Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Respectful and enjoyable prequel
Whilst I did have misgivings about a prequel/near-remake of Carpenter's iconic 1982 horror, within a few minutes, my fears were dispelled and I found myself thoroughly enjoying this modern version.

The attention to detail that allows this film to flow seamlessly into the 1982 version is absolutely meticulous; the Norwegian base looks the same, even down to the...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by Cartimand

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a prequel,its a homage to Carpenter"s version.
People describe this as a prequel to the 1982 classic.
But its so similar in so many aspects that my take is that this version is an attempt to outdo that film using the latest technology available which has resulted in a mere imitation of John Carpenter"s iconic and bleak masterpiece.

The makers were unable to match special effects and
the tension...
Published 16 months ago by robert stirling


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Respectful and enjoyable prequel, 18 Jun 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Whilst I did have misgivings about a prequel/near-remake of Carpenter's iconic 1982 horror, within a few minutes, my fears were dispelled and I found myself thoroughly enjoying this modern version.

The attention to detail that allows this film to flow seamlessly into the 1982 version is absolutely meticulous; the Norwegian base looks the same, even down to the wooden stairs and walkway in the lab where the thing encased in the block of ice was taken. The helicopter looks the same. So does the dog. Believe me, you'll appreciate this all the more if you watch the 1982 film straight after.

All the elements you'd expect are in here, from the initial cosy camaraderie of the stir-crazy scientists, the sense of isolation and the growing paranoia as they try to determine who is no longer one of us. On Blu-ray it all looks terrific. The special effects are extremely good without surpassing the visceral pre-CGI expertise of the Carpenter version and surround sound is used to very good effect - you'll often hear suspicious and creepy movement off to one side and behind you.

Well worth adding to any sci-fi/horror fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Film - Recommended, 18 Sep 2012
I first saw The Thing - which acts as a prequel (slight hints of a remake, too) to John Carpenter's 1982 film - in cinemas back in December of 2011. The film is very good and follows Carpenter's one slightly in the areas of plot and suspense.

The year is 1982 and Norwegian scientists have discovered something buried in the Antartic wilderness for seemingly 100,000 years. With this in mind, they recruit American paleontologist Kate to help further with the investigation. However, it isn't long before the crew, aided by Kate, conduct an experiment on their discovery and 'The Thing' is unleashed, a creature that can replicate any living being. What follows is a perfect blend of action, horror and suspense.

The great aspect to this film is that you really feel for the characters, whether they be the Norwegians or Americans. You also really obtain a sense of being there - the sense of terror and paranoia gripping the crew... keeping in mind the ever-present fact that nobody could be who they seem, thanks to 'The Thing'.

Finally, the Blu Ray quality.

Picture: 9/10. For the most part, the picture quality is beautiful - it really makes a change from seeing this in the Cinema, that's for sure! The attention to detail in the picture quality is second to none, I feel. It works especially well in scenes set out in the snow. It only lets down a little in dark, interior scenes... but that isn't a big issue, overall.

Sound: 8-9/10. The sound is pretty good for the most part. It's just that, in some scenes, it can seem either too loud or too low. While this may sound confusing and contradictory, it was my personal experience of watching the film on Blu Ray.

All things considered though, a solid transfer!!

PS: Should it be available to you to do it this way, I recommend watching this one BEFORE John Carpenter's film. I was lucky in that I hadn't seen Carpenter's film before viewing this, so everything comes together nicely that way when you do go to watch Carpenter's film.

Either way, Happy Viewing.

Thanks for reading this. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a prequel,its a homage to Carpenter"s version., 16 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Thing (2011) [DVD] (DVD)
People describe this as a prequel to the 1982 classic.
But its so similar in so many aspects that my take is that this version is an attempt to outdo that film using the latest technology available which has resulted in a mere imitation of John Carpenter"s iconic and bleak masterpiece.

The makers were unable to match special effects and
the tension from JC's creation,even though they went to
meticulous detail recreating the struggle in the Norwegian camp prior to The Thing's escape.

Credit for a strong attempt to capitalise on the classic,but for me nothing new was added and JC's The Thing remains King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The other ear..., 7 May 2014
A discovery full of scientific possibility becomes a mission of survival when an alien is unearthed by a crew of international scientists.

The shape-shifting creature, accidentally unleashed at this marooned colony, has the ability to turn itself into a perfect replica of any living being.

Paranoia spreads like an epidemic among a group of researchers as they're infected, one by one, by a mystery from another planet.

Paleontologist Kate Lloyd has travelled to the desolate region for the expedition of her lifetime.

Joining a Norwegian scientific team that has stumbled across an extraterrestrial ship buried in the ice, she discovers an organism that seems to have died in the crash eons ago.

But it is about to wake up. When a simple experiment frees the alien from its frozen prison, Kate must join the crew's pilot, Carter, to keep it from killing them off one at a time....

Yes okay, the film doesn't hold a torch to Carpenters remake, but it's still good fun to watch, despite many plot holes and reasonably bad CGI.

The claustrophobia and the tension is missing for the first act, but gets going halfway through the second act, when thankfully the movie picks up and gets a little more exciting.

It's hard to say whether this was made for fans of the Carpenter movie, as there are references to the movie throughout (axe in the wall, the two headed thing), and the film finishes just like the Carpenter one opens, or whether it was made for non-fans (jump scares, CGI, gore) but it seems to cater for most tastes.

The cast are okay, but Winstead is poor, but I think it's more to do with the script, which isn't the best. Most of the film consists of the actors staring at each other and looking suspicious.

The ending of the movie is a good idea, and makes you question Kates actions, but if you are observant, you will know the answer. All in all i cannot really understand the hate for this movie, it's not the best film made, but for a remake/prequel, there are a hell of a lot worse out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bloodless imitation, 27 April 2013
This review is from: The Thing (2011) [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't seen John Carpenter' incredible film (itself a remake), then this will past muster as a reasonably effective sci-fi horror. If you have, then this is, much like the alien of the film, a pallid imitation of the real thing. I'm afraid the fact that's it's supposed to be a prequel passed me by completely - as did the 1980s setting - although the final shot was a lovely one, for those of us who know the 'original' film.

It's efficient, especially in the first half but it had nothing like the creeping tension of the 1980s version. Note to the film-makers: less is definitely more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Someone tell Marie Elizabeth Winstead that she cant act, 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Thing (2011) [DVD] (DVD)
The female lead cannot act.She has totally ruined the film for me. She shows zero emotion & is just irritating.
She looks about 21 and yet she orders seasoned scientists around as if they are school children.
Then they obey her!
She spilts people apart even though theres a murderous space creature running around and they comply.
Annoying annoying annoying woman.
The other female in the cast is demure, childlike, softly spoken,ethereal and downright unconvincing as a scientist living in extreme Antarctic conditions with rowdy men for company.
Rubbish casting, poor character development & copying scenes from the original all lead to the film being just ok.
Incidentally the leader of the expedition is so over the top in his sinister behaviour that I expected him to be twirling his moustache & laughing maniacally at the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad just lacking that magic touch, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Thing (2011) [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this out of curiosity being a big of a fan of the John Carpenter 80's original, this version is not a cut and dry re-make of that film but plugs the gap in the story from the initial Norwegian contact with the space craft right up to the ending which is where the first film starts from.

Unusually the director has chosen to shoot on film (no problem there few complaints about the cinematography from me it's decent)
But this isn't just a straight prequel as the lead character of Kate Lloyd (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) does seem to take on a role that's not a million miles away from a female version of the Kurt Russell original. Some elements of the story whilst in keeping with the general vibe doesn't always tie up as well as it should do, for example in the first film the "Thing" only reveals itself when it has no choice, but here it seems a bit too keen to leap into action for the pleasure of viewers.

Story wise it fills in the gaps in a way which is in most ways respectful to the original. Cast wise the lead character fits the expected role pretty well, Mary Winstead is quite good with her performance if a little predictable at times (which is a problem), the rest of the cast is competent but few stand out. Effects wise the first film was rather good for the time period and again here it's up to par, the real problem is that "special Carpenter sauce" that really pulled the 80's version into the viewer it immersed horror/sci fi fans mostly down to one very important part of film making "tension". The first film had it in spades, including the simplistic but effective Carpenter soundtrack. Here whilst there are a few scary moments, the sense of despair and fight for survival never really comes into play, and that's one of the film's main problems.

For fans of the original the concept of a prequel is quite a good one (not a good idea to clone the first movie scene by scene and remember the 80's version is a re-make of the older The Thing from Another World) but clearly there are moments here where bits of that film have been borrowed to try to beef up the production and bolster the impact. It doesn't really pull it off, but falls into that category or merely "OK" rather than terrible or amazing. Worth a watch for Thing fans, but we all know the 1981 version is the one you'll keep coming back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay if you're not expecting much, but nothing you really need to see, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
John Carpenter's remake of The Thing from Another World was met with box-office failure and disappointed reviews even from his cheerleaders, all but killing off his big-budget mainstream aspirations, only to stage a surprising resurrection on video and even more surprisingly eventually overshadowing the original's reputation. The 2011 prequel that unhelpfully shares the same title, The Thing, was met with similar box-office and critical failure, but it's doubtful the indifference it was met with will be reversed in time. Not that Matthijs van Heijnengen Jr.'s film is particularly bad. It isn't, but a solid, decently crafted if somewhat over-reverential reworking of the original film was never going to have as much impact. Following the ill-fated Norwegian researchers who first discovered the Thing and leading Up to the very first shot of Carpenter's film, it's half-remake rather than adding much to the story. Once again characters are fairly thinly drawn, with only Mary Elizabeth Winstead's palaeontologist, Ulrich Thomsen's chief scientist and Joel Edgerton's helicopter pilot getting anything in the way of characterisation. While the first two are fine in their lead roles, in a thinly disguised but less charismatic clone of Kurt Russell's role in the Carpenter film Edgerton, often a powerful presence in Australian films when given something to work with, is disappointingly bland and ineffectual, though not fatally so. As for the others, their distinguishing characteristics are limited to beard, cockney accent, doesn't speak English, token woman, black...

With the rest of the cast creature bait, it's all down to the execution. van Heijnengen is good at drawing out capable performances and recreating the look and surface feel of the 1982 film thanks to fine cinematography by Michel Abramowicz that compliments and at times directly duplicates Dean Cundey's original work (but doesn't look its best in the rather flat Blu-ray transfer) and production design that scrupulously replicates the original film (though the spaceship exteriors are distinctly underwhelming), but he can't bring the sense of mounting dread that his predecessor managed. Nor do the advances in special effects bring much to the film. Thanks to fluid CGi enhancing the on-set animatronics we see a lot more of the Thing in its natural state, but the wow factor of the original film's mechanical effects is noticeably absent. The end result is a pointless but efficiently executed film that doesn't do much that's new, rarely genuinely excites but doesn't bore either. Had Carpenter or Hawks never made their films it may have seemed a bit better, but as it stands it's just an average, acceptable sci-fi horror film that passes muster if you're not expecting much from it rather than one you'll remember in a week's time let alone a decade or two. If okay is enough for you it may be worth a look, but otherwise you don't really need to see it.

As expected for a box-office failure, extras on the disc are perfunctory and show minimal effort: audio commentary, a superficial making of puff piece, a featurette on technical advances in safely setting stunt performers on fire that focuses on the death of one character that was cut out of the film and which features in the mostly dispensable deleted scenes, which also shows what happened to the suicidal radio operator discovered frozen in his chair in the original film. That a couple of deaths in a horror film and the fates of two characters were deemed dispensable tells its own story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VERY DISAPPOINTING, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (2011) [DVD] (DVD)
My brother told me this prequel was quite good. Well unfortunately he was wrong.

Instead of the genius thriller-horror we got with the oringal '82 version, this film is more like an action gore film. And not a very good one.

Some bad points include: weak plot development with non-memorable characters which seemingly disappear, lack of build up to a shock attempt (which means it isn't that shocking) and a black character whose seemingly sole purpose in the film is to shout, "mutherfxxka!!"

The extras seem pretty good, but when the film is bad what's the point anyway. I have to agree with the guy who said this film was made for a quick cash-in and nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thing Remake., 6 July 2013
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
I am a big fan of John Carpenter ,and enjoy the Thing as one of my favorites ,I was a bit worried when this remake was made ,as 9/10 out of ten sequels are usually never as good as the origonal , but I was taken by surprise ,I thoroughly enjoyed this ,I bought it with the 'Carpenter's Thing in a Blu-ray double pack ,I thought the special effects were fantastic , worth adding to your Blu-ray collection .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thing
The Thing by Matthijs Van Heijningen Jr.
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews