Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered Sound- Five Fantastic Cds for the Price of One.
For the price of just one Cd you get 5 in the Original Album Series by Robin Trower.

The good news is that all the CDs have had their sound remastered.
True there are no extra tracks which is a shame because there are a few kicking around like the Old Grey Whistle Test ones for example which would have been a wonderful bonus and added to the buyer's...
Published 2 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Albums Shame About The Packaging
After having bought the Groundhogs Original Album Series "Box" set which I was well pleased with I thought I would buy this one as well. Unlike the Groundhogs item, and although it is described as a box set, it doesn't have a box. The albums are supplied in very low quality slip cases and shoved into another larger slip case which is rather flimsy to say the...
Published 15 days ago by T. Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered Sound- Five Fantastic Cds for the Price of One., 27 Jan 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
For the price of just one Cd you get 5 in the Original Album Series by Robin Trower.

The good news is that all the CDs have had their sound remastered.
True there are no extra tracks which is a shame because there are a few kicking around like the Old Grey Whistle Test ones for example which would have been a wonderful bonus and added to the buyer's interest.
So maybe the labels have missed a trick there.
The added tracks would have been a brilliant bonus.
For anyone who has no Robin Trower Cds then this is a brilliant buy at this price. As to the other folks who have a couple then the remastered sound may just tempt those to buy the whole set for this cheap as chips price.

On the other hand if you have then on vinyl and they are worn out or scratched then you really are on to a winner.

The Albums are
"Twice Removed From Yesterday" (1973),
"Bridge Of Sighs" (1974),
"For Earth Below" (1975),
"Live" (1976) and
"Long Misty Days" (1977).
Each CD comes in a slim card sleeve which is a tiny replica of the original LP cover and the whole lot are housed in a slim, great for storage, card case.

Enjoy- shame about the missed extra tracks though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
How can you fault a deal like this ? 5 Original Albums ,released in the form they were meant to be for under 3 each? Good albums at that. RT at the top of his game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for this seller, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I had not heard of Robin Trower until I went surfing for more likely Original Series albums. Found him on Amazon UK, listened to YouTube and enjoyed a few tracks and bought on that basis.

CD package arrived in good time, as usual I cannot fault service.

Ian A. Melbourne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic proto-stoner rock that sounds vintage yet fresh and aged very well...i'd buy it,crank loud and enjoy!, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Well this is a turn up for the books.One of my late Dad's favourite heavy 70's rock records was Bridge of Sighs and i often heard it growing up.Now i liked it but always thought it was perhaps too much of a white-boy Hendrix knock-off..my loss.Now recently i've put a lot of my musical pre-conceptions aside and re-checked out a lot of stuff worthy of more attention.Result?Well,i've finally realised Bridge of Sighs kicks some serious a$$ lol..and wanting to have more Trower to listen to,headed straight for this bargain.The ex Procol Harum guitarists first 4 studio lps and a live disc to boot.All praise to Original Album Series,this is nourishing vintage rock fun at an amazing price.The two Grade A lps are Twice Removed and Bridge of Sighs most defintely..both of which get underway with distinctive,statement of intent opening tracks.."I can't wait much longer",a soul wrenching Pysch rock ballad and the barnstorming Hendrix on steroids stomper "Day of the eagle".Grade B are "For Earth Below" and "Long Misty Days"...tbh for all it's concessions for a more commercial soulful sound,Long Misty Days is perhaps the better lp.Even the cover of "Sailing" nicely swerves away from memories of Rod,thankfully.Have'nt spun the live disc properly yet(so much music to get thru) but it seems solid what i've heard.Now the musical essentials.RT can play the ass of the guitar and there's more than just Jimi on show here.James Dewar is an under-rated bassist/singer.His souly tones may be cheesy for some,but i prefer his understated approach to alot of rock singers of the same period.It seems genuine perhaps.And the two drummers here hold it tight but loose.So to sum up,if you've heard enough(i'd hunt out the afore-mentioned Day of the Eagle..like it?buy this without fear),take a "reflective" woods walk,crank up the head phones and take a walk to the Bridge of Sighs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Feb 2014
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Five albums for the price of one, Robin Trower is well respected as a guitarist and song writer . I first listened to his music way back in school many years ago and the album bridge of sighs has always been on my play list ever since.Highly recommended and a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Albums Shame About The Packaging, 2 April 2014
By 
T. Williams (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
After having bought the Groundhogs Original Album Series "Box" set which I was well pleased with I thought I would buy this one as well. Unlike the Groundhogs item, and although it is described as a box set, it doesn't have a box. The albums are supplied in very low quality slip cases and shoved into another larger slip case which is rather flimsy to say the least. The Groundhogs set was in a proper box and all the sleeve reproductions were excellent, but having said that it's more than likely been superseded by this cheaper version. What's advertised here isn't what you are going to get. Very Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one album which he recorded several times over, 3 Feb 2014
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Here in one handy collection is the body of work that made music critics of the day comment that Yes, Bridge of Sighs was a superb album, but there was no reason to record it over and over again.

Formerly of Procol Harum, where his talent seemed a little at odds with the dubious balladry and keyboard preferences of Gary Brooker, Robin Trower launched his solo career sounding much as he had done on Procol tracks like Whisky Train, Juicy John Pink, etc. Relinquishing vocals to a new guy, he stuck to what he did best, which was soulful, atmospheric, sustained note soloing and sharp, catchy rhythm-building riffs. After a false start, along came Bridge of Sighs, and remained his laurel wreath for the next five years or so. Inarguably one of the finest albums ever recorded, it was evidently hard to crawl out from under its shadow, and his subsequent releases were little more than the Footbridges of Sighs. Long Misty Days did attempt to throw some variations into the mix,, but it wasn't until the BLT collaborations (not included here) that he discovered he couold write fresh material in different syles and return to form.

Worth a place in any collection, but you'll probably only ever play one of these CDs.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa54b0a8c)

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Robin Trower (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews