Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story from Reality
This is a most beautifully made film. The Photography is superb, as is the music. My father, Capt. Gilbert Evans R.E., was definitely in love with Florence (or Blote as she was known). My mother who was twenty two years younger than my father, was only nine in 1914 when the final events took place but she told my brother and me that my father had always told her...
Published 13 months ago by David J. Evans

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful landscapes, but alas, they do not substitute the lack of chemistry between the leads.
I am in a minority here, and it pains me to write a negative review for such a well acted and visually beautiful film, but as much as gorgeous scenes of the Cornish coast pre First World War, the film desperately needed some tangible chemistry between the leads, some concrete passion, some sparks. I was dying for any passionate reaction, for any reaction, to tell you the...
Published 7 months ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew very little about Munnings before watching this film. It's heartbreaking. The main characters are very well acted, and the scenery is stunning. It made me take a trip to see his paintings for real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good romantic drama., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good film if you like romantic drama,especially if you are interested in art. Visually a joy if you like the West country of England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable film, 27 May 2014
By 
S. Hugg (Stamford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We enjoyed this one very much and will probably watch it again once the family have all borrowed it. A sad story, beautifully filmed, with very strong cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film to give as a gift, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchase the DVD for my aunt and she has thrilled with it and phones me repeatedly saying how much she enjoys watching the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Been There, 21 Mar 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Been there, done that, as they say .Boring and seen many times. .Even the actors could not pull this film out of the doldrums and the music was not helpful.

The film brings us an artists’ group in Cornwall, known as the Lamorna Group. Most of the group are painters, and this film takes place pre World War One. This is a true story about the artist A.J. Munnings, played by Dominic Cooper, who was famous for his paintings of horses. Munnings falls in love with a new young painter Florence Carter-Wood played by Emily Browning. Florence has feelings for an ex-army officer Gilbert Evans played by Dan Stevens. Fate intervenes and tragedy occurs but not before this film loses its audience. This is not a Jane Austen film, I am not sure what kind of film it is, but had difficulty getting through it. The film is still in theatres, but it is part of Amazon Prime, which shows us how badly this film has done. Not even Dan Stevens and his great good looks could save this film.

Not Recommended For Me. prisrob 03-21-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summer in February, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A stunning film location and a good story set in Cornwall. I am surprised that this film did not receive more accolades as it was most enjoyable and told the background story of the Newlyn Artists with special reference to Alfred Munnings.

If you like a love story about real people set in the real location, you should enjoy this film. A good watch to banish this February's endless storms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer in February, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this film was very good different good story but sad end. i like Dan Stevens heard him talking about it on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish there were more movies like this that counted on the story to make it great...., 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful romantic story. The cast is superb. Beautiful setting. I also enjoyed the book. The fact that this is a true story makes the ending stay with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good love story, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had read the book and thought the film might not be so good. It was great but I should have read the book after the film. they left a lot out of the film but then the film would have lasted for hours longer if they had put everything in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a good film, nice story, well acted, good cast and was worth buying. Would recommend watching this very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer in February
Summer in February by Christopher Menaul
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews