Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed all the way through
This is the sort of film that would have starred Doris Day and Rock Hudson in the 50's.
Goldie and Kurt do a grand job, the kids are monsters - but them so are all kids!
I still laugh now when I think of some of the one liners. If you need cheering up and want some good old fashioned entertainment then look no further, Overboard is for you.
Published on 8 July 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny the first time
The first time I watched this, it was just fun and laughing, so I bought the DVD, and watched it again.
It was still very entertaining, but the third time I watched it some weeks later, I started to take a closer look at the
real lifestyles that were the choices her, and found out that I didn't exactly like any of them.
To extreme both ways, so that`s why I...
Published 1 month ago by Norwegian


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed all the way through, 8 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This is the sort of film that would have starred Doris Day and Rock Hudson in the 50's.
Goldie and Kurt do a grand job, the kids are monsters - but them so are all kids!
I still laugh now when I think of some of the one liners. If you need cheering up and want some good old fashioned entertainment then look no further, Overboard is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 7 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
It is probably one of these movies you might think you have seen million of times already. And although the story is kind of predictable it still is nice to watch. Not alone due the great chemestry between Kurt Russel and Goldie Hawn is worth looking at, but also how Goldies character changes from über-posh and spoilt brat to down to earth and loving wife...A true classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldie and Kurt act as naturals in this movie, 2 Dec 2007
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The concept and the plot lines were funny and unique. The contrast between the working family and the ultra rich one, the ending where she chooses to have a life where she makes a difference instead of just wasting time, and he values her as she deserves to be valued in the end. There are parts of the movie that could have been better; some of the supporting roles were not done all that well. The rich woman's mother was great, Roddy McDowell was great, and the rich self-centered husband was funny. The movie was good family entertainment. Good for you, Goldie and Kurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will go overboard, 8 April 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Overboard [VHS] [1988] (VHS Tape)
A snobbish woman (Goldie Hawn) berates a carpenter (Kurt Russell) that was hired to build an "Imelda Marcos" type shoe rack for her boat. Of course she does not pay. Later she falls overboard and gets amnesia Naturally the carpenter takes advantage of this in a unique way. At first it it's fun; then love sets in. Will she ever regain her memory and them what? In the meantime what is her hubby up to?
Great plot and well executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny the first time, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The first time I watched this, it was just fun and laughing, so I bought the DVD, and watched it again.
It was still very entertaining, but the third time I watched it some weeks later, I started to take a closer look at the
real lifestyles that were the choices her, and found out that I didn't exactly like any of them.
To extreme both ways, so that`s why I don`t rate it higher.
But this is a very funny film that you will want to see over and over again, to get a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldie and Kurt....need I say more?, 20 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
It was great for its time and it still is. A definate classic that is still good today. Its funny and of course Goldie Hawn is a superb actress, suited for her comedic presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overboard, 21 Dec 2004
By 
JM Rayner (Stowmarket, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
One of the funniest films ever. I could watch it over and over again and never get fed up. An all time favourite, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Laugh, 5 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This is a great movie about a rich women who has an absolutely obnoxious personality. Along comes single dad Kurt Russell who decides to take revenge on the women who has amnesia. No one claims to know her and Kurt needs a babysitter. Then its a riot a minute, its of pranks and jokes on the poor women! Its a great laugh and you can watch it time and time again! I've watched it countless times and it still makes me laugh! The on screen chemistry is obviously great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldie Hawn at her screaming best, 12 Mar 2000
This review is from: Overboard [VHS] [1988] (VHS Tape)
A very funny film from start to finish. Both Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell can be seen at their comedy best in this film. It portrays life within both the rich and poor status fantastically whilst giving laughs along the way. Great family film for all ages and a real classic. NOT ONE TO BE MISSED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Comedy, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overboard [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The script of this movie perfectly parodies the attitudes of the "born in wealth" and socially uneducated idiots who over populate the upper echelons of the super rich. Goldie Hawn plays the spoilt bimbo, brought down to earth by Kirt Russel, excellently. This comedy is wonderful entertainment at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overboard [Blu-ray] [1987]
Overboard [Blu-ray] [1987] by Goldie Hawn (Blu-ray - 2014)
£11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews