Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raising Titanic
I fail to see where the previous reveiwer came to the conclusion of material available that could have been used in this DVDs release.

Being the UK's historian on "Raise The Titanic" of which I supplied (at the last minute) all that is seen in the 'special features' section, I can say that there is very little out there on this movie. There was no "official"...
Published on 8 May 2007 by J. Smith

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grand film, lousy DVD
I too love this film despite the way it fractured Clive Cussler's novel. His story was tight, this one is not. But for the great and wonderful joy of watching the grand ship rise from her grave and complete her journey west, I will always love this film.
However, this is one of the shoddiest DVD releases ever. First, it's pan and scan. The box SAYS the aspect...
Published on 2 Mar 2005 by Sylvia Stoddard


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raising Titanic, 8 May 2007
By 
J. Smith "The Captain" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I fail to see where the previous reveiwer came to the conclusion of material available that could have been used in this DVDs release.

Being the UK's historian on "Raise The Titanic" of which I supplied (at the last minute) all that is seen in the 'special features' section, I can say that there is very little out there on this movie. There was no "official" making-of documentary made for this film, except for a promotional sales gimmick put together in 1980. Sadly this could not be used due to time contraints. No deleated scenes exsist anymore for this film, the original 12 minute sinking footage is currently in the hands of a private collector who will not release it and any "behind-the-scenes" footage (again) could not be used due to time constraints and copyright.

Before I became involved with the dvd, all that was going to be seen on the dvd was the film. And with the VERY little time I had to put together material from my private collection (including images not seen until now), the outcome for this release was far better than it was originally planned.

However, there is a possibility of a future release in a couple of years time of a "Special Edition" version of "Raise The Titanic", which will feature a lot more material from my private collection.

Mr J Smith (Titanic Historian - United Kingdom)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aspect Ratio, 7 Dec 2013
By 
E. R. Marsh "Ernie Marsh" (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Contrary to what Amazon.com are stating I have in writing from Shout Factory that the aspect ratio from their new Blu Ray release of "Raise The Titanic" is the correct one of 2.35 : 1. At the same time they will not say if any extras will be included. As for the reviewer who states that it should be 2.20 : 1 this only applied to the few 70mm prints that were made. This great movie should look great on BD, and I hope that Shout Factory follow it up with ITCs "Green Ice".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way it should be seen - full letterbox format, 25 Nov 2010
By 
Kenneth Siller (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember seeing this movie in the theater back in 1980 and it became one of my favorites. The story was interesting and John Barry composed a majestic score to complement it. This followed his great work on the 1979 films "Moonraker" and "The Black Hole." I bought the videocassette version of it a few years later but it didn't do the film justice. No home video version released in the United States (Region 1) presented this film in its full aspect ratio (2.35:1).

Then I searched online in the United Kingdom (Region 2) and found it. This is the version of the film I've always wanted. Full letterbox format, not pan and scan, with the original Dolby Surround soundtrack.

The theatrical trailer and extras including a photo collection of the Titanic model used in the film are fantastic.

This film is a great percursor to the actual discovery of the Titanic.

Although it can't compare to James Cameron's "Titanic" with regard to special effects, its story is no less compelling. I consider it to be a great companion to that film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grand film, lousy DVD, 2 Mar 2005
By 
Sylvia Stoddard (Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raise The Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
I too love this film despite the way it fractured Clive Cussler's novel. His story was tight, this one is not. But for the great and wonderful joy of watching the grand ship rise from her grave and complete her journey west, I will always love this film.
However, this is one of the shoddiest DVD releases ever. First, it's pan and scan. The box SAYS the aspect ratio is 16:9. It is NOT. It's good old 1.33:1
This is a movie made for widescreen and there's no reason to release it in any but its original aspect ratio. The sound's okay, but the picture is not. The only special feature is a 3-minute trailer which, unlike the film, is widescreen and only shows how much you missed in the movie. If you don't have the trailer and love ocean liner movies, maybe it's worth buying for that, but I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big budget sinks without trace..., 13 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Famously, Lew Grade spoke at the time this movie came out of the huge budget, saying it would have been cheaper to lower the Atlantic. Now, it's very difficult to see what the fuss was about, one way or another. On one hand, it's not nearly as bad as its reputation would suggest. There's a decent cold war thriller in there somewhere. The cast are fine, too.. even the odd cameo from Alec Guinness as a remaining survivor of the Titanic.
The plot is somewhat troublesome (one is tempted to describe it as being all-at-sea), especially given that since the movie was made the actual Titanic was found - in two pieces. However, the explanations of how it might be raised are reasonably convincing in a pre-discovery context. Even the special effects could be worse.. . so in fact, it's the direction that's to blame. For one thing, too much time in near darkness with submersibles buzzing around in slow motion. Critically, the real action elements of the book have been gutted, to spend time on ogling the model of the Titanic and interior set of its Drawing room. In the book, there were scenes set during the sinking of the Titanic which added both interest and suspense, and then after the raising there is a whole subplot with Russian agents coming aboard, which has been excised.. now what we are left with is the building up of cold war tension, resolved in a moment and the Russian shrugs his shoulders and leaves.. hardly `thrilling'. In short, the movie is likely to abide with you for all the wrong reasons.
It is a curiosity, which may be of interest to some in spite of its flaws... but to add insult to injury it is ill served in this budget release. The extras are mostly photographs, when surely there would be much to tell in a making off documentary, or even more about the Titanic herself. Some of the photographs allude to cut scenes including from the Titanic going down, which surely would have been of interest. A missed opportunity then, to turn a much maligned movie into at least an interesting collector's piece. And one final comment - surely of all films, this one was crying out for... liner notes..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Up she comes", 15 Aug 2003
By 
MR J SMITH (Willenhall, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raise The Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
After years of waiting, the ITC classic "Raise The Titanic!" has been finaly released on DVD for the United Kingdom. The film has always been a personal favourite of mine and so I was very excited to receive news of its release. The packaging is colourful, its a pleasure to view the original film trailer from 1980, but the highlight for me was the chance to view the film in its restored state and widescreen format. They have done a wonderful job of cleaning up the film, restoring the old sound and quality and all at a very good price too. If you are into the Titanic this is one film you MUST have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars now not out in the uk till 2015, 30 Jun 2014
why the hell had the uk release been put back again now its not coming out till feb 2015
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, just rather dull, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Raise The Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
A one-time Stanley Kramer project before he jumped ship after a couple of weeks' filming, Raise the Titanic is one of those films that isn't really that bad, it just isn't much good. It handles the exposition and setup briskly and efficiently and the raising of the wreck genuinely spectacularly, but everything inbetween is just tedious and undramatic. A huge problem is the decision to drop the parallel narrative from the book: where the film only concentrates on the modern-day story, which means lots of looking at sonar screens while mini-subs float around in the darkest depths of the ocean for almost as long as it took the ship to sink, the book livened things up with the ship's maiden voyage and sinking as well. The end result is by the rules storytelling that keeps everything under two hours, but which keeps everything pretty flat as well. Still, it has its moments - Alec Guinness' cameo, Richard Jordan wandering through the ghostly skeleton of the Titanic's ballroom, the sequence of the raised Titanic sailing into New York past the Twin Towers inadvertently linking the first great civilian tragedy of the 20th century with the first great civilian tragedy of the 21st - and has a very nice score by John Barry.

Sadly, while the film looks good in its original Scope ratio, Carlton's UK DVD is cropped to 1.85:1 - for the full original 2.35:1 widescreen version you need to track down the Australian, Swedish PAL DVDs or Network's more recent UK DVD, though considering the amount of material available for the film at the time of its release (such as the Clapperboard TV special, the mock news report documentary that can be found on the internet or the additional trailer) the extras are rather skimpy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
R. Ardis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raise the Titanic
Raise the Titanic by Jerry Jameson
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews