Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's here! At last! :)
I was slightly concerned that this final season of DVDs wasn't going to live up to the previous two boxsets but this set, like the others, comprises 4 discs (not 1 as stated above) and does actually have some special features on it. Discs 2-4 contain three 'Avatar Deformed Shorts' between them which are very funny and were previously only available to us hard done by...
Published on 9 Feb 2010 by Krystle

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avatar, the legend of Aang is superb, but why do DVD Region 2 customers get short changed!?!
Avatar, the legend of Aang is superb, but why do DVD Region 2 customers get short changed!?!

I have discovered from reviews, since making the pre-order, that the Region 2 version of 'Avatar - The Legend Of Aang - Book 3 - Complete [DVD]' has been made with no subtitles and NO special features, etc, and one disc less,unlike the versions made for the USA and rest...
Published on 21 Dec 2009 by E. C. S. Sanchez


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's here! At last! :), 9 Feb 2010
I was slightly concerned that this final season of DVDs wasn't going to live up to the previous two boxsets but this set, like the others, comprises 4 discs (not 1 as stated above) and does actually have some special features on it. Discs 2-4 contain three 'Avatar Deformed Shorts' between them which are very funny and were previously only available to us hard done by region 2 fans on sites like YouTube. There are also some fairly decent and informative commentaries for some of the episodes.

All in all, I've waited a very long time for this boxset to be released and wasn't disappointed. So I may have got more special features and a more timely release if I lived in the good `ol US of A but beggars can't be choosers. This was an awesome conclusion to an awesome show and you can't ask for much more than that.

Now all there is to do is sit back and wait for the Blu-ray... ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best animation ever, 17 Aug 2010
By 
T. Embley (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To say I am slightly biased would be to lie, I love the Avatar series and have watched it many times on TV prior to buying the entire set (disguised as a gift for my young son).
If there is on cartoon that you never tire off, its this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cartoon I have ever seen, 15 Sep 2010
By 
L. J. Baylis "beel" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This really is a superb cartoon. The storyline is consistent and believable, and as watchable by adults as children. There are strong positive moral messages, insightful reflections on dealing with personal difficulties, and most of all heaps of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars star wars, lord of the rings,last airbender,its that good !, 25 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review for all three books Water,Earth,Fire.After being recomended to watch this i had no desire to watch a kids cartoon,but on a rainy day with nothing to do ,i gave it a chance excpecting to turn it off after 5 minutes,2 weeks later i ve finished all 3 books and truly think avatar the last air bender can stand along the great sagas of our time(star wars , the lord of the rings,harry potter)

story- 10/10

animation-10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars avatar book 3 review, 31 July 2010
i love avatar, the animation and music are astounding. i am soooooo happy that i was able to get this online! the quality is brilliant and plays beautifully.
this has completed my collection of the avatar series, thankyou! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar: Book 3, 4 Aug 2010
By 
The final season of Avatar, the best conclusion to a series I have ever seen.
But I wish it would never end.
Buy this, buy all of them they are life-changing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Battle Ends, 3 Jan 2010
To the previous reviews, I can say this is the complete Book 3 Series, as I have the Region 2 version that I imported from the Netherlands and includes all the episodes with some bonus features on some of the discs.
Book 3 is a stunning conclusion to a stunning series. The action in the last few episodes is very well done, although I am dissappointed with the lack of any mature violence. It doesn't rap the story up to nicely however as there are some aspects of the plot that are left unfilled, however this is made up for with the excellent character development and imaginative story telling. If you are a fan of the other Books/Series than this is a must have, as it is the best.
For those of you who want the series early than I suggest you buy the ones on sale at Amazon that are imported from the Netherlands. They are Region 2 and so will play on your DVD player, and the delivery was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent finale to the series, 22 July 2008
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The second season of Avatar ended on a downer: the city of Ba Sing Se has fallen to the Fire Nation, the Earth Kingdom is under enemy occupation and organised resistance to the Fire Nation has been reduced to a few guerrilla bands. However, the Avatar, Aang, and his companions are still at large and in possession of vital information: in a few short weeks there will be a solar eclipse, during which time the Fire Nation will be vulnerable to attack. A few weeks after that, Sozin's Comet will return, and the powers of the firebenders will be at their height. The Avatar must face and defeat Fire Lord Ozai during the eclipse if the world is to be saved.

The board is set for a grand showdown, but our heroes still need to prepare for the final confrontation. The early part of Season 3 has our heroes infiltrating the Fire Nation, having arranged a meeting place with some of their allies. One of the benefits of Ba Sing Se's isolationism during the war was that many of its armies were left to operate autonomously, and they have enough military force left to help with an assault on the Fire Nation's capital. However, the early part of Season 3 is surprisingly focused on stand-alone episodes as it treads water waiting for the eclipse. Luckily, few arc-heavy shows do stand-alones as well as Avatar, and episodes centering on Sokka's desire to find a mentor of his own or Katara trying to save a village from pollution caused by a Fire Nation factory are more effective than they might sound, with each adding an element of character growth or humour to the series' tapestry.

After a few stand-aloneish episodes, the arc reasserts itself. We learn vital backstory about the relationship between Sozin and Roku, the previous Fire Lord and Avatar, and Katara discovers a powerful but deadly new form of waterbending. There is still time for the show's humour, however, as with the episode where Aang cannot rest before the invasion and starts having bizarre hallucinations (such as one where Momu and Appa gain the power of speech and fight a deadly sword duel whilst being cheered on by sheep). The invasion finally comes, but obviously the fact it takes place ten episodes before the end of the series is a sign that things are not going to turn out well. From this point, the former dynamics of the show reassert themselves, with Azula and her compatriots hunting down the Avatar and Zuko's torn loyalties again leading him down a different path. The second half of the season is more tense and more urgent, as the 'good guys' are reduced to little more than just our heroes and the imminent arrival of the comet inspires the Fire Lord to embark on a plan of mass destruction and genocide beyond anything we've seen before in this show. Events culminate in a massive showdown, unexpected (but cleverly foreshadowed) allies emerge and old mysteries are solved as the story reaches its epic conclusion.

The third and final season of Avatar draws the storyline to an action-packed conclusion which is extremely satisfying, with enough twists and turns to avoid being predictable. As usual, the character development is exemplery, the writing entertaining and the voice acting accomplished. Criticisms? Well, there is an element of deus ex machina in the finale, although closer examination reveals it was set up earlier (a fairly obscure reference in Season 2's The Library, though), and there are a few loose ends, with some characters' fates left murky or unresolved. With the promised Avatar spin-off series apparently going to be set in a different time period focusing on a different incarnation of the Avatar, it's unclear if these questions will be answered. But if not, they at least give the fans something to debate and argue over in the future.

Avatar: The Last Airbender - Book III: Fire (****) will be released on DVD in the USA on 16 September 2008 (individual volumes are available now), although once again no word of an official UK release, although a Region 1 import will be available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 20 Feb 2011
a fantastic way to end the series. How ever sad i am that it is finished, it ended on a spectaculary good note....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant end to an excellent series, 28 Sep 2008
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This third and final season of the truly great Avatar series is something of a season of two halves. The first half of the season sees Aang and his friends go undercover within the Fire Nation in order to wait for the eclipse that will rob the world's firebenders of their power. This first half of the season is good with the group learning new skills and meeting new friends while Zuko tries to settle back into his old life as Crown Prince. Everything changes in the second half of the season with the planned invasion on the Day of Black Sun but not everything goes as planned and the group must find a new strategy to defeat Fire Lord Ozai before he can conquer the world.

This season includes many great episodes with the first half of the season including some truly funny and some well written episodes. The second half of the season includes some great action especially in the two part episode `The Boiling Rock'. As well as this the four part season finale `Sozin's Comet' is a truly fitting end to the series with some brilliantly spectacular fights and a plot that keeps you guessing throughout.

This third season continues to show some great writing and animation throughout and the vocal cast is also great with Mark Hamill playing Fire Lord Ozai getting a bigger role. Overall Avatar has been a truly great series that has never been anything less that entertain and is in my view, simply the greatest American animated series that I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews