Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price But No extras., 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Stiff Little Fingers"Original Album Series"
Includes the albums
"Inflammable Material",
"Nobody's Heroes",
"Hanx!",
"Go For It" and
"Now Then...".
The 5 CDs are housed in individual mini LP replica sleeves packaged in a card box set.
Some people hate these I love them for they look great and are so easy to store- they take less space.

But the company have missed a trick here because only the last two CDS are remastered- the others are not and, unlike other similar releases there are no extra tracks.

So the potential buyer who maybe has a couple of the other CDs already is really not getting much if they already have the first 3 and the remastered sound is the only benefit of buying this cheap as chips set.

If of course you have not got any then you are quids in. On the other hand if you have then on vinyl and they are worn out or scratched then you really are on to a winner.

BUT to my mind the main market must surely be Stiff Little Fingers Fans who would buy it in droves if only it had those elusive extra tracks.
Don't you think that the fans deserve it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIGID DIGITS!, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
We have here the first 5 SLF albums. They are in replica sleeves (much like magazine cover mounts) and packaged in a cardboard slip case. The quality of the cover reproduction is not great (having owned the original vinyl), particularly the debut which looks like it has been zeroxed.

I can comment on the 5 albums as follows:

Inflammable Material -
absolutely incendiary! Without doubt one of the most explosive and hard hitting debuts of all time. A classic.

Nobody's Heroes -
a strong follow-up featuring 'Tin Soldiers'. Great album which dodges the dreaded 'difficult second album syndrome'.

Hanx -
a great live album. I always felt the production was a little too polished.

Go For It -
an intelligent and accomplished fourth album. Strong, thoughtful and well written.

Now Then -
The curtain falls on the first part of their career. A strong, mature and cohesive album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Buy Buy, 27 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. Antonio Cavaldoro (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Really bought this because I wanted Alternative Ulster. The album that it was on, their first, is actually the roughest - as you go through this collection you can see a fine, fine band developing. There's a breadth and range of tracks on show here: bits of reggae, rock and punk all mashed together. I'm not keen on live albums, but Hanx is as good as they get, overall the best collection of this type going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great VFM, 1 May 2014
By 
A Green (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
All albums are in their own cardboard sleeve in a slightly larger cardboard sleeve housing them all together.
But for this cheap price what can you expect.
Great value and would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. Taylor "Russell Taylor" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Classic stuff all in an affordable box set. Get it bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice and good, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
replaced my vinyl copies.nice and good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good present 100% happy, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This was a present to my dad, he was very pleased overale. Delivery latter than stated was the only downfall but this could be due to the high volume of post with it being close to Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I have four of these albums on vinyl. These CDs have very good sound quality. Packaging is not fancy but I cannot fault the CD production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Just brilliant well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 for the price of one, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I'm currently getting all my vinyl records on CD's so this box set is an excellent bargain for all SLF fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Stiff Little Fingers (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews