Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars362
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2015
Great film based around Jack and the beanstalk. Superb special effects and good acting / story line.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I reckon this one is really just for the kids. Very little ones will find the giants quite frightening, but an 8 or 9 year old might think it one of the best films they've ever seen! Brave farm boy Jack, magic beans, knights in armour, a feisty, beautiful princess, a died-in-the-wool, dark-hearted baddie, and enormous, funny, stinky, dangerous giants... What more do you need?!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
A really entertaining film on lots of levels. The story needs no retelling, but this version adds twists and expands the original. There are some moments of subtle humour, laugh out loud, fight scenes, betrayal, romance..you name it, it is probably in there, It is probably a 3.5 star, but cannot put this in, but all in a good watch. The giants were great, and quite scary!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Excellent..amazing Cinematography. Awesome and gripping. As a big kid..I give it ten of ten!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Based of course on the well-known fairy tale, this can still be classed as 'escapism for adults' but not necessarily for younger children though as the 12+ rating indicates. Some great heart-stopping moments and graphic effects and a somewhat different story line to the 'norm' makes this a great movie to add to your collection. Well worth a watch!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Lots of fun and adventure in this modern re-working of a classic fairytale. The giants are brilliant, with some lovely cheeky directorial detail - nose picking, bogey-eating, farting etc. Not sure about the casting of Ewan McGregor as the loyal protector of the Princess - his fake accent and trendy, tidy hairdo just don't do it for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
A great adaptation of the "Jack and the beanstalk" story. Good use of 3D, although no "pop outs", well produced , most enjoyable to watch. Having enjoyed the DVD version of the movie, I decided to invest in the 3D BluRay version and was not disappointed. Deserves more than 5 stars, thoroughly recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Jack the Giant Slayer is based on a classic fairy-tale: Jack and the Beanstalks. There is a strong British cast. Jack the Giant Slayer is an enjoyable fantasy film. Young viewers under age of 12 will find some of the scenes frightening. There are moderate levels of fantasy violence. It is an amazing cinematic experience for bringing to life a classical fairy-tale to the big screen. It works really well in 3D, as you feel part of the story. I applaud the idea. It is not like Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter, where there is continuation.

The plot is about a young farm lad Jack. He becomes fascinated with a story about a king who defeated an army of invading giants. The film moves forward 10 years later. Jack falls in love with a beautiful princess Isabelle.He defends her from a group of thugs. Will romance blossom between the two? King has other ideas for the princess. Jack has to learn to take responsibility by supporting his uncle's farm. In exchange for a horse, he has been offered magic beans . The items are valuable and unravel an old story, which appeared to be buried, but comes back to haunt the kingdom. Isabelle goes missing all of a sudden.She is separated from Jack whilst a sinister event occurs at Jack's house. King Brahwell orders a search mission to locate the princess with the aid of Elemont leading the mission. Jack agrees to volunteer despite his fear of heights. The search mission is dangerous. It is a mammoth climb and big creatures roam the place. Does Isabelle safely return home? What are the threats facing the kingdom? The film is bursting with excitement, action and edge of the seat moments.

The cinemagraphy is excellent. It recreates the scenery you would expect in a fantasy film, with some amazing CGI animation and stunning landscapes. The costumes are amazing. It is absolutely breath-taking. The story about the kingdom and old myths are interesting and fascinating to learn about.I feel the critics harshly judged the film. Overall, I enjoyed the film. I would recommend to watch the film if you are really into fantasy films.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 June 2013
This is a really fun romp. The CGI is never less than wonderful and the quest is epic. The characters are great fun, but I found Ewan McGregor to be the most enjoyable. Nicholas Hoult makes farm boy Jack an accessible hero and we're with him all the way as he climbs the beanstalk to rescue the beautiful princess Isabelle (Eleanor Tomlinson). Stanley Tucci and Ewen Bremner do well as a pair of snivelling evil doers but the CGI Giants steal the show and there are loads of them! I can see why some reviewers are being unkind; I think the film fell into the Dragonslayer [DVD] trap in that despite the colourful costumes and silly hair, the violence was too strong for younger children, heads are bitten off, albeit off camera most of the time, an eye pops out later on and rather like the Dragon in the above mentioned Disney movie, the giants are perhaps a bit too real for younger eyes, there's a bit of swearing too. My teenagers thought it was a blast and to quote them, it's good like Stardust [DVD] but not great like The Princess Bride [DVD]. I was inclined to agree.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Lots of good and bad stuff from this film.

Good: Great visuals, decent soundtrack,cinematic feel, exciting screenplay, cinematography,
Bad: Poor acting, felt long (dragged on), cast

Overall: I enjoyed it more than I would have though, but still had some weak points
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.