Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, powerful and emotional
Having seen Thor The Dark World in the cinema 3 times I had to buy the soundtrack.
A perfect score for a wonderful film, Brian Tyler delivers again after his previous score on the equally fantastic Iron Man 3.

The tender "Into Eternity" and poundingly powerful "Escaping the Realm" and the cheeky "An Unlikely Alliance" are three stand-out tracks on a great...
Published 11 months ago by Jamie Thomas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing
Nice and memorable themes but like Iron Man 3, waaaay tooo long. There's a nice 45-minute album in there somewhere, now it's just overkill. Great fanfare for Marvel though.
Published 10 months ago by Luke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, powerful and emotional, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Jamie Thomas (West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen Thor The Dark World in the cinema 3 times I had to buy the soundtrack.
A perfect score for a wonderful film, Brian Tyler delivers again after his previous score on the equally fantastic Iron Man 3.

The tender "Into Eternity" and poundingly powerful "Escaping the Realm" and the cheeky "An Unlikely Alliance" are three stand-out tracks on a great album.

Buying the CD from Amazon is perfect as they also kindly rip the tracks to the cloud player storage in your account so you can listen whilst you are online and maybe don't have the ability to play a CD on the move.

I highly recommend this album.
Fingers crossed Captain America The Winter Soldier continues the trend of powerful Marvel Movie Music!

Happy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Like all the marvel soundtracks this one delivers well. Much more quieter in places compared to the original, but they help to develop the more action packed tracks. An welcomed addition to the soundtrack of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A orchestral/choral powerhouse - the CD is more epic than the score within the film, and perhaps the best action score of 2013, 11 Nov 2013
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thor: The Dark World is the latest instalment in the Marvel franchise. Composer Brian Tyler has taken over the reins from Patrick Doyle who composed what I thought was a really fantastic score for the first film Thor. Many people were disappointed when it was revealed Doyle would not be scoring TTDW, but I have to say at the outset that Tyler has exceeded my expectations and surpassed Doyle's score in terms of quality. The score to TTWD is huge and epic, with the sort of orchestral and choral power that you don't hear often in Hollywood these days.

The opening track "Thor: The Dark World" tells you all you need to know about the album. You are treated to one of the best variations of the main Thor theme just before the 30 second mark. I love a good theme, and this is one of the best I have heard in a long time. It's only 9 notes long, but it's epic, memorable. Underpinned by choral chanting, your neighbours will think the apocalypse has arrived. If you aren't hooked after this, you really need your ears testing. Reprises of the theme are common across the album, but my favourites were in `Escaping the Realm" (Track 8), where a choir joins the brass for the most epic rendition of the theme on the album. There are also slower versions of this in the second track "Lokasenna" with a solo female vocalist performing the main theme and in Journey To Asgard (Track 16).

The second main theme is that of Loki, introduced in "The Trial of Loki" (Track 6), which is more brooding and sinister. Whilst it isn't as memorable or as bombastic as Thor's theme, it is nonetheless highly effective. There's also another theme for Asgard (Track 3), which I have to confess I didn't notice in the film until the end credits. Nonetheless this theme is performed by the brass section, with choir and a great string ostinato dancing underneath the main melody line. This theme isn't reprised anywhere else though which is a shame.

The recording quality is sublime. The orchestral, choral and percussive parts of the score are perfectly mixed, and sounds huge in a way that's difficult to describe. Having seen the film, I should say that the score as heard on album is significantly better. The main reason being that the epic choir, which is highly prominent on the album is strangely lacking in the film. Like all of Tyler's albums, the running time is lengthy, running in at over 70 minutes and I consider to be good value for money. I would have said most of the strongest material is present within the first third of the album, however the quality is consistently high throughout. The tracks are also not in chronological order within the film, but that didn't bother me.

Overall, this is my favourite superhero score for as long as I can remember. The main reason being the main theme for Thor is extremely catchy and memorable. That 9 note theme just oozes style and power and despite appearing regularly across the album, never gets tired. The orchestration is epic, with a large emphasis on the brass and choir meaning your neighbours are going to be in for a treat. This is music to blast out loud. For fans of Brian Tyler, this is probably his best score since he first appeared on the scene for his stunning score to Children of Dune. After his work on Iron Man 3, and now this epic score for TTDW, I can only hope that Marvel decide that it's time for some musical continuity for their films and get Tyler onside for the other films and for The Avengers sequels. In some ways I dislike writing reviews like this because it's almost too positive, no album can be that good. But after several listens, I really can't find anything to criticise. If you find yourself on this page and managed to navigate to the end of this somewhat lengthy ramble, don't hesitate to buy this score. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed, and if you liked the score within the film, the version on CD/MP3 is substantially better. Enjoy what is probably the best action album of 2013!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Purchased this after watching the movie and love the score. Love to listen to it so that I can imagine I am watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you loved Thor 2 you will love this soundtrack! The music captures the epic nature of the film extremely well and even includes the Marvel Fanfare and a snippet of the Captain America March in 'An Unlikely Alliance'. It is very difficult to put into words how much I love this so perhaps settle for the fact that it captures the film's atmosphere incredibly well. It arrived in pristine condition and the booklet contains a few key images from the film, however the digital booklet differs to the actual booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Music, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really love this music. Brian Tyler definitely now on my radar. I would recommend to anyone who loves John Barry film scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast,furious entertainment, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film,thrill a minute, just sit down and enjoy it. Special effects good,3d well worth it. Continues the franchise in the right direrection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its Hammer-Time!, 25 Mar 2014
By 
D. Woods (DURHAM, DURHAM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great new score by Brian Tyler for the Thor universe. The pounding main character theme is wonderful - very heroic and uplifting. A shame that none of Patrick Doyles score for the original film is not referenced, but I guess Marvel are going for new sounds for each movie. All in all, a treat. Impressive action cues and some nice melodic moments from the more emotional moments in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heroic, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the film - nice hammer! - and the OST captures the heroic quest of fighting the rat-bags. Quite repetitive with the main theme throughout but still great fun blasting this out while doing the housework! Thank you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great soundtrack to an okay sequel, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great soundtrack to an okay sequel, Brian Tyler if only the movie had lived up to the original one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews