Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars128
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2013
This ongoing family and police drama is peerless. Every actor is superb and the storyline exciting and always interesting. This series manages to keep the values of old fashioned family loyalty, Christian faith and riveting police/political drama balanced and compelling. Tom Selleck is extremely effective.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
I have been waiting for this for ages. It is one of the best programmes on the TV. It is a pity it is only available on Sky. But with the DVD set it is more than good, it is brilliant.!!!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Ia already looking forward to season 4 of this series, great story and action in every episode. Season 1 and 2 was great, this season is just as good.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I think I must be getting old; there is something deeply satisfying about this cosy family cop show although I still stand by my comments for season two: "it is still reassuringly safe, mawkishly Catholic, populated by caricatures and about as edgy as a pair of children's safety scissors". Maybe I'm still basking in the warm post-Christmas glow, but the portrayal of the close nuclear family and simple, neat storylines is an oddly appealing counterpoint to dysfunctional relationships and emotionally gruelling narratives that are more commonly presented as `entertainment'.

The mighty Tom continues to look like a well groomed version of my Dad and is the undisputed mainstay of the show, huffing and puffing his way amiably through the day's trials & tribulations dispensing worldly pearls of wisdom while the rest of the cast continue to fulfil their allotted roles (yes, Danny the wonderboy supercop is still over-acting). However, as the seasons have progressed, each character has acquired more depth & personality and the storylines cleverly exploit this (or is it the other way around? It is pretend, after all).

There is more complexity to the city hall political shenanigans; there is an uncharacteristically long narrative thread leading to Danny actually getting in trouble; Erin's teenage daughter Nicole is significantly less annoying and contributes meaningfully to the storyline and young Jamie seems constantly embattled by professional and moral dilemmas. We even have a decent two part finale leading inevitably to a happy, cheesy, improbably agreeable ending for the good people of the Regan family.

True Detective or The Wire it is not and doesn't even pretend to be; it's more of a cold flannel on a fevered brow, a nice cup of hot chocolate in front the fire sort of a show. There's nothing wrong with a bit of gentle fantasy now and again. I instinctively feel that I should dislike and ridicule Blue Bloods (I was a bit scathing in my review of Season one) but I just can't help liking it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
a very good series, have always enjoyed US police dramas. This is now my latest series, looking forward to series 4
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
More from our blue blooded family and another great season. Great value DVD season and hope for many more. A proper police show.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Basically it's about a American Catholic family who
At some time were in the police right at the top of the list
Is Frank Reagan the nypdpolice commissioner his retired
Father a former commissioner, Frank's 2 sons both serving
Police officers his daughter a da prosecutor the show
Deals with the family life of the Reagan's. Warts and all brilliant
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
This series started out better than ever, but between not being able to settle on a partner for Danny, out of idea over-thought plots and Erin's blurred digital make-up this series fell apart, and I'm very dissappointed. There are some good sub-plots, one in particular was very moving, but they are lost in Danny dominated episodes. I won't be buying series 4.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
I love Blue Bloods, the characters are believable and the story lines are always well written and acted. Having New York as a back drop for the episodes is even better.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This is the best series to come out of the cop shows for a long time. The excitement and danger of the daily duties of a family in the police force and lawyer daughter, with the rivalry between siblings is very well done.

All the characters fit well and come across as very believable. Tom Selleck is brilliant as usual, as the level headed Police Commissioner and father. Trying to raise his large Irish family on his own with only the advice of their grandfather and former Police Commissioner to keep his head strong family together and safe.

This has ALL the attributes required of a good seasons viewing and a long running series,family unity,danger some violence but not overly done and excellent writing. This is one for the future dark nights of winter viewing and highly recomend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)