Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comedy
not at their best but still a funny movie.
they where better in black knight and evil woman respectively.
not bad
Published on 31 May 2012 by psop

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awkward pointless pap!
Awful film, had to switch it off, but managed 45 mins. Too many cheesy and unnecessary 'is it because I'm black?' retorts. It is painful to me to understand, as a mixed race person, why so much of this rubbish is churned out in the States! Thoughtless clunky, cave-man script, morally unjust precept, unrelenting, nonsense! In these times, to pointlessly draw comedic...
Published 6 months ago by R. Jellinek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awkward pointless pap!, 12 Sept. 2014
By 
R. Jellinek (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awful film, had to switch it off, but managed 45 mins. Too many cheesy and unnecessary 'is it because I'm black?' retorts. It is painful to me to understand, as a mixed race person, why so much of this rubbish is churned out in the States! Thoughtless clunky, cave-man script, morally unjust precept, unrelenting, nonsense! In these times, to pointlessly draw comedic 'material' based on police abuse of black males (in the U.S especially) is just irresponsible and vulgar to say the least. Usual gratuitous gunplay, black -white mistrust, 'biyatches' as fluff to pad things out and underpin a rampant need for alpha male-ness ( 'can i have your number babe, cos I am a 'winner' -*yawn*) which is just too awful to watch.Not what I call funny..If you are in intelligent multicultural company, do not watch..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better for college students, 17 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Security [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is about two former cops who are unlucky enough to get demoted from being cops and both become security guards. Even thou they don't get along, they find themselves against the same foe. As clicled as it may sound, they work together despite their differences.

As much as I'm a fan of Martin Lawrence (well known for his responsible character in Blue Streak), I thought the role between him and Steve Zahn (better known as his character in Daddy Day Care) was interesting. Not to say Martin Lawrence is bad, I thought he displayed such a negative character that many people may get the wrong idea over and hate him for it and I think this portrayal on the character is some viewers may not get.

I think this is more of a college movie as the two characters are willing but are unfortunate enough to work together in really bizarre situation but do somehow get along towards the end.

Even for a comedy, I think anyone should think twice about buying this movie and give it at least a rental. I bought this movie because I do want to share this and it does brighten up my day a little bit however I can tell you that the movie is not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comedy, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not at their best but still a funny movie.
they where better in black knight and evil woman respectively.
not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Would have been a pretty good film otherwise, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the most racist things I've ever watched. Would have been a pretty good film otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
R. L. Siddons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good film, great choice for bluray although not a clear winner for the blu ray chart but very good film and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
martin Lawrence is the business,but steve zahns faces are even better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Martin Lawrence Film!, 26 Sept. 2003
If you have seen film's such as Blue Streak or Big Mommas House then you will know that Martin Lawrence is a great and most of all funny actor. Basically in this film there are two cops. Hank get's 6 months in jail for assaulting another Officer Earl. He then loses his wife and also his best work mate. If things couldnt get worse Hank & Earl get jobs as security guards and find they end up working together. This is a great film worth to watch and to buy. A Must Have Must See Film! Top Stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical. A must for Martin Lawrence fans., 18 Aug. 2009
This is just hysterical. Martin at his absolute best. The film is silly, funny action packed and also pretty meaningful at times. It manages to explore the issues of racism and reverse racism in an amusing and unpretentious manner.

Buy it right now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cooooooooooooooooool, 4 Nov. 2005
This film is as funny as it is exciting.
I think you'll probably be surprised at how funny Martin Lawrence is. Like I was.
The funny story between black and white people is based about false racism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What the problem is?, 18 Oct. 2005
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I usually don't like Martin Lawrence and I find his anti-white humor to be quite offensive as well as his string of bad movies. But compared to his other movie of 2003 (that would be the shockingly awful Bad Boys II), National Security is a rather easy-going and light-hearted cop comedy flick with quite a few good laughs. A lot of them, surprisingly, coming from Lawrence himself.
Hank Rafferty (Steve Zahn)is a cop who is unfairly thrown in jail for apparently beating a black suspect (Lawrence) who just got kicked out of Police Academy. With his career in tatters he emerges from the slammer with only one job opportunity available; a lowly guard for a lowly security company. Determined to follow up on the big case he was involved with before serving time, he crosses the path of fellow security guard Earl Montgomery (Lawrence again) and the two reignite their old conflict.
The old love/hate buddy thing may be old and the plot may be silly but it's a great excuse for loads of action set-pieces and humor. The potentially dangerous comedy of black vs white never becomes offensive and is handled with such lightness that it never becomes an issue. Both men have their failings and bonuses and are as equal as each other. You really do feel a great partnership between them despite their arguing and fights.
Give National Treasure a try. It's slick and fast-moving and is a helluva lot better than Bad Boys II. You'll probably be surprised at how funny Martin Lawrence is. I was.
The DVD is in great looking 1.85:1 widescreen with pretty good Dolby 5.1 sound. The scenes where Lawrence uses his automatic pistol really pack a heavy punch in the .1 LFE channel. The usual deleted scenes and commentary are included on the DVD but I was surprised the extended ending wasn't included in the film. It would have been better with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Security
National Security by Dennis Dugan
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews