Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is brilliant
I've never read Paul McAuley before. Now I suppose I'll have to read everything he's done.
Imagine Wolfe's Book of the New Sun meets Vance's Dying Earth on Farmer's Riverworld
and you'll get the flavour of it.
Great value with this omnibus trilogy as well.
No need to comment on the plot here. Suffice to say if you enjoy the work of any of the...
Published 8 months ago by Ged

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is just OK - slow
Confluence, or The River is an artifact in space outside of the Milky Way Galaxy. It was created by The Builders and a bit like Ringworld the occupants have fallen on hard times and since forgotten the scientific nature of their world. Although they are aware of it's place in the universe. The story starts well with a young man, found on the river as a baby, who seeks his...
Published 7 months ago by Robert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is brilliant, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
I've never read Paul McAuley before. Now I suppose I'll have to read everything he's done.
Imagine Wolfe's Book of the New Sun meets Vance's Dying Earth on Farmer's Riverworld
and you'll get the flavour of it.
Great value with this omnibus trilogy as well.
No need to comment on the plot here. Suffice to say if you enjoy the work of any of the
above mentioned authors, this will not disappoint.
I'm sure there are plenty of rave reviews of the stand alone books, but if you found this
page before them as I did, look no further.
An awesome, detailed, well written, totally involving far future vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is just OK - slow, 4 April 2014
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
Confluence, or The River is an artifact in space outside of the Milky Way Galaxy. It was created by The Builders and a bit like Ringworld the occupants have fallen on hard times and since forgotten the scientific nature of their world. Although they are aware of it's place in the universe. The story starts well with a young man, found on the river as a baby, who seeks his true parents. The reader explores the towns along the river and some of the under structure is revealed. But the tale is a bit slow, and there is a lot of talking and not a lot of action. When conflict does arose it does not feel that exciting, and it takes a long time for our hero to get on with finding his parents or ancestors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
I love this trilogy and have been waiting years for it to be on Kindle. It is a complex story that works on many levels. Seen one way, it is a fantasy style but soon opens up in to a fascinating technological adventure. The rich descriptions of the arc world Confluence capture your attention evoking strong images but always adding to the story, never detracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Spare youself the pain I'm suffering and don't read this book, 18 Aug 2014
By 
S. Maller "(Steve)" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
Just dull.. Have struggled as far as the third book and wish I could finish it and get on with something worth reading. Reminds me a little of third book of Gormenghast, where a big sprawling world is described in huge detail but ..why ? The detail just is like listening to the worlds most boring man on his pet subject. The plot, if there is one, is stretched so thin as to barely exist. The characters are also unengaging and the cosmology seems to amount to "there's no intelligent life in the nearby galaxies so the universe is so bland most transcendants just kill themselves."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Everything is very big, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
In some respects its a little like the classic Ringworld books but lacks the pace. Everything in the book is big, timescales are in millenniums everything is pan-galatic. The exception is the characters which are not that full - they are more sketchy in fact. I completed the trilogy I think mainly out of principle more than I really cared about what multi-universe pan-galatic finale came at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the New Urth, Majipoor and Ringworld., 28 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
A must-read for fans of far-future stuff where a society has passed its technological peak and fallen back into an semi-medieval frame of reference.

McAuley's descriptive text is intelligent and colorful without getting into purple prose. The setting for the trilogy (as well as the writing style) remind me so much of the Majipoor Chronicles and the Book of the New Sun- a vast, unknown territory with familiar terms used to name and describe unfamiliar things, changed by post-human hands. Although the last book seems to lose its way a little, the writing remains engaging through-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
I've really enjoyed Paul McAuley's other books and short stories but this was a real drag. Basically it's an interminably long-drawn-out shaggy dog story, padded with repetitive episodes (oh great, another bustling exotic market scene, zzz...)and tiresome mumbo-jumbo that drowns the core of the tale in flabby verbiage. There is no structural reason for this to be a "trilogy", it's just that nobody could be bothered editing it down to a sensible length. If you're new to McAuley, don't buy this - buy any of his other books as they will demonstrate his talents far better than this one. And if you're a fan of McAuley's other books, don't waste your time and money on this one. Life's too short, and McAuley deserves for his reputation to remain untarnished by this dismal aberration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How did i miss this?????, 17 May 2014
By 
T. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confluence - The Trilogy: Child of the River, Ancients of Days, Shrine of Stars (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of sci fi, and when i got to the end of the book and saw when these books were first written i was deeply surprised that i had missed them first time around. As always with Paul's books the characters and surroundings are full of rich detail and lovingly crafted. I thoroughly enjoyed the trilogy it was one of those that you didn't want to end, and when it did you felt a slight tinge of sadness that it was finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews