd set by| Man.

The 5CD set comes in replica card LPp sleeves which some hate but I really like I because storage is so easy - each to their own I suppose. Amazon (Bless 'em) have not included the actual titles
They are
"Man" (1971),
"Do You Like It Here Now, Are You Settling...
Published 2 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
I saw MAN a few times during the 70s and liked them. However, hereing these albums now is rather an eye-opener. Very self-indulgent stuff. Yawn. But that's the way it was then.
Published 5 days ago by Parker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man Three out of Five Ain't Bad Alfred?, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
You really cannot go wrong with this 5 Cd set for the Price of 1 Cd set by| Man.

The 5CD set comes in replica card LPp sleeves which some hate but I really like I because storage is so easy - each to their own I suppose. Amazon (Bless 'em) have not included the actual titles
They are
"Man" (1971),
"Do You Like It Here Now, Are You Settling In?" (1971),
"Be Good To Yourself At Least Once A Day" (1972),
"Rhinos, Winos & Lunatics" (1974) and
"Slow Motion" (1974).

The track listing is the same as the original LPs so you may need to get out the magnifying glass to read them!
Originally I said "BUT the good news is that "Man","Do You Like It Here Now, Are You Settling In?" , and "Be Good To Yourself At Least Once A Day have all been remastered which may mean that people who already have a couple of the Cds may be tempted to get the improved sound and at this price it's a great buy."

But lo and behold Mr W Pratt has informed me---- wait for round of drums and trumpet fanfare he says after buying the set
"Actually I just purchased this set. If you look at the CDs themselves you'll see they are ALL, the 5 of them, mid 2000 remasters.:-) Amazon got it wrong. "

Brilliant this set is a steal at this price.

However I think the label missed a trick by not including some extra tracks which is what other groups have had done with their 5 original albums sets.

On the other hand if you have then on vinyl and they are worn out or scratched then you really are on to a winner.

Of interest is that the 3rd CD is produced by Wale's Dave Edmunds and the cover of "Slow Motion" (1974) is not the original sleeve it is infact a blow up detail focusing on the fish and not the character holding it.
It was originally a wonderful cover of a Rick Griffin painting depicting Mad's 'Alfred E Neuman holding the fish.
They slipped up, Mad magazine complained and the cover was changed and we lost a really outstanding piece of LP art.
(If I can I will add the original image for you to see. (and admire)
Post script.
I've added the art work has been added to the official cover- take a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man on the cheap, 26 Feb 2014
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Great way to get all these recordings in one go and at a price that's good value. Sound quality on all disks could and should have been better but bear in mind how old some of these are.highly recommended if your interested in rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chill man, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This is a absolutely bargain five albums for the price of one if you like country rock or blue's rock spaced out rock this is for you in all one package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Man, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Great to get all five Cd's together - although we miss the gatefold sleeve of Wales!
Reflections of a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Just as I remembered the Albums sounded,excellent sound, good music played very well by one of my favourite groups of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great bargain., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Had three of these on cassettes and one recorded from vinyl. Still sound as fresh as when I first heard them. Brilliant songwriting, very varied styles. These 'Original Album Series' sets are great and excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack to my life!, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Having always been a Man fan but never really got together a comprehensive collection of their albums this original album series fits the bill perfectly. And the collection is a great accompaniment to a long journey ensuring I arrive at my destination in great mood!
I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who enjoyed their music through the 60's and 70's and still loves it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I saw MAN a few times during the 70s and liked them. However, hereing these albums now is rather an eye-opener. Very self-indulgent stuff. Yawn. But that's the way it was then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf5afa2c)

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Man (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews