Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!
Hank is an unlikely hero. A Grade 4 mutant, he is slow and very solidly built, being able to survive bullets and other hostile projectiles. As a result of this his services are much in demand as an enforcer for the various underworld bosses on the space station, Belvaille. Hank, who narrates his own story is, despite all this rather endearing and comes across as really...
Published 16 months ago by Brett H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solidly entertaining, tongue in cheek sci-fi (3.5 stars)
Hank is a mutant thug for hire on a space station called Belvaille; a place on the outskirts of civilisation populated mostly by criminals. Despite the fact that he's virtually indestructible and totes a ridiculously powerful alien pistol, Hank prefers to settle things through negotiation rather than violence. When a pair of fugitive siblings arrive on the station seeking...
Published 5 months ago by Fooster69


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solidly entertaining, tongue in cheek sci-fi (3.5 stars), 11 Oct. 2014
By 
Fooster69 (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
Hank is a mutant thug for hire on a space station called Belvaille; a place on the outskirts of civilisation populated mostly by criminals. Despite the fact that he's virtually indestructible and totes a ridiculously powerful alien pistol, Hank prefers to settle things through negotiation rather than violence. When a pair of fugitive siblings arrive on the station seeking his help, Hank finds himself reluctantly drawn into a caper that involves a rare and highly volatile explosive element, a trio of rampaging robotic killing machines, a mutant with god-like powers and a face-off with the most powerful race in the galaxy.

There's a lot to enjoy here. Hank is a likeable protagonist with a nice line in self-depricating humour. The sparky dialogue and colourful supporting characters add to the fun. The story rattles along at a fair old pace and there are plenty of genuinely funny moments.

On the downside, as other reviewers have noted, the prose is a tad workmanlike. It seems to consist mostly of short passages of bland description linking the otherwise excellent dialogue. As a result, Belvaille, where the bulk of the action takes place, never really comes alive vividly in the mind. There's no real sense that this is a living, breathing community. Instead, it fees like a sparsely decorated stage set, onto which the principle characters appear, do their stuff and then depart. It leaves you wishing the author had just slowed down, took a deep breath and put a bit more time and effort into
depicting this world, rather than simply concentrating on moving the story forward at breakneck pace.
Still, you could pay a lot more for books a lot worse than this, and I would happily read more of Hank's adventures should they appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 26 Nov. 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
Hank is an unlikely hero. A Grade 4 mutant, he is slow and very solidly built, being able to survive bullets and other hostile projectiles. As a result of this his services are much in demand as an enforcer for the various underworld bosses on the space station, Belvaille. Hank, who narrates his own story is, despite all this rather endearing and comes across as really very human. Although he describes himself as mentally a little slow the reader soon realises that he is actually quite clever in a practical, down to earth sort of way, as a result of which he is also rather successful in his alternative calling as an arbitrator.

This book must have the best opening line that I have read for quite a while - 'The space station, Belvaille was not the most corrupt city in the galaxy, but we liked to think we were in the top five'. It sets the scene with its rather tongue in cheek humour and despite the killing, mayhem and threat of the entire galaxy being obliterated, this is really quite a light hearted and thoroughly amusing story.

Self published books vary greatly, but this is certainly one of the best which I have read for quite a while. The plot is cleverly thought out and does not run out of steam towards the conclusion. I do not know if the author has further plans for Hank, Belvaille and it's strange and varied inhabitants, but if they are the subject of a further tale it will certainly be on my reading list. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone with a gun was a potential buddy as I saw it, 31 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
A light-hearted science fiction is a rare beast nowadays. Long gone are the days of Harry Harrison and Keith Laumer. So, when we have a chance to read something that is upbeat, free-flowing, and entertaining, we should take it.

"Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy" is one of such books. The main protagonist and POV character, Hank, is a "mediator." When negotiations between various unsavory characters come to the point of pointing guns at each other, the parties involved hire him to arrive to a more "peaceful" and less expensive resolution. As Hank says:

"There's a reason people hire me. It's not because I'm a genius. Or an expert marksman. Or because of my stunning good looks. No, it's because I actually listen."

Being bulletproof also helps. Hank is a "level four mutant," whose specific ability is an almost impervious exterior and fast regenerative powers. His services are in great demand: he lives on Belvaille, a most remote space station of Colmarian Confederation, where "overwhelming majority [of its inhabitants] were involved in illegal activities or were wanted as criminals."

Sometimes, there are problems that even Hank cannot solve easily. Like killer robots, Dredel Led, that came for a visit to the station to shoot it up a bit, or a mysterious brother/sister combo, who are on the ran from everyone and think that Hank is their new best friend.

Well, Hank is doing the best he can, under the circumstances. As the station's newspaper describes his various adventures: "Everything had looked grim, no hope of survival, and then I showed up, looking calm as could be, eating a sandwich."

This novel is a light read, with some good one-liners. If you are looking for a light-hearted Sci-Fi, you found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't plan on anything else for a few hours once you get started, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
It's rarely worth reviewing a Kindle Book in the lower price bracket.

However, this is a good read, with lots of humour, in a Harry Harrison Stainless Steel Rat Vein.

This is a masterpiece of it's sort, combining some of the early Space Opera ideals with more modern Steam Punk stuff. The only shame is that the spin off novels are not quite as well sorted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, honest entertainment., 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
This is an odd one for me. I really enjoyed the story, and the characters- while perhaps a little bit clichéd- were entertaining. The main character was exactly what I was expecting him to be, but not in a bad way! The whole book felt like an odd mix of deep space sci-fi, Terry Pratchett, and an old Film Noir type movie.

My only complaint, really, is that something about the writing style felt oddly flat. I can't really explain it, but something felt very off about it. There were moments when long periods of time would be skimmed over in a few sentences, while other, less significant incidents were described in great detail. There were also a few very significant plot points that seemed to vanish or be forgotten, which struck me as very strange and rather unsatisfying.

Overall, though, this is a good, solid book. I would recommend it to other readers, especially those who like things a bit silly, but not so silly that it's completely unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
Very likeable main character (fantastic actually)
Often funny
Good setting
Well written (as in good prose style)
Decent plot
At no point did I get bored, or need a break

It's not an instant classic or anything, but it's not Dan Brown style nonsense either :)
Great light sci-fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine plot, 15 May 2014
By 
Andrew Davie "AndrewDavie" (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the plot on this.
I'm knocking one star off due to writing style - sometimes it was hard to tell what was happening and I had to re-read a paragraph twice to work it out.
I'll probably pick up the sequel at some point, but I can't say it's a 'Must buy ASAP' for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars intersting story line, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
a good laugh as well as a good read. I did like the idea of such a chracter, it would do well as a second book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strawberry blancmange, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
This is an enjoyable silly light novel. Not a classic but enjoyable. You could do a lot worse than pick up this book if you are between reads. Not bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, you won't be sorry. nuff said., 19 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy (Kindle Edition)
It's incredably rare to find such an easy to read, funny, light but engaging sci fi book that doesn't take itself too serious nor need to go into complex explanations about how everything works.

Hanks a simple guy, he tries to keep the gangs on a floating space station were crime if an everyday thing from killing each other, part mediator, thug, enforcer and all around badass. He's got a glowing alien gun and you'll be sorry if he uses it.

The story grabs you from the start and whilst the twist and turns aren't earth shattering they make for a fun engaging novel that i read in a single night.

Read it, you won't be sorry.

FYI - hanks battle cry Eat suck, suckface! nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews