Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Built to destroy ... your eardrums!
Formed by German guitar wizard Michael Schenker after leaving hard-rock act UFO these MSG albums followed in much the same vein. There are five albums in this collection, starting with the first in 1980 and ending with the fifth in 1983, they are Michael Schenker Group (****), MSG (*****), One Night at Budokan (****), Assault Attack (***) and Built to Destroy (****)...
Published 5 months ago by P.D.Nash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready to rock ?
First two album and the "budokan" live album are brilliant, but Assault attack and Built To Destroy are the work of a failing alcoholic and it shows.
I am delighted Michael is now clean and back to his best :)
Published 10 days ago by Dave Ormston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Built to destroy ... your eardrums!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Formed by German guitar wizard Michael Schenker after leaving hard-rock act UFO these MSG albums followed in much the same vein. There are five albums in this collection, starting with the first in 1980 and ending with the fifth in 1983, they are Michael Schenker Group (****), MSG (*****), One Night at Budokan (****), Assault Attack (***) and Built to Destroy (****). There would only be one more album (Rock Will Never Die) before MSG morphed into the McAuley Schenker Group.
Vocalist Gary Bardem appeared on the first three before being sacked and replaced by ex-Rainbow singer Graham Bonnet (for Assault Attack) who left and was replaced again by Gary Bardem. I prefer Gary Bardem vocals to Bonnet's which aren't quite to my taste. In fact, MSG are similar in many ways to Bonnet-era Rainbow, alternating between soft and hard rock, very melodic, with exceptional guitar playing by Schenker backed by great musicians like famed drummer Cozy Powell.
I love these album series ( I already have Testament, Pantera, X, Faith No More, Montrose), they're cheap (5 for about a tenner), they don't take up much space and when they're chronological like this collection you can see the progression of the band. MSG probably aren't the best example of this since they played hard rock at the beginning, the middle and at the end but the Testament series sees them go from all out super-fast thrash-attack (The Legacy) to melodic hard-rock (The Ritual).
Although all five albums are remastered, they are lacking the extras of jewel case versions although I don't think the listener is missing much, it depends on how much you want to listen to demos. Personally, I'd rather not bother, if you're a hard-core MSG fan though, you'll probably want those versions. If you want to get a jewel case version of these albums I'd recommend 'MSG' because there's a 1980 concert from the Manchester Apollo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahhh..the memories, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This box set brings back memories of being a teenage rocker...loved Schenker in UFO and still think he was oe of the best guitar player of that era. First 3 albums are excellent..especially One Night at Budokan..one of the best live albums ever in my opinion..up there with Strangers in the Night, Tokyo Tapes and Live and Dangerous...Assault Attack is a decent album....but nothing like the previous 2 studio albums...Built to Destroy has to be the worst of the set..still..good value for money..consedring the quality of the first 3 cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
If you like MSG and have none of thier back catalog this a is good product to purchase. Highly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready to rock ?, 12 July 2014
By 
Dave Ormston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
First two album and the "budokan" live album are brilliant, but Assault attack and Built To Destroy are the work of a failing alcoholic and it shows.
I am delighted Michael is now clean and back to his best :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good for the money, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
very good for the money .top tunes top band love michael schenker all good lps . if you like classic rock its for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well worth the coin, 8 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
If like me you didn't have any of Michael Schenker Group cd's all ready ,then its well worth the money, some tracks sound a little dated but it was the 80's rock era, catchy rock classics, on here. some great riffs and brings some fond flash backs to my youth, 1st cd has opening track armed and ready, great stuff, turn up the volume and enjoy, the live cd is heavy and well worth a listen,assault attack has Graham Bonnet on vocals, more polished cd, great then back to Garry Barden who is on the rest of the cd's, in my view all good albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 for the Price of One., 26 Jan 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
For the price of just one Cd you get 5 in the Original Album Series by THE MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP.

The good news is that all the CDs have had their sound remastered however, unlike other similar box sets, there are no extra tracks so I think that the label has missed a trick there.

True the fact that the tracks are re mastered and we should be thankful for that for a heck of a lot of these rereleases are released without remastering - for example the recent 5 CD Fleetwood Mac set.

The added tracks would have been a brilliant bonus which would have attracted the fans in droves.

So we just have the the remastered sound to tempt us.

On the other hand if you have then on vinyl and they are worn out or scratched then you really are on to a winner.

The Albums are
The Michael Schenker Group,
MSG,
One Night At Budokan (which is Live) ,
Assault Attack and
Built To Destroy.

Each CD comes in a slim card sleeve which is a replica of the original LP cover and the whole lot are housed in a slim, great for storage card case.

Enjoy- shame about the missed extra tracks though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 29 Mar 2014
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
These collection albums are a great way to get past recordings of artists you've heard of but not really followed, I can recommend this cd collection if guitar based rock is your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Michael Schenker (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews