Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2013
I am loving this book. Not quite finished it yet, but it's a very well written, fascinating narrative history and a rollicking adventure rolled into one. Darwin's early years are so well painted - he is very similar to many young men I know now in his sudden enthusiasms, dilettantism and passions. Kevin Jackson depicts him as a very appealing, likeable character and the Beagle trip comes across a bit like a gap year adventure. Darwin was plainly a sensitive young man, cut from a different cloth from many of those around him. What this book has done is made me want to read more about - and by - Darwin. A thoroughly satisfying read and I will be recommending it to my friends.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I was hoping for more depth and insites into Darwin's journey, but this was more an extraction of dates places and general overview of time spent at various places. Still for a background to the trip and a quick easy read then it's fine.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
I hadn't appreciated just how far and for how long was the Voyage of the Beagle; this is a fascinating story well told. The character of Darwin and his fellow travelers came to life in the pages of this book. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Very enjoyable read; told me many things I had not previously heard about this voyage and about Darwin. Set me off to find a fuller and more comprehensive analysis of Darwin's story
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
As a zoologist, I can't believe how long it's taken me to read about the voyage of the Beagle and Darwin's subsequent conjectures, realisations and theories in the context of contemporary scientific and religious beliefs. Wholeheartedly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I bought this at a 'budget' rate to learn about the voyage of the 'Beagle' and Darwin's life. Obviously a little old fashioned in the writing style,but if you want to learn about Darwin and his travels you will enjoy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This is s great introduction to Darwin's voyage on the Beagle. It doesn't go into any depth but it is well written and has left me wanting to know more. I would recommend as a quick read for someone short on time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 May 2015
This short book covers the great naturalist's five year voyage (1831-6) on the Beagle during which he encountered numerous peoples, animals and plants that helped him to formulate his theories of natural selection and evolution, though the development of his ideas was in itself an evolutionary process and not a sudden flash of inspiration. Darwin comes across very sympathetically, being a passionate opponent of slavery and a convinced believer in the equal worth of all human races. Ironically, in his youth his father decried him for being lazy and not doing anything with his life, beyond shooting countless birds on the family estate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
An interesting description of the voyage of the Beagle with Charles Darwin on board and the difficulties in getting specimens but virtually everywhere the ship went was new territory for Darwin and he remained enthusiastic no doubt stimulated by his search for knowledge with respect to his developing theories of evolution. I enjoyed this thoroughly..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I never knew the whole tale so it was quite an adventure reading it. Those guys were real explorers in a tiny ocean going wind powered ship with rudimentary navigation facilities that got them just where they wanted to be. Darwin himself was a brave man to do what he did and deserving of the great admiration that came his way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)