Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere Girl
The last few months have certainly been a rollercoaster ride for Doctor Who fans. The Name of the Doctor! The Night of the Doctor! The Day of the Doctor! The Time of the Doctor! Splendid stuff, all of it. Not to mention a veritable plethora of audios, books, etc. (The Veritable Plethora of the Doctor, you might say.) It’s a great time to be a fan.

Except...
Published 11 months ago by felicemorigel

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong, mysterious first half which tails off a little as story progresses.
I'm not sure if there is a theme to this latest series of Doctor Who ebooks but they've been nice surprises so far in that the first offered a new Fourth Doctor story a little more than a week or so after Tom Baker's return surprise appearance in the programme and this one is a new Eleventh Doctor story a couple of weeks after Matt Smith's last television episode...
Published 11 months ago by Alaran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere Girl, 29 Jan 2014
By 
felicemorigel - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
The last few months have certainly been a rollercoaster ride for Doctor Who fans. The Name of the Doctor! The Night of the Doctor! The Day of the Doctor! The Time of the Doctor! Splendid stuff, all of it. Not to mention a veritable plethora of audios, books, etc. (The Veritable Plethora of the Doctor, you might say.) It’s a great time to be a fan.

Except – except for that one little matter. Come in, No. 11, your time is up. And much as I’m looking forward to Peter Capaldi’s tenure in the TARDIS (there’s no doubt in my mind he’s going to be brilliant), I’m really, really going to miss Matt Smith. Because, you know what, Doctor? You were my Doctor.

Thankfully he’s not gone, not entirely, because there are still adventures out there we haven’t previously heard about, and one of these has now been recounted, as part of the new Time Trips series, by Jenny Colgan. The series kicked off in style last month with A L Kennedy’s Fourth Doctor story, The Death Pit, and I’m glad to say continues in equal-but-different style with Into the Nowhere.

This e-book features the Eleventh Doctor and Clara, and a planet which doesn’t seem to exist. It’s not in any of the literature. (There’s a lovely Douglas Adams reference here, which made me very happy – and a nod to Harry Potter later, too. I do like the idea that these universes co-exist.) But anyway, there it is, and of course they have to go there and find out more, and it’s… really not a very nice place, actually, though the reason why is not what you might expect.

Jenny Colgan – author of numerous romantic comedies, and one previous Doctor Who novel, the acclaimed Dark Horizons (well, I acclaimed it. I’m pretty sure other people did, too.) – writes beautifully here. This is dark and scary stuff, and it’s very very good. This planet with no name is a frightening place and the reader feels that, every step of the way. But as good, if not better, than this is the characterisation of the Doctor and Clara, which is insightful and believable.

I’ll admit that I have struggled to really warm to Clara as a companion, largely because the – to my mind –rather uneven series 7b never totally gave me a grasp of who she was, apart from cute and pretty and with a nice line in sarky repartee. I didn’t feel much depth of personality came across, somehow, and hence it was hard to care what happened to her. I think she’s growing on me, though, and Jenny Colgan – by giving us insight into Clara’s inner feelings, post-Name of the Doctor, about what has happened to her and how it feels and what it all means – has helped to give her genuine depth. The Doctor is also very well characterised in all his lightness and his darkness.

I don’t want to spoil the story for those who haven’t read it, so I’ll only say that things take an unexpected turn. It’s cleverly done, with some rather surprising imagery, and also very sad at one point in particular – but the end is satisfying and left me thinking.

Highly, highly recommended and I look forward to more Doctor Who stories from Jenny Colgan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong, mysterious first half which tails off a little as story progresses., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure if there is a theme to this latest series of Doctor Who ebooks but they've been nice surprises so far in that the first offered a new Fourth Doctor story a little more than a week or so after Tom Baker's return surprise appearance in the programme and this one is a new Eleventh Doctor story a couple of weeks after Matt Smith's last television episode.

The novella starts quite atmospherically and at times there is a real sense of dread. The Doctor and Clara spend much of the first half of the story floundering around avoiding the dangers of an unknown and undocumented planet. Nowadays it feels nice for a change for the Doctor not to know where the Tardis has arrived and see him work out where he is and what is happening alongside his companion. Whilst the reader too is unaware of what is going on the story is quite enjoyable and intriguing. Unfortunately once the situation is revealed the `revelation' feels a little anti-climatic and the story starts to tail off. Much of the latter stages seem a little too whimsical and fantastical. The story jumps a little too quickly from the threat increasing stage to the threat has been vanquished.

The crazy, silly side of the Eleventh Doctor is captured really well by the author but this is really the only side that really comes over in the story. The Doctor could do with being portrayed as a bit more contemptuous towards or sickened by the main antagonist.

Clara is very well characterised though. Her bold brashness is clearly apparent as is her sort of control over the Doctor. Probably the best element of this novella is the way this control slowly deteriorates as more danger is thrown at her and that she only regains her usual determination when she encounters a distraught `child' that brings out her strengths as a governess and a nanny.

Etienne isn't much of a memorable villain. What he has done is clearly appalling but he lacks the calibre to be a worthwhile opponent for the Doctor. The moment he enters the story it is obvious he stands no chance facing the Doctor and Clara. As a threat he really doesn't rate and I really can't see how he could possibly take on the Nestene Consciousness. The mention of the Nestene feels just like a reference for the sake of making a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Planet Unmentionable, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
This was an awesome imagining that really let me feel like the eleventh Doctor and Clara could continue traveling together forever! I know the writer has to be a HUGE fan to be able to wrote the characters so well and come up with a completely new adventure unlike anything ever seen in the actual series :) I really enjoyed it and would love to read more adventures by her with any of the doctor and companions! Really a gem for true Whovians!

***This book is suitable for mature young adult through adult Whovians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Who ?, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
Having never read a Dr Who novel before I was not expecting much. I like the tv show but didn't think books based on the characters would be a good read .
I was very wrong indeed , Jenny Colgan grabs you and takes you on an adventure on a dead planet with many hidden secrets. I could not put the book down as it was so entertaining.
If you are a Dr Who fan this is a great book , If not this is a great book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
I am myself a whovian and I must say this book is amazing,all the detail is just astonishing. I really recommend reading this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
Its fantastic. Its brilliant. I love it. Recommended for all Dr Who fans to read. Can't recommend it enough. Out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant buy., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
First digital book I have ever bought and I really enjoyed reading it.
I would recommend this book to other doctor who readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An alright read, 7 Feb 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
*I received a copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thanks to Randon House UK, Ebury Publishing and Jenny Colgan*

The Eleventh Doctor and Clara arrive on a planet that doesn't exist but they soon discover how dangerous it is.

There were parts of this story that I liked (seeing more of the Eleventh Doctor with Clara and certain points of the plot) and parts that I didn't (certain points of the plot and I didn't find the story as engaging towards the end) but overall this was an alright read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this little Doctor Who adventure! Would recommend to anyone. Another great read from Jenny T.Colgan. More more more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Come for the scares, stay for the companion!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips) (Kindle Edition)
Exceptionally written, this marks a second brilliant entry in this new series of Doctor Who shorts. Picking on adult literary authors seems to be paying off!

The story is short, horrifying and worth your time. The real star is Clara, Colgan has managed to make an inconsistently written ( but brilliantly played) companion and made her fascinating again. Kudos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews