Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close to brilliance
Season 5 continues where season 4 left off with a few select members of DS9 undergoing surgery to infiltrate the klingon to empire in order to root out a dominion impostor. The 5th season borders on brilliance with fantastic episodes like the ship, the mid season 2 parter (in purgatory's shadow & in infernos light) before leading to a spectacular season finale which sets...
Published on 28 July 2007 by R. Fisher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars niners
i was dissappointed that the sleeve was different and insert missing from disc 1 & 2 and that this was not mentioned in the description the production is superb
Published 15 months ago by Michael A.B. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close to brilliance, 28 July 2007
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Season 5 continues where season 4 left off with a few select members of DS9 undergoing surgery to infiltrate the klingon to empire in order to root out a dominion impostor. The 5th season borders on brilliance with fantastic episodes like the ship, the mid season 2 parter (in purgatory's shadow & in infernos light) before leading to a spectacular season finale which sets up for season 6.Along the way there's some great episodes like rapture when the stations biggest crook & security chief are marooned together on an isolated planet & the genuinely tense & chilling empok nor one of the best episodes of DS9. These are just a few of the great episodes in this a great season of drama & action at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very STRONG season.., 22 Nov 2008
By 
G. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In what is a fantastic series all the way through, season 5 is in my opinion a stand out season. The Dominion story arc really kicks off, and the final episode is one of the best of the whole run. 5/5 easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid season Worth buying, 31 Jan 2004
By 
Ds9 season 5 starts of well,The first 3 episodes are very watchable,4 episodes on 1 disc youll enjoy the first disc for sure.It starts off carrying on the story from season 4 with Sisko,Worf,Odo and O Brien going undercover as klingons deep into klingon territory to unravel a mstery with the changlings(Odos people)The dominion has secret agents disguised as klingons and the crew have to expose just 1 to stop a war that the dominion wants a war that will cripple Cardassia.
The 2nd episode simple titled The ship is a siege type situation involving the crew and a crashed jem hadar ship and a secret in the ship.
The 3rd episode sees Quark having to fight hand to hand combat with Worfs help to win over his ex Klingon wife,stange but true,a subplot thats contiued from season 3 an episode called The House of Quark.
Eventually the crew of ds9 and starfleet get brand new uniforms that are grey that becomes the new uniform for the Federation.This happens midway through the season.
There are some very strong episodes aswell such as Things past,which sees Garak,Odo,Dax and Sisko being forced to relive events in the lives and events of 4 Bajorans convicted of trying to murder Gul Dukat.one of the few occupation style episodes.An episode which is very polular among most star trek fans is Trials and Tribble-Ations were the crew go back intime to Kirks era,the blending in of the past and present people and ships is quite genius.1 more very strong episode worh mentioning is Soldiers of the Empire which is if your a Klingon fan, youll really love, as it was based around what a series of star trek klingon would be like,based mainly on a kilingon ship you get to see the inside of it for most of the episode.
All in all a good season no real terrible episodes in my opinion only maybe 2 poor ones but thats it, mostly good,I think season 4 might be slightly better though as far as quality goes,but only just.The
extras on the dvd are the crew profile of Miles O brien and as always several hidden but easily found extra clips of interviews to watch found very easily by clicking on a map of the station.Also thers at least 4 documentries,one being the ferengi culture,two the aliens of season 5,three inside ds9 and 2 more about Trials and Tribble-ations and a photo gallery.pheww,
you also get a token to collect special merchandide,1 comes with every ds9 season.The extras are well worth seeing for europeans as thers hardly ever any interviews from the cast on european tv.Id recommend buying this if you really like ds9 or even just star trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch It!..., 16 Jan 2006
By 
The viewing figures for this series were always ok but not great... yet this Star Trek spin-off is by far the most critically acclaimed. Why then does nobody listen one of the times they're actually right?
DS9 with its long story arcs and developed characters is far more addictive then almost any other sci-fi tv show... much darker than the other ST shows it is indeed enjoyable and for 6 disks is a bargain. Buy now before Paramount decides to stop even making the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS9., 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably my least favourite Star Trek franchise but still enjoyable. I have the box set of all the series but it's out of warranty. However one of the discs from series 5 was faulty so I bought this just to replace that disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best star trek series, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Ok, I know that there are die heart Star Trek fans who would disagree with me but I think Deep Space 9 is the best Star Trek series. The reason is the humor. I love the humor, and I love the character development in Deep Space 9. It tells you who these individuals are. Better acting and casting. I love the Frenghi character Quark. I think he is my favorite Star Trek character. I like the idea of shape shifters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star trek fan or not you will love this, 19 Jan 2008
By 
Liam Faulkner "L1am88" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Season 5 starts with Apocalypse (Great) and ends in Call of arms (great) If you are a DS9 fan or not then this is for you buy it sit down watch enjoy and get yourself ready for season 6 i promise you won't regreat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic season, 4 May 2010
Since getting a real shot in the arm with Worf's arrival in season four, season five capitalises on the strengths of the show with provoking, touching and downright excellent episode.

Best on the DVD is "Trials and Tribble-ations", the best tribute to the original Star Trek series there has ever been. Other highlights in the early part of the season include the Tarantino inspired "The Ship", the Cyrano de Bergerac homage of "Looking for par'Mach in All the Wrong Places", the excellent "The Ascent", where Rene Auberjonois and Armin Shimerman have many brilliant scenes together, and the touching "The Begotten".

Later in the season is "In Purgatory's Shadow" and "By Inferno's Light", where the Dominion invades, setting the scene for the Dominion War. The season is wrapped up with the excellent "Call to Arms", the best Star Trek cliffhanger since "The Best of Both Worlds".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Station DS9 in where the action is, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At the end of season 4 Odo mentions the Klingons and how one of them is a shapeshifter to Sisko and Kira and points at Gowron to which the federation assigns Sisko, O'brien, Odo and Worf to enter klingon space to a cermony known as the Order to the Batleth to expose the klingons to who the real spy is within the empire. the Traitor is eventually weeded because of Odo's recent experience as a shapeshifter before becoming a human.

Between the Klingon inflitation and the Dominion entering the Alpha Quadrant several conflicts between the various sides about; a crashed ship which cost lives, a colony attacked by the klingons which was eventually thwarted and bajor's impending future relations with the federation.

however the situation picks up considerably, with the Cardassians almost defeated the Federation picks up a distress call from the Gamma Quadrant and the response was Worf and Garak arrested in the Gamma Quadrant by the dominion but not before a garbled warning message was received and dycypher by the federation about an apporaching dominion taskforce to which the entire alpha quadrant braced itself for... shortly after the dominion formed an alliance with the Cardassians which destroyed the Klingons momentum and even reversed it, when gowron arrived on the station the klingons saw the importance of DS9 when the romulans made a surprise addition. however a spy on the station starts events which was stopped by another warning message from Worf and Garak as well as Julian Bashir and the rescued klingon martok and romulan officer in the flagship of the failed cardassian/romulan attack the other year.

With the dominion in the Alpha quadrant, things start happening very fast; the Marquis are wiped out which was mentioned by chakotay on voyager and the Federation looses their footing on DS9 at the end. with the invasion Garak flees along with the rest of the starfleet personnel apart from the reporter and captains son being Jake Sisko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TREK DEEP SPACE 9: SEASON 5, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a huge Star Trek fan, this series was always my least favorite when it first aired back in 1993. Possibly due to it been very dark in nature and also too militaristic. However, years later I decided to purchase the slimline box sets(Excellent value) and the show has proved a sensation.
Well acted,good story arcs as well as stand alone episodes. There is more humour than I thought too which has pleasantly surprised me.
If you get the chance, I recommend this sci-fi show from the 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews