Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clockwork world
My review is of the deluxe package that is available from.. RUSH Backstage Club,and i really liked this tour and the string section is a nice touch,the blu-ray contains the full concert with all the extras as well and on one disc,and picture and sound quality are also good.

A lot of comments about geddy's voice but i find it ok on this release,and i saw the...
Published 6 months ago by jamie d.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio Mix is Terrible
Been a devoted Rush fan for 35 years, and last saw them twice on CA tour at MEN and NEC, which were superb as you would expect from the boys. However I have played the DVD on both a Sony Dav IS10 and Yamaha YAS101 and the sound mix is terrible. On the Sony the bass was distorted and on the YAS it just sounds tinny..only had the YAS a couple of days and had hoped it would...
Published 6 months ago by g3ddy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clockwork world, 25 Jan 2014
My review is of the deluxe package that is available from.. RUSH Backstage Club,and i really liked this tour and the string section is a nice touch,the blu-ray contains the full concert with all the extras as well and on one disc,and picture and sound quality are also good.

A lot of comments about geddy's voice but i find it ok on this release,and i saw the show in glasgow and the whole group came across really well.
It's a good set list also with some song's from (Power Windows)that we don't hear much of live.
A great stage production as well,whatever you may say about rush there are not many who can perform a 3 hour concert,as these guys are the real deal!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch quality from top notch band, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you would expect and demand from Bluray (but seldom get), a crystal clear picture that picks up every wrinkle and hair. The main show has various cameras dotted around capturing the obligatory over head shot of Neil Peart, close ups and full stage panoramas including one sat within the the drumkit looking up at Neil.
Geddys voice is better than that of the Time Machine tour DVD but does get 'pitchy' at times. Alex is captured with all his fantastic guitar playing and buffoonery and the whole show perfectly captures the bands friendship and interaction.
Anyone who doesn't know, Rush took on tour a small string section with them for the second set which includes much of Clockwork Angels and also adds a new dimension to older favourites.
Also, extra songs from other shows which weren't played in this show in an effort to mix things up a bit and freshen the show on a nightly basis are here including Middletown Dreams.
A tour documentary and rear screen films and a Family Guy salute to the band make up this fantastic Bluray.
I watched this on a 1080p Plasma 42" and the picture and the panning of the camera was excellent, I usually pick up issues with the picture so from an initial screening it is spot on, as is the sound which I blared through a 1000 watt surround system.
Hopefully that covers it.
After reading other reviews about sound, I have had another listen and I personally found the sound really good. I did have to flick through the sound settings on my surround system to get the 'perfect sound' though.
Also I must point out that Rush didn't play the same set on a nightly basis, one night they would play Middletown Dreams in favour of Grand Designs and maybe The Pass in favour of The Body Electric, so as well as the original Dallas set you also get the others that were played in Phoenix. In total, 14 different setlists were played through the whole tour including one for Ottawa Blues Fest and one for the Sweden rock Festival.
Beware, big fans of the sword and sorcery era of Rush that despise the synth era will not like this DVD/Bluray as it only features ONE pre-eighties track,2112 (however Working Man did feature in the first five setlists before being dropped permanently for Spirit of Radio but does not feature in the extras).
Hopefully that covers it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Possibly their best Live blu-ray., 21 Nov 2013
By 
R. Mills (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the awful Time Machine Blu-ray (dire video quality etc etc - despite the excellent Moving Pictures set-list) this one really shines.
Very very good picture quality and sound - don't know what some of the other reviewers are missing here, as it sounds great on my (albeit pretty decent 2 ch set-up). I set the Blu-Ray disc to the 2 Channel Stereo setting and it sounds fast, up-beat and clear, maybe a touch bright, but to be fair, that is actually the Rush sound. If I switch to the 5.1 DTS-mega whatever setting, my amp re-codes to 2ch stereo and the sound is very different, very bassy and much more dense, which some may prefer. I suggest having a fiddle with your player/amp or disc settings. What I like about this video is the very live-show feel to it - it's been well thought out. Sometimes Rush make their videos too much like a presentation and miss out on the atmosphere. Not here. The picture quality is very clean and clear but has plenty of little cut-away shots from loads of different angles that captures bits of the audience too - and you'll identify the many types of Rush fan and find yourself in there somewhere. I really like the soundcheck at the beginning and the slightly self-conscious Geddy, Alex and Neil mingling with the stage crew. You also get to see the boys creep onto the stage during the intro film - which we see from the audience perspective, rather than cut-in to the edit.The sound too has not been taken just from the desk, as sometimes happens - where you don't get a sense of the arena. Here, you get the feeling of the sound being in the space - it sounds real to me. A few of the set-list tracks have been relegated to the DVD extras, Manhattan Project, the Pass, so the presented set-list is very much centred around the Clockwork Angels LP. Ok, maybe the set-list on the night won't go down in history as one of their best, but it had an idea behind it, and heck as if there aren't enough other Rush live vids out there. Of course, you get the extra benefit of the String Ensemble which adds a new layer to YYZ - worth seeing.

Yes the S&A live vid is perhaps a better all round disc, with the slotted in between track movies and goofs and the better set-list but I really think this Blu-Ray captures the show as it was on the Tour, has plenty of atmosphere and balances the technical polish with a sense of adrenalin.
I was going to buy it as a souvenir in any case, but now having played it a couple of times I am actually very pleasantly surprised - especially as the Live CD version has got some luke-warm reviews. Top purchase. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clockwork Angels Tour, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork Angels Tour [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Received in excellent order so thank you very much for a very good Music DVD that takes you back to the good times with a brilliant band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork Angels Tour [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he was over the moon with it. Delivery was quick and price reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have DVD, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork Angels Tour [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Family went to see Clockwork Angels Tour so had to have the DVD. Excellent purchase. A well used item in our house.
Thank you Rush. It is just like being there again with the headphones on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 11 April 2014
After reading some critical reviews about sound quality and mixing I started to watch my Blu-ray version with some apprehension, but have to say was not disappointed. I also have the live CD and listening to that in the car is just amazing! Ok - so sometimes Geddy's voice is a little hard hit on occasion, but this in itself adds to the atmosphere of this fantastic show. And anyway - rock and roll was never meant to be perfect! Top marks boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars canadian genius;, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant musicianship, with an ever eye catching array of visuals, define Rush as a band at the top of their game , classic rock indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork Angels Tour [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A must for any rush fan but not as good as being there as I was last year oh yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say other than brilliant., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For Rush fans old and new, there is music from the seventies, eighties, ninety's and 00s, right up to date. This is like a history lesson in outstanding musicianship. Get it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clockwork Angels Tour [DVD] [2013]
17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews