Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOMER'S SECRET MATHS
This is Simon Singh's latest book. Previous offerings include "Fermat's Last Theorem" and "The Code Book".

Many may be quite surprised to discover that there lies embedded in The Simpsons cartoon series a chunk-full of mathematics. What is not generally known is that several of the writers on The Simpsons are in fact respectable mathematicians. These writers...
Published 12 months ago by Jet Lagged

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Runs out of steam
I like Simon Singh. I love Maths. I love The Simpsons.
For a while, this is an interesting and engaging idea, but sadly he just didn't have enough material for a whole book. I don't mind that Singh branches off into Futurama - it's from the same stable, that's fair enough, but I do mind the repetition. You know those TV programs (usually reality or makeover shows)...
Published 5 months ago by GVI Gary


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making maths accessible, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great work by a great author. Simon has the ability to make maths interesting to someone who was turned off the subject at school,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really being a Simpson's fan, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the book and its insights into the Simpsons world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pi fect read, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. It took me a while to finish it though because every couple of pages i had to stop reading and then google the many names and theories that would crop up in the book.

If you like the Simpsons and you love Mathematics this is an excellent read.

However i was very disappointed that it did not contain 1729 pages

;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Simon Singh, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was very much in line with others that Simon Singh has authored. It is witty, full of facts and some rather complex mathematics explained very well. It will appeal to Simpsons fans as it gives some genuine insight into the shows writers and their maths and science backgrounds. It will also appeal to those of a mathematical bent with loads of "geek" detail. Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished reading this book, and I have to say I really enjoyed it.
An interesting insight into some interesting Maths, but also the thought that goes into making the show. Who would have thought comedy writing and Maths go hand in hand?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great item thanks, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
speedy delivery, great item thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting but not an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thi ticks all the boxes for me, 4 July 2014
By 
sledgey (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable book for me. Simon Singh writes with great clarity and enthusiasm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars D'oh!, 23 Oct 2014
By 
Rough Diamond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
What do you get if you combine nerdiness about the Simpsons with nerdiness about maths? Is in (nerd + nerd)? Or nerd squared? Or maybe nerd to the power of nerd? Or is it 'The Simpsons and their Mathematical Secrets'?

I found this an unsatisfying and irritating book. Unsatisfying because it's basically a magazine article stretched out to book length by means of a whole raft of barely-relevant digressions. Irritating because of Singh's smug, patronising and in-jokey approach to potentially quite an interesting topic.

If you enjoyed Singh's 'Fermat's Last Theorem', be warned that this isn't nearly as gripping or as entertaining a book. If you're a fan of the Simpsons, prepare to be bored witless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book with the maths well explained. I never knew the Simpsons cartoons contained so much information. Well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews