Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered Sound- Five Fantastic Cds for the Price of One.
For the price of just one Cd you get 5 in the Original Album Series by Robin Trower.

The good news is that all the CDs have had their sound remastered.
True there are no extra tracks which is a shame because there are a few kicking around like the Old Grey Whistle Test ones for example which would have been a wonderful bonus and added to the buyer's...
Published 13 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Albums Shame About The Packaging
After having bought the Groundhogs Original Album Series "Box" set which I was well pleased with I thought I would buy this one as well. Unlike the Groundhogs item, and although it is described as a box set, it doesn't have a box. The albums are supplied in very low quality slip cases and shoved into another larger slip case which is rather flimsy to say the...
Published 11 months ago by T. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered Sound- Five Fantastic Cds for the Price of One., 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
For the price of just one Cd you get 5 in the Original Album Series by Robin Trower.

The good news is that all the CDs have had their sound remastered.
True there are no extra tracks which is a shame because there are a few kicking around like the Old Grey Whistle Test ones for example which would have been a wonderful bonus and added to the buyer's interest.
So maybe the labels have missed a trick there.
The added tracks would have been a brilliant bonus.
For anyone who has no Robin Trower Cds then this is a brilliant buy at this price. As to the other folks who have a couple then the remastered sound may just tempt those to buy the whole set for this cheap as chips price.

On the other hand if you have then on vinyl and they are worn out or scratched then you really are on to a winner.

The Albums are
"Twice Removed From Yesterday" (1973),
"Bridge Of Sighs" (1974),
"For Earth Below" (1975),
"Live" (1976) and
"Long Misty Days" (1977).
Each CD comes in a slim card sleeve which is a tiny replica of the original LP cover and the whole lot are housed in a slim, great for storage, card case.

Enjoy- shame about the missed extra tracks though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sigh no more, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
What a package: The first 5 Robin Trower albums for around a tenner ?
Had "bridge of sighs" as a LP (remember them ?) and wore it out..
Great guitarist backed by brilliant vocals from James Dewar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Trower rocks, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Since I was in high school far to many years ago and thanks to my friend with a bad a** stereo I rocked out to Robin Trower and learned to appreciate the talent that was far ahead of his time. I am re-introduced now to those great songs and I am a full circle rocker reliving those days. Thank You Robin for millions of rock moments for rock fans the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good box set, 20 May 2014
By 
M. J. Winter (salisbury, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Excellent package from a truely underrated artist. Four studio and one live album from the blues rock man for the price of one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The early Robin Trower albums - my favorites, 26 April 2014
By 
Mr. Robert J. Brisley (Rochester U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I have all these albums on the original vinyl LPs but decided to buy this collectors set on CD. And what a buy it is. I added all the CDs to my iTunes and then dragged them to my iPod.

So now I can listen to my favorite Trower albums like "Bridge Of Sighs" and "For Earth Below" on my iPod.

A bargain price as well for the first 5 Robin Trower albums on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music. Great Price, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I have been after some early Robin Trower material for a long time. The sound quality of these discs is fantastic. Its worth buying just for the live album alone. The price at less than £10 delivered is a steal. Happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great power trio albums at bargain price, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Have all of these brilliant albums on vinyl and cd but at this price they were an irresistible buy. The remastering is very very good but really the music is what shines. For anyone who had not heard Bridge of Sighs then you are in for a treat-the title track has one of the all time killer riffs. There is not a weak album he-Robins' work on his early solo work was inspired. This is a superb introduction to one of the most original and underrated guitarists that came out of the 70s. 5*without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic proto-stoner rock that sounds vintage yet fresh and aged very well...i'd buy it,crank loud and enjoy!, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Well this is a turn up for the books.One of my late Dad's favourite heavy 70's rock records was Bridge of Sighs and i often heard it growing up.Now i liked it but always thought it was perhaps too much of a white-boy Hendrix knock-off..my loss.Now recently i've put a lot of my musical pre-conceptions aside and re-checked out a lot of stuff worthy of more attention.Result?Well,i've finally realised Bridge of Sighs kicks some serious a$$ lol..and wanting to have more Trower to listen to,headed straight for this bargain.The ex Procol Harum guitarists first 4 studio lps and a live disc to boot.All praise to Original Album Series,this is nourishing vintage rock fun at an amazing price.The two Grade A lps are Twice Removed and Bridge of Sighs most defintely..both of which get underway with distinctive,statement of intent opening tracks.."I can't wait much longer",a soul wrenching Pysch rock ballad and the barnstorming Hendrix on steroids stomper "Day of the eagle".Grade B are "For Earth Below" and "Long Misty Days"...tbh for all it's concessions for a more commercial soulful sound,Long Misty Days is perhaps the better lp.Even the cover of "Sailing" nicely swerves away from memories of Rod,thankfully.Have'nt spun the live disc properly yet(so much music to get thru) but it seems solid what i've heard.Now the musical essentials.RT can play the ass of the guitar and there's more than just Jimi on show here.James Dewar is an under-rated bassist/singer.His souly tones may be cheesy for some,but i prefer his understated approach to alot of rock singers of the same period.It seems genuine perhaps.And the two drummers here hold it tight but loose.So to sum up,if you've heard enough(i'd hunt out the afore-mentioned Day of the Eagle..like it?buy this without fear),take a "reflective" woods walk,crank up the head phones and take a walk to the Bridge of Sighs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful package of da blooz as done by a master !, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
A superb package of inexpensive cds coveirng par tof this master guitarists career, My favoutie is the live album - been searching it out for years on cd and its in the package - wonderful music -wonderful guitarist

quite simply a legend -you cant go wrong buying this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five classic albums at a bargain price!, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Another "no-frills" box set at a bargain price. Included are the first five Robin Trower Band albums, including I'm glad to say the rather excellent live album. And that's it and all you need anyway. Now go and get the rest of his output!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Robin Trower (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews