Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lyrical love letter to the American South.
"The River & The Thread", the first release of new material in nearly a decade by singer-songwriter Rosanne Cash is a wonderful "travelogue" through the South. After having listened to this album, I thought: Wow! Her late father Johnny Cash would have been so proud of her. Of course, I should mention that you need to listen to this album multiple times to be able to truly...
Published 18 months ago by D. C. Stolk

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easty listening.
Bought this CD for my wife after she heard extracts on the radio.
A pleasant enough CD, but not enthralling in my opinion. Nice, easy going country.
Published 16 months ago by Mr. P. Marshall


‹ Previous | 15 6 711 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Roseanne Cash, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
I had never bought anything by Roseanne Cash before, but I heard her sing one of her songs on the BBC breakfast show and liked it so much I thought I would try her new Audio CD, "The River and the Thread". I have not regretted it. For me it is hauntingly beautiful, soulful and very relaxing. Her voice is truly beautiful. It won't be the last CD of hers I buy! I highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
Heard an interview with Roseanne on drive time radio 2 simon played "When the master calls the roll" from then on i knew i had to get the cd. There is not a track on the album i don't like, buy it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super C.D., 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Derek Barber "Harley" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
Excellent listening, very worthwhile purchase. Very quick delivery. Would definitely purchase more Rosanne Cash music, I did not realise a what a talent she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Music, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
Put this one in my regular collection to listen to whilst driving . Good music to pass the time by whilst driving the UKs busy motorways .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
Heard a little of this on Womans Hour of all places & was interested enough to buy CD - so glad I did - really lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing listenging, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
The CD arrived within the time scale given.
Rosanne Cash has a wonderfully rich, velvety, voice.
This CD did not disappoint in any way.
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rosanne Cash - The River & The Thread, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Geoffrey White "geoff2rocku" (Felixstowe, Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
Bought 'The List' for my partner and that cd is brilliant. Having heard a few tracks on Radio 2, pre-ordered this one as a result. At the moment I really like about half and still waiting for the remainder to catch up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The River & Thread - Rosanne Cash, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
Another excellent album produced by her husband John Leventhal. Rodney Crowell who needs no introduction co writes one of the tracks. Rosanne's style of music is so similar to Rodney's, both of whom I discovered together on a promotional album called "Cowboys and something". Sorry I'm not at home to check the right title. The music is soothing and easy flowing. The album opens up in a booklet and after paging through it you get to the sleave with the CD in. Clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love it!, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always been a great fan of Johnny Cash but, somehow, Rosanne had passed me by. This was an experience to treasure! The diction, musicality, timbre and range are superb. I bought the album three days ago and have already played it through five times!
If you have any liking of genuinely musical country music that you can properly understand because the diction is perfect, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as usual from the hugely underated Rosanne., 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River & The Thread (Audio CD)
Superb! She deserves far more credit than she gets - Dad would be hugely proud! She's a very great talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 711 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River & The Thread
The River & The Thread by Rosanne Cash (Audio CD - 2014)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews