Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2014
This is a gripping Love Story from beginning to end. Amy and her two sisters Violet and Hetty are really innocent girlie girls, Mum Ada is a bit of a barge (I certainly wouldn't like to cross her) even though I have to accept that she has her standards!

Poor Jimmy - he didn't deserve what he got in a war torn country, James had a lot of growing up to do without the love of his dad just as Amy never knew her dad.

I could almost smell the Bluebells - lovely

I enjoyed this unputdownable novel

Valerie xxx
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
pure escapism...so well written.I enjoyed every minute of the story.Highs and lows.I thoroughly recommend this read to all who appreciate a good story
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I really enjoyed this book I could not put down my iPad until I had finished the book hope the writer brings out a follow up book I would buy it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
I started this book with a bit of trepidation as it's described as a romance book which isn't up my street at all but the story sounded interesting so I thought I would give it a go. I was really glad that I did. I don't think classing it as a romance dose it justice (maybe that's based on my own book genre prejudices lol) but I felt that the story was so much more than just romance.
Amy is a brilliant character who I liked from the start, I felt her pain and her happiness, and was constantly rooting for things to work out for her.
You get a real sense of what rural civilian life was like during the war, and how those years changed people, their views and their values.
I would 100% recommend this book, I read it in two days and literally couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Enjoyed this wartime story as my mother was a Landgirl and father farmhand at that time. .I tried to contact the author as encouraged to at her readers e mail contact address but it came back "unable to send" so couldnt compliment her. Therefore it must be an out of date address at back of the book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Love this book, it had highs and lows. I could escape into the story with ease and even smell the bluebells! I found it enthralling and really didn't want it to end.
Easy to read, great for me as a local as I could picture the area written about with clarity. A little romance in all innocence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
A beautiful book. A love story spanning the war years, gentle, no profanity or rudeness. Just a simple tale of a young married lady living in the country during the war years. I loved this book, would love to find out what happened to the characters next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Really loved this story, kept me guessing until the end. A sad but heartwarming look into the life and loves of Amy during the war. I could engage with all the characters and just enjoyed it from the start. An easy read, but so moving as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
A simple storyline well written . kept you reading and guessing the whole way through. The wartime chapters were extremely enlightening and showed how difficult life was for everyone at that time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
I absolutely loved this book it is the first book by this author I have read but it certainly will not be the last . I laughed at times and nearly cried at times but thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.