Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic design, excellent build quality and detailed sound!
If you are looking for a DAB radio for the bedroom or kitchen under £100, I highly recommend this radio. The design is excellent, the controls are neatly laid out and the screen does the job to a decent standard, although the sound is really the most important aspect when looking at purchasing a radio; classical, pop and voice all sound very good on this radio as it has...
Published 4 months ago by DBR

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK radio, somewhat disappointed
Bought this to replace another Pure radio (Siesta) that had stopped working. Looks wise the Evoke D2 is a nice radio but functionally a few faults, mentioned by others, that let it down. First, and really irritating, is the display. It's too small to be able to read comfortably from a distance but more importantly is the display light which is way too bright. I've had to...
Published 5 months ago by sunjos44


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK radio, somewhat disappointed, 20 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Pure Evoke D2 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
Bought this to replace another Pure radio (Siesta) that had stopped working. Looks wise the Evoke D2 is a nice radio but functionally a few faults, mentioned by others, that let it down. First, and really irritating, is the display. It's too small to be able to read comfortably from a distance but more importantly is the display light which is way too bright. I've had to turn the display light function off. This leads to a 2nd design fault and that's the on/off button that is set flush with the panel. Therefore with no display light it's a real struggle to find the button to switch it on/off: would have been useful to have had the button set out from the panel. Lastly there's only 4 channel preset buttons, you can access more preset channels but it's a fiddly operation. Certainly on hindsight would not have bought this radio/recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic design, excellent build quality and detailed sound!, 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Pure Evoke D2 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
If you are looking for a DAB radio for the bedroom or kitchen under £100, I highly recommend this radio. The design is excellent, the controls are neatly laid out and the screen does the job to a decent standard, although the sound is really the most important aspect when looking at purchasing a radio; classical, pop and voice all sound very good on this radio as it has a detailed and warm sound. It is not the loudest of radios but it more than makes up for it with excellent sound quality. Build quality is equally top notch as the unit feels well built and the real-wood enclosure adds a real touch of class. Some previous reviewers have commented that the display was too bright, I can confirm Pure have fixed this with a software update. Classic design, excellent build quality and detailed sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Looks and Good Sound - when I could actually get the radio to work in the first place., 10 May 2015
This review is from: Pure Evoke D2 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
I brought this radio to go in my kitchen, I brought it from Currys, it is a really lovely looking radio and the quality of the build is really good. The functions that you get on the radio are quite good as well, the options to preset your favourites, change the time and date etc are good. However, I did experience a range of problems with this radio, at the £70 plus price range and with this brand name, I didn't expect to have such a range of problems. I don't know whether it was a faulty one off set, or whether these are ongoing problems in general, however I took it back to Currys and got a refund straight away.
1) the autoscan option on FM kept not working, then working, then not working..... so when I was trying to add the FM stations to the pre-set station option, I had to scan through each frequency individually...it took aaaages to get to radio 1! (PS I found out that I was not in a DAB radio area, so had to use FM).
2) the FM radio would only work when the lights were turned off...weird to say the least. I had the radio plugged into the mains in the kitchen, the FM radio was fine, really good sound, then when I switched the lights on, it was non stop static! I tried the radio out on different plugs throughout the house, same thing happened. I tried other items out on the same plug, to see if it was a faulty plug, no problems with other items... I live in a very new new-build house, all the electrics are 100% fine, so clearly not a problem with a faulty plug.
3) every 3 days or so, even though the radio was plugged in, the radio would reset itself to the factory settings, the time and date would reset, the radio stations would disappear from the pre-set selections I made, everything would reset, so I had to set up the whole radio all over again.
4) the FM signal itself, even with the lights turned off, was patchy, I had to angle the antenna to the full length and then get just the right angle, so this meant that the radio could only really go in one place in the kitchen, on the windowsill at a pretty specific angle, which meant that the electric cable had to run across the sink for the radio to be in any position to receive the signal and then I couldn't put anything else on the windowsill as that also affected the signal.... when one of the reasons I brought this radio was that it was small, portable, easy to move and as it complimented my kitchen units and worktop, the idea was that it could go anywhere in the kitchen...

So to summarise, this is a well made, quite good quality radio, which does look good and the sound is good too....when it works.....the problem I had with it, was getting it to work in the first place, and then getting it to work consistently. I did lots of research on which radio to buy before I brought it, looked at different brands, different options, looked at all the reviews....
I returned this radio with regret as I did really like this radio, however I havn't got the money to waste £80 odd quid on something which was only really going to be an ornament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two annoyances, otherwise excellent, 9 Nov. 2013
Purchased from local specialist HiFi shop as same price as Amazon and saved waiting in for delivery but identical product. Purchased for bedside radio with ability to plug in MP3 player. Small footprint. Good sound. Easy controls - only three presets accessible by single button press but that's fine for me as there is only three radio stations I regularly listen to.

Two problems - both related to display. Firstly the display is really bright at night - you could almost read a book by it! It needs to be dimmable. Secondly when in standby the time - which is what you want to see - is displayed in tiny characters, and the date - which you seldom want when you wake in the night - is in slightly larger characters below. Would make much more sense to use the whole display area just for the time.

If it wasn't for those two problems it would get five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pure promise a future clock upgrade., 6 Oct. 2013
If you want this product as a bedside clock radio, you need to know the display of the time is so small and cramped (3mmx8mm) that it is unreadable at night to anyone without perfect eyesight.

Pure have acknowledged that it would be better to display the time as larger characters in the main part of the display, and suggested to me they will make a software upgrade. If this is important to you it might be worth checking that you are buying an upgraded product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small size big sound, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Evoke D2 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
The product is lovely, the sound and base is amazing for such a small radio, reason it's not gained 5 stars is the volume level is either too Loud or too quiet, the volume increases really fast and could have increased slow for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DAB radio is even better than expected, 25 Sept. 2014
By 
Alan Moodie "Magicmoo" (MA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DAB radio is even better than expected. Simple to program and use with good sound quality. I'm assume there has been a software upgrade since some of the reviews have been written, because you can dim the display that won't keep you awake at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality Portable Radio With Plenty Of Future, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is nothing to complain about this product, I actually bought this after I read all the reviews, to be honest it was a good buy, This is a very good radio, the sound quality, design and built quality all great plus plenty of future. in reference about what the other reviewers mentions about the following (1) clock size (2) sound quality.
The sound quality can be adjusted from bass or treble on audio settings and you can adjust the brightness on the clock for easy time reading from a distance all done on display settings.
A Superb radio for the price I definitely recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without doing much it just adds to your room, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Diesel "R Diesel" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It looks great.
Volume is impressive for something this small
The display is perfect too!
We didn't buy the battery pack as the mains work fine and the radio doesn't move around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great radio and so pleased with my purchase, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great radio and so pleased with my purchase. Took a long time choosing this and it really is great. Lots of functions, can play music from phone or MP3 with an aux cable (separate). They do a Bluetooth one too, but couldn't find this same model in wood with blue tooth. Radio has a powerful sound and is not tinny at all and can change the bass and treble. Very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews