Customer Reviews


5,327 Reviews
5 star:
 (4,642)
4 star:
 (374)
3 star:
 (157)
2 star:
 (52)
1 star:
 (102)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frozen Sing-Along Edition DVD
This is a really perfect stocking filler for Christmas, which will be adored by all Frozen fans. If you already have the film, you may be wondering what this DVD offers that will make it worth buying again. It comes in a slip case, with an attractive cover, making it look just a little bit more special if you are buying it as a present. The DVD itself comtains the...
Published 6 months ago by S Riaz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are over the age of 5 and after a fairy tale, watch 'Tangled' instead!
I thought that 'Frozen' was some kind of musical for kids. Well, at least until yesterday, when I casually mentioned this at work and thus shocked a bunch of fully grown adults by the lack of my cartoon awareness. They said that it was amazing and shamed me not only into watching it, but also into purchasing it, since it wasn't available to rent. I really wanted to love...
Published 27 days ago by Alyona Z


‹ Previous | 1 2533 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frozen Sing-Along Edition DVD, 26 Nov. 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really perfect stocking filler for Christmas, which will be adored by all Frozen fans. If you already have the film, you may be wondering what this DVD offers that will make it worth buying again. It comes in a slip case, with an attractive cover, making it look just a little bit more special if you are buying it as a present. The DVD itself comtains the film, but with the added extra of the words included underneath the songs - along with a bouncing snowflake, which follows the words, so your little one can sing along. Even better, in the extra bonus features there is a 'sing along selection' - which is simply all the songs together. My daughter had a play date yesterday and I think I must have heard, "Let It Go," accompanied by raucous seven year olds, about twenty times. So, this DVD will drive you crazy, but the kids will adore it! The bonus features also contains a little documentary, "Breaking the Ice," about the making of this incredibly successful movie and a little Mickey Mouse short feature, "Get a Horse." It is impossible to say why some films take off, but for my little girl - and many others - this has become a mini obsession. It certainly contains good female characters and some really catchy songs and this edition will be greatly enjoyed by Frozen fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be Frozen by Fear!, 15 May 2015
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Anna and Elsa are two inseparable sisters (I have two daughters a lot like them!) in the absolutely SMASHED IT hit animated comedy musical drama . . . They are different – the younger being adventurous and mischievous, the older more cautious – but, because she loves her sister and hanging out with her – gets drawn into her crazy schemes. Oh, and one other thing – the older daughter, Elsa, has a special power – she can make snow and ice with her hands just by touching stuff or shooting ice and snow from her finger tips . . . It is a great gift to have as kids, they both love it – until, there is an accident and Elsa almost kills her younger sister Anna (her life is saved by some cuddly, cute trolls). At this point there is a warning for Elsa about her powers – she must watch out that fear does not master her and take control – her powers could go crazy. She must control it and – especially her emotions as they make the snow and ice go off the scale. Saying to a child ‘don’t let fear grip you.’ Is a bit like saying don’t touch that big red button, or don’t think about ice cream – it’s going to happen! Anyway, Elsa locks herself away – Anna, the younger sister, although saved by the trolls – cannot remember any of the adventures with snow and ice and the special power her sister has (and does not get why her best friend now won’t talk to her or see her). . . .

Years pass – the girls grow, become young princesses – finally, the elder sister is crowned queen.

Elsa still can’t control her power, it controls her – the fear, the need to hide her feelings and emotions – something at the coronation party pushes her buttons and BAM – everything is ice and snow. Horrified at what she has done, Elsa rushes off to the mountains and builds herself an ice palace (as you do).

Anna, her plucky younger sister leaves the kingdom in the hands of a devious and scheming prince (though she doesn’t realise that at the time) and heads off to find her sister.

They meet. The crazy ice power is unleashed once more – this time, unlike when they where children, the ‘ice strike’ hits Anna’s heart and is deadly. Elsa cannot see what she can do to control this power. It has consumed her.

Finally, out on the ice that used to be the sea around the kingdom, an incredible act of sacrifice brings healing and peace.

Anna – in her last moments – leaps to defend her distraught sister from the fatal blow of a sword from that devious prince. The sword shatters as it hits the solid ice that is now Anna. Elsa embraces her sister and weeps. Then the miracle happens, slowly Anna thaws and is restored. Love, and sacrificial love at that – has dealt with fear and death!

All of this story telling (in case you haven’t or don’t watch the film – in which case I will assume you are just visiting earth).

– Have you ever been ‘frozen with fear?’
– Have you ever felt the chill of absolute terror?

Maybe nothing frightens you. Ha! I don’t believe it – we all get frightened by something – fear of failure, getting old, death itself, fear that we will never find the right relationship, fear that nobody actually likes us, fear that if we actually succeed at something there will be no more excuses for our mediocre life, fear that one day we will be found out, fear that we will never amount to anything . . . Etc.

Well, don’t be frozen by your fear. Don’t let your fear dominate your thoughts and actions. Elsa could not see a way out or through her fear and the need to always be in control broke her – and she lost control. We are not made to hide who we are. We are made for freedom and beauty and delight and laughter and absolutes joy!

A great scripture, that needs contestant mediation is this, ‘perfect love casts out fear’. It is from 1 John Chapter 4, in the same passage of scripture that just states, ‘God is love’. Fear, you see has to do with punishment. Get that? Punishment. What have I done wrong? I am no good. I can’t do any better, this is all I deserve, I am nothing. We deliver the punishment – we punish ourselves – even after we are forgiven and redeemed – we sometimes don’t accept and receive God’s perfect, indescribable, life nourishing, all for us, abounding, endless love!

In Christ, nothing is hidden – in God, scripture says, (1 John 1 verse 5) ‘there is no darkness at all’. If we are in Him, then what incredible joy is ours! His light and life and perfect love drive out and banish our fear. We are free to love and be loved!

Don’t be frozen by fear – don’t let fear hold you back from the incredible love of God – step in to all that He desires for you and your life. Be loved today and loose the fear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A DELIGHTFUL 'DISNEY' OFFERING THAT CAPTURES THE MAGIC OF THEIR EARLY CLASSIC'S', 3 April 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delightful story adapted from a 'Hans Christian Anderson' tale ~'The Snow Queen'~
'Elsa' has unusual powers everything she touches turns to ice, she has absolutely
no idea how to control them.
Because of a 'chilly' accident 'Elsa' and her younger sister are kept apart within the
palace down the years by order of their father 'The King'
After the loss of both parents during a storm at sea, 'Elsa' is set to become Queen,
however after the ceremony her powers are exposed startling all in attendance.
The new Queen runs away, not by intention as she runs she creates an eternal
winter throughout the Kingdom.
'Anna' with the help of local mountain man 'Kristoff' and reindeer 'Sven' set out to
find 'Elsa' who is trapped within her icy world.
It will be a perilous journey but one that 'Anna' is prepared to take to save her sister.
However there is a wicked plot afoot.........Can both the Queen and the kingdom be saved ?
'Disney' magic again brought to the screen in this computer generated animation
adventure.
A MUST FOR KIDS OF 'ALL' AGES.
A genuinely enjoyable family friendly tale.(You'll love the Characters in the tale)
(The music from the film available on CD)
Great viewing in both it's 3D and 2D versions, superb picture and sound quality
throughout.
* 3D - Feature Film plus bonus:- Features-Disney Enhanced HD picture and sound.
* Original Theatrical short :- Get a Horse.
* Blu-ray Feature Film plus bonus:- Features-Disney enhanced HD picture and sound.
* The making of 'Frozen the Musical.
* D-frosted Disney's journey from 'Hans Christian Anderson' to 'Frozen'
* Deleted scenes with introduction from directors 'Chris Buck' and 'Jennifer Lee'
* 'Let it Go' Music Videos.
Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frozen melts your heart..., 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Finally watched this after all the fuss from all the addicted little girls I know who adore it. (including my 21yr old daughter!) I have to say it ticks all the boxes - excellent animation, wonderful story (an adaptation of the Hans Christian Anderson story - The Snow Queen) and excellent musical score too. I would put this on a par with 'Brave', perhaps even edging ahead slightly. Thoroughly entertaining with the feel-good factor of the Disney happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


149 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confirmed: This 3D release works on U.S. Blu-ray players (Region A/1), 5 April 2014
By 
ReubenR (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I took a chance and ordered this UK release of Frozen 3D from the UK since Disney apparently doesn't consider us Americans worthy of the 3D version. As advertised, this 3D Blu-ray disc is indeed Region-Free and works on my U.S. Blu-ray player with no problem.

The movie is fantastic, the sound and image are wonderful, and the packaging is free of frustration. It costs a bit extra ordering from England, but if you must have the 3D release, at least there's a way to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


205 of 243 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Disney Film Since The Lion King, 15 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Frozen is a phenominon. It is a magical and emotional experience that will stay with you for days, weeks, months after you see it. It is by far the best Disney film since the likes of The Little Mermaid and The Lion King. Everything from the animation to the toe tapping musical numbers are breathtaking.

It is a heartwarming tale about sisterhood and the importance of family. Idina Menzel and Kristen Bell put in simply spellbinding performances as two sisters forced to grow up apart due to a terrible gift/curse. Menzels ensemble musical piece "Let It Go" deserves a Grammy because it is just so so so good.

I cannot recommend this film enough. Kids will love it due to Oalaf the hilarious wisecracking snowman and adults will appreciate the romance and love in the unbreakable ties asociated with family and sisterhood.

Buy Frozen and keep it forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are over the age of 5 and after a fairy tale, watch 'Tangled' instead!, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought that 'Frozen' was some kind of musical for kids. Well, at least until yesterday, when I casually mentioned this at work and thus shocked a bunch of fully grown adults by the lack of my cartoon awareness. They said that it was amazing and shamed me not only into watching it, but also into purchasing it, since it wasn't available to rent. I really wanted to love it, but instead I was left slightly disappointed. Unlike many other cartoons that can be treat for almost all ages (Wall-E, Up, Toy Story, Monsters Inc, Tangled, Lion King, Brave to name a few in no particular order), this is definitely just for small children. It is sweet and well made, but way too obvious, with everything literally spelled out for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


194 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let it go-turn away and slam the door. I don't care what they will say. Let the storm rage on. The cold never bothered me anyway, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
This is an impressively BEAUTIFUL film, with very endearing characters, solid scenario, fun moments for little ones, good dialogs, impressive images, nice music and one simply unbelievably POWERFUL song, the "Let it go!".

This film was inspired by Hans Christian Andrsen magnificent story the "Snow Queen", published the first time in 1845, but it is only a distant inspiration - the story in the film has very little in common with this classic bittersweet treat. In fact it is a completely different tale, about two princesses, Elsa, the wise but sad elder sister and Anna, the impulsive, merry but a little bit foolish (at least initially) younger one. The sisters love one another dearly, but early in their childhood dire circumstances (and a REALLY stupid advice) erected a wall between them - and in fact also a wall between Elsa and all the rest of the world... And the day this wall unavoidably collapses, well, Elsa will "let it go" - and all hell will break loose! I will say here nothing more about the story.

My 12 year old daughter simply adored this film. My 4 year old daughter liked it too, although she didn't exactly understand the story, but she was quite happy with the snowman Olaf (lots of giggling), the OTHER snowman who was not Olaf (lots of pretending to be afraid), the reindeer Sven ("daddy can I have a reindeer?"), the carrots (an important element of the film), the songs and the beautiful images.

Me, I was absolutely impressed by the visual aspect of this film, the clever dialogs and this INCREDIBLE "Let it go!" song, which is I believe the best musical cinema moment I had since "The circle of life" in "Lion King". And also I was absolutely impressed with the character of Elsa - we can clearly see there a John Lasseter's touch in the scenario, a little bit similar to the "corrected image of typical Disney princess" he already offered us in "Brave" and "Tangled".

This film teaches us many things, including two crucially important warnings for parents:

- if you have a child with issues, do not take advice from a troll! Or at least get also a second opinion!
- if you have one child with issues AND therefore also a vulnerable sibling, BOTH of you should not take stupid risks, because those children need at least one of you to live and be there for them!

The ending is may be just a little bit weaker than one could expect, but after all it is a film for kids and it was appropriate for the young public. Still, this is a minor point and honestly, if "Frozen" doesn't win the Oscar for Best Animated Film and "Let it go!" doesn't take the Oscar for best original song, it will mean there is no justice in this world... UPDATE IN MARCH 2014: well, it seems that there is still some justice left in this world...

This is a great film, to watch absolutely on the big screen, as long as it still plays in theatres - and later, I advise to buy this one on Blu-ray, because here the quality of picture is REALLY important and every pixel counts. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's fab!!!, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Me and my daughter love this film!!! It's full of singing and dancing Disney have done a great job!!! We love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, play it a few times then hide it!!!, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My children adore this movie. It mysteriously went missing a couple of weeks ago ..... no-one can find it (well not the children anyway) Great little movie that the kids adore and the adults begin to hate after the 300 time of playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2533 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frozen [DVD]
Frozen [DVD] by Jennifer Lee (DVD - 2014)
£9.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews