Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story from Reality
This is a most beautifully made film. The Photography is superb, as is the music. My father, Capt. Gilbert Evans R.E., was definitely in love with Florence (or Blote as she was known). My mother who was twenty two years younger than my father, was only nine in 1914 when the final events took place but she told my brother and me that my father had always told her...
Published 17 months ago by David J. Evans

versus
51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taken for a ride
The charismatic leader of a bohemian artists' colony in the lovely Cornish coastal valley of Lamorna, A.J. Munnings was correctly predicted by his admiring friends as destined to become the leading painter of his day. As is often the way in a film, the evidence for this is somewhat lacking to the audience.

When the beautiful Florence Carter-Wood escapes from...
Published 22 months ago by Antenna


‹ Previous | 111 12 1317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lackluster performances throughout - but beautiful scenery., 16 Oct. 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Apart from the stunning scenery of waves and beaches in Cornwall this film had little to recommend it, the performances lacked sparkle and the whole thing was to say the least tedious. Alfred Munnings came across a spoilt brat and Florence Carter-Woods as a silly naïve girl who got all that she deserved. I'm afraid the whole film left me with a feeling of despair I think the world of famous painters is , for the majority of us , completely baffling. There is a certain degree of "The Kings Clothes" in art appreciation as most of us can't tell what's meant to be amazing and what's dross !! Maybe the book paints a more accurate picture ( pardon the puns ). I bet Dan Stevens regrets he let Downton Abbey slip through his fingers as this film did nothing for his reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 April 2015
By 
Mrs. Claire Buckle (Essex . UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story based on truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
o what a perfect film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
Mrs. C. Lea - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok film, a bit weak
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An okay movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyable DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miscasting, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Emily Browning is miscast. She is not nearly enchanting or pretty enough. However, anything with Dominic Cooper wins my votes. He is gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love story, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy Catherine Cookson stories, you will love this.
Thoroughly enjoyed it, kept me entertained, would recommend it to true romancers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the book was keen to see the film. I enjoyed it but wouldn't suggest people rush out and see it. I like Alfred Munnings' paintings and so wanted to see and read about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer in February
Summer in February by Christopher Menaul
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews